NUS High School of Mathematics and Science (Diploma)
Thanks. Still nothing for me. I will stay online for a while longer, just in case NUSH has yet to key in for DS 's class
The teachers will usually contact parents earlier if there is compulsory meeting, so no news means good news. :evil: -
Actually after script checking, you will know more or less how your DC fare.Is the booking for compulsory meeting open?
Super Nervous
Almost like last year, while waiting for results -
Thanks.
All DS came back were his scores and the standard "average" when asked how he performed as compared to his peers. Thus, no idea whether he is able to keep up with them and the pace of teaching. -
dagong99:
tankee, kiasu dad ?tankee:
Thanks. Still nothing for me. I will stay online for a while longer, just in case NUSH has yet to key in for DS 's class
The teachers will usually contact parents earlier if there is compulsory meeting, so no news means good news. :evil:
Dun worry, dagong is right, if there is a compulsory meeting, teacher generally calls ahead. I got experience :evil: -
Are you planning to book for the optional meeting? It would be a good idea to meet .Thanks.
All DS came back were his scores and the standard \"average\" when asked how he performed as compared to his peers. Thus, no idea whether he is able to keep up with them and the pace of teaching.
In my experience, this has proved very beneficial. Besides the acads, you get the teachers perspective of the child. Most do give some inputs like about class participation, what kind of prep work they can do, how to overcome their weakness, in areas of their interest what else they can do, what to expect the next sem, other opportunities , etc. Some do talk more, some are to the point. Overall I have seen facets of my child that I did not know about and in the areas i knew as her weakness suggestions to overcome, thanks to their inputs. I usually ask some question and let the teacher and DD interact. DD is more responsive to their suggestions than she would be to mine. I actually look forward to the PTMs. -
Sun_2010:
Thanks.
Are you planning to book for the optional meeting? It would be a good idea to meet .tankee:
Thanks.
All DS came back were his scores and the standard \"average\" when asked how he performed as compared to his peers. Thus, no idea whether he is able to keep up with them and the pace of teaching.
In my experience, this has proved very beneficial. Besides the acads, you get the teachers perspective of the child. Most do give some inputs like about class participation, what kind of prep work they can do, how to overcome their weakness, in areas of their interest what else they can do, what to expect the next sem, other opportunities , etc. Some do talk more, some are to the point. Overall I have seen facets of my child that I did not know about and in the areas i knew as her weakness suggestions to overcome, thanks to their inputs. I usually ask some question and let the teacher and DD interact. DD is more responsive to their suggestions than she would be to mine. I actually look forward to the PTMs.
Yes, planning to meet all subjects' teacher, especially the maths and 3 sciences.
Do u bring your DD to the PTM? -
Thanks.
Are you planning to book for the optional meeting? It would be a good idea to meet .Sun_2010:
[quote=\"tankee\"]Thanks.
In my experience, this has proved very beneficial. Besides the acads, you get the teachers perspective of the child. Most do give some inputs like about class participation, what kind of prep work they can do, how to overcome their weakness, in areas of their interest what else they can do, what to expect the next sem, other opportunities , etc. Some do talk more, some are to the point. Overall I have seen facets of my child that I did not know about and in the areas i knew as her weakness suggestions to overcome, thanks to their inputs. I usually ask some question and let the teacher and DD interact. DD is more responsive to their suggestions than she would be to mine. I actually look forward to the PTMs.
Yes, planning to meet all subjects' teacher, especially the maths and 3 sciences.
Do u bring your DD to the PTM?[/quote]Yes. I think in the later years, with most teachers it is like the they are having a conversation, I am the outsider listening in.
Just prep a couple of questions, and let the meeting evolve from there. Some teachers are like what do you want to know, since you asked for the meeting ? Maybe because they are by nature reticent, but also because they feel that it is time for the child to take care of themselves. If you can get your child involved, a conversation gets started between the teacher and the child and that is very effective. But it can be tricky at times to do that.
If your Ds is a quiet kid, would be good to prep him to be open. And remind him this is an opportunity to seek guidance. If he is an extrovert, then no problem, lah. -
Sun_2010:
:goodpost: :thankyou:Yes. I think in the later years, with most teachers it is like the they are having a conversation, I am the outsider listening in.
Just prep a couple of questions, and let the meeting evolve from there. Some teachers are like what do you want to know, since you asked for the meeting ? Maybe because they are by nature reticent, but also because they feel that it is time for the child to take care of themselves. If you can get your child involved, a conversation gets started between the teacher and the child and that is very effective. But it can be tricky at times to do that.
If your Ds is a quiet kid, would be good to prep him to be open. And remind him this is an opportunity to seek guidance. If he is an extrovert, then no problem, lah. -
Thanks Sun_2010 and dagong99 for the advice.
No luck in booking ptm slots for so many subjects :slapshead:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.