For sure they need to buy their own phone cards! When it comes to free things, human nature is likely to take advantage of them. Phone cards result in self controlAND. When she was first here, I told her to call back home (using my hp). Wahhh, that fella buey paiseh, talk and talk....like cannot end. Learnt my lesson - buy phone card.
First phone card I paid, she finished in one sitting (dunno how she called - it was when we weren't around). After that, we told her to get her own phone cards.
This kind cannot sustain :moneyflies: .
hi Fett,
I think it is by stroke of luck that you get a good maid…eg if by nature, they have good family upbringing & are more demure by nature (kampong girl), then they can obey you better, if those that are more qualified & ve initiative tends to ve their own mindset & may get annoyed or show you a nasty look if you asked them to follow certain house rules of yours. i.e. separate face towel vs bath towel.
My maid has been with me for 5 years (my kids are now 10 and 8 now) , sheis from Lampung, Indonesia so you may want to try your luck with one from there. She is a little slow and needs constant reminder at certain task but she nevers eat our bread, my kids chocolates, etc w/o our permission, if we forgotten to tell her to go ahead, she will just let it turn bad, I see this as a respect for us as her employer, but of course, nowadays I told her to eat whatever that is near expiry.
Love and kind consideration goes a long way… new maid are very homesick, let them call once a fortnight, write letter & treat her like she is your 3rd kid, with lots of patience. -
Im now maidless for 5 days now. Ive given up on filipinas and indons, woud like a christian Myanmar. I know communication is a problem but am prepared to train her besides there are too many filipinas in my neighbourhood. I know they can be slow but that doesnt matter. Could anyone advise wat I should look at in d biodata when selecting…eg dressing, town they come frm. Plse advise if anyone has any experience with mynmars regaring their personality and culture. Tks
moonee:
Im now maidless for 5 days now. Ive given up on filipinas and indons, woud like a christian Myanmar. I know communication is a problem but am prepared to train her besides there are too many filipinas in my neighbourhood. I know they can be slow but that doesnt matter. Could anyone advise wat I should look at in d biodata when selecting..eg dressing, town they come frm. Plse advise if anyone has any experience with mynmars regaring their personality and culture. Tks
Moonee, can't offer much advice here as I've no experience with Myanmese but the ones that my friend has trained generally quiet and unassuming. And very caring to her special needs child. Some are really very qualified as nurses, and may understand a little Chinese if they are from the border states (with China) so that may be a thought.
Anyway, the reason I posted was to say that I'd be
-ing that the next maid would work out for you. Sista, I don't often see you here at 3 am :love: :hugs:
Have you all never raised your voices at your maid?
My 1 month old maid said that where she came from, they don’t raise their voices. And she is hurt by my raising my voice at her. And she wants to go back to agency.
So I told her okay, I would learn to watch my volume but she insisted on leaving. Sian. -
It’s repeated mistake. It’s frustrating that after numerous times, same mistake.
Anyway, if she really wants to go, I’m not begging her to stay. Really sick of all these maids.
MOM really spoilt it for employers. Every minor thing, and they want to transfer employer. -
madinked:
Wah, like that oso can. She using it as an excuse not to work.Have you all never raised your voices at your maid?
My 1 month old maid said that where she came from, they don't raise their voices. And she is hurt by raising my voice at her. And she wants to go back to agency.
So I told her okay, I would learn to warch my volume but she insisted on leaving. Sian.
So far I have raised my voice at my maid only once in the 5 yrs that she has been with me. Over how to operate a dryer which keeps tripping on us. We were on holiday then. And admittedly, that was more my fault then hers. Was pmsing real bad and did not realise it and she unwittingly chose that moment to keep contradicting me. Apologised to her after that and she was gracious enuf to say that she knows that was not the normal me and that she should not have contradicted me when I was trying to teach her something. -
madinked:
Sounds like she just using that as an excuse to find new employer.. ...It's repeated mistake. It's frustrating that after numerous times, same mistake.
Anyway, if she really wants to go, I'm not begging her to stay. Really sick of all these maids.
That's the trend, maids who is out to 'tikum' whether next employer 'easier/lighter work load' than present one. -
Agreed with Funz. She's just finding excuse not to stay. Sometimes I blame my maid unfairly (something that really not she do), I'll apologise for my mistake. Or when I'm a bit loud. With my ex-maid, I shouted at her once for something I specifically told her to do but she didn't, and it involved the safety of my son.
Wah, like that oso can. She using it as an excuse not to work.madinked:
Have you all never raised your voices at your maid?
My 1 month old maid said that where she came from, they don't raise their voices. And she is hurt by raising my voice at her. And she wants to go back to agency.
So I told her okay, I would learn to warch my volume but she insisted on leaving. Sian.
Let her go, she's not worth keeping. But I'm curious where she come from...land of silence? -
madinked:
You might want to call your agent and check whether she is telling you the truth that the place she came from don't raise their voices? Sound funny to me :scratchhead:Have you all never raised your voices at your maid?
My 1 month old maid said that where she came from, they don't raise their voices. And she is hurt by my raising my voice at her. And she wants to go back to agency.
So I told her okay, I would learn to watch my volume but she insisted on leaving. Sian.
I think she is finding excuse to change employer.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.