[PSLE MT] PSLE less weightage in Chinese / Mother Tongue
cascada:
no wonder condo are selling like hot cakes, cos average singaporean can't qualify for HDB. :lol:[/quote]Some guys don't believe. See all the cars in the carpark. Singaporeans are not that unwise to spend all on cars. :celebrate:HyperKiasu:
[quote=\"cascada\"]
:!: :!:
per month or per year?
perhaps typo lah....
They spend within their means. :!:
On buses/MRT, almost everyone iPhone..... :? -
tamarind:
it is easier to say than to do leh......
I agree. Even if Chinese is reduced to zero weighting, I am still going to make my kids read Chinese books everyday, because there are many wonderful books written in Chinese, and the language itself is beautiful.jedamum:
those who really are concerned about culture will continue to focus on MT education despite lesser weightage.
I don't worry about the future of the Chinese language at all. And I am not bothered about those who don't know what they are losing out. -
tamarind:
My worry is that a child who cannot converse in Mandarin very well at the beginning of P1, will be put in a Chinese class where they use mostly English to teach Chinese, or teach a lower standard of Chinese. This will be very sad because a child may know how to read and listen far better than he can speak the language. I thought schools are supposed to teach, why test a child at P1 before they even start teaching ?
I think the schools may have no choice but to separate the students according to their abilities. I taught for a while oral Chinese to P1 kids as a PV. Although teachers told me beforehand that these were the weakest in the class, but some of them really speak 0 Chinese. Some are foreigners and some never really had exposure to Chinese before P1. I had to use Eng to explain the most basic words like \"my name is xxx\", \"I'm x years old\" etc. Although immersing them in a total Chinese environment may speed up their learning but in those cases, maybe Eng is needed to teach Chinese. Otherwise, these kids might just lose all interest and doze off in class. There are always families who don't teach or don't know how to teach their kids Chinese, or simply ignore it
tamarind:
My own Chinese standard is not good and I've always hated chinese classes. But since having kids, I've come to realise that chinese is an amazing language.
Even if Chinese is reduced to zero weighting, I am still going to make my kids read Chinese books everyday, because there are many wonderful books written in Chinese, and the language itself is beautiful.
So I do agree with Tamarind...even if weighting is zero, I will want my kids to be exposed to the language, the culture and history. But probably then it'll be in a fun manner - no stress on exams etc.
HyperKiasu:
:!: :!:cascada:
[quote=\"tamarind\"]
I heard some people said that $10K salary is average income in Singapore
per month or per year?
perhaps typo lah....[/quote]Monthly income. That is what some people think. Not what I think.
My HDB car park only 50% full, and the MRTs are packed with people everyday. My neighbour told me that $100 a month for PCF kindergarten is very expensive. I also don't know how some people arrive at that conclusion. -
HyperKiasu:
it is easier to say than to do leh......[/quote]I am doing that now with my kids now. And it is very enjoyable leh
I agree. Even if Chinese is reduced to zero weighting, I am still going to make my kids read Chinese books everyday, because there are many wonderful books written in Chinese, and the language itself is beautiful.tamarind:
[quote=\"jedamum\"]
those who really are concerned about culture will continue to focus on MT education despite lesser weightage.
I don't worry about the future of the Chinese language at all. And I am not bothered about those who don't know what they are losing out.
tamarind:
I am doing that now with my kids now. And it is very enjoyable leh
it is easier to say than to do leh......HyperKiasu:
[quote=\"tamarind\"]
I agree. Even if Chinese is reduced to zero weighting, I am still going to make my kids read Chinese books everyday, because there are many wonderful books written in Chinese, and the language itself is beautiful.
I don't worry about the future of the Chinese language at all. And I am not bothered about those who don't know what they are losing out.
[/quote]Of coz it is enjoyable if your kids are too young to face the stress of PSLE lol.....
or, enjoy of Chinese = CCA of Chinese hor..... -
tamarind:
No way this figure is correct!!!
I believe there are more families with avg income of more than 10k compared to say 10yrs back but this is definitely not the avg income for individual Singaporean.
Maybe those people who believe that individual avg is 10k were deceived by the so many condo advertisements. Plus the HDB has a cap of 8k income ceiling and there were more condo launched than HDB recently. All these have mislead many that Singaporeans are earning super high salary.
Even when I talked to some friends in Malaysia recently they too think that avg Singaporean earn at least 20-25k is normal!!!! I asked why do they think so. The answer was \"if not how you people can affort a S$1M avg condo?\" :stupid:
I corrected them straight away and told them most avg people earn around 2k to 5k a month. -
KSP:
I also don't think it is correct. Official figure is about $5000 average household income. However, there is a surprising number of people in this forum that who that majority of Singaporeans earn $10K and above, or has earned a lot of money from en-bloc sale :roll:
No way this figure is correct!!!tamarind:
I believe there are more families with avg income of more than 10k compared to say 10yrs back but this is definitely not the avg income for individual Singaporean.
Maybe those people who believe that individual avg is 10k were deceived by the so many condo advertisements. Plus the HDB has a cap of 8k income ceiling and there were more condo launched than HDB recently. All these have mislead many that Singaporeans are earning super high salary.
Even when I talked to some friends in Malaysia recently they too think that avg Singaporean earn at least 20-25k is normal!!!! I asked why do they think so. The answer was \"if not how you people can affort a S$1M avg condo?\" :stupid:
I corrected them straight away and told them most avg people earn around 2k to 5k a month. -
HyperKiasu:
I believe in building a strong foundation from 3 years old. It takes many years to study a language and to be good at it, not just at P6. The only way to be very good in Chinese, is to read as many Chinese story books as possible. This is from my personal experience. I was one of the top scorers for Chinese in school, all the way to A levels. My Chinese essays consistently get the highest marks. No enrichment class for me, I don't even remember studying very hard. I only remember reading all the ιεΊΈ novels, and all the δΊ¦θ novels, which are hugely enjoyable
Of coz it is enjoyable if your kids are too young to face the stress of PSLE lol.....
or, enjoy of Chinese = CCA of Chinese hor.....
Chinese was the subject that I spent the least effort in, but scored the highest.
Those parents who think that memorizing the textbook, and doing tons of assessments, will make a kid do well in Chinese, are making a mistake.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.