2017 PSLE Discussions and Strategies
sleepy:
OK, if really have to prep for DSA (or even GEP) then it will be rather stressful.
Your ds' time so easy huh?
Nowadays got GAT, interview and school-based written test.
School will also look at p6 mid year results so must do well for mid year. As good as bringing psle forward from Sep to May leh -
sleepy:
By the time I finish reading the 284 pages, I think DSA for next year is over bah...
I think DSA is more important to parents than kidsFabbymum:
Hi sleepy,
I wonder why is DSA so important to the kids...? Assuming they do their best in PSLE and have good marks, qualifying for secondary school admissions, why such a stress for DSA exercise? I am also looking out for this now, but considering if it is really worth going for the exercise.
There is 2016 DSA thread. You should be able to make an informed decision whether DSA is worth your trouble after reading.
284 pages
Yeah, bottom line is if do well in PSLE, can enter into any school of choice..., best if can balance between the 2 preparations but ultimately, PSLE is still more important determination (in my opinion). -
OK, if really have to prep for DSA (or even GEP) then it will be rather stressful.
Of course can also just show up on interview day to 自由发挥 lah
sleepy:
Last year, the GEB advised parents not to prep the students for DSA interviews as schools are not interested in scripted answers.Nebbermind:
sleepy:
I think Mrs NBM was the one who oversaw the applications. Mustn't be misled by father's lepaknessNebbermind:
lee_yl:
therein lies another worry. I don't think it's healthy if the academic gaps between the two siblings gets wider and wider... Mothers tend to over worry? Oh well...
leeyl , i understand -esp your girls age gap is closer. Need to constant remind to give elder girl a lot of emotional comfort, support and encouragement, i think girl will be more sensitive , plus this is the growing stage - inside the emotions is roller
coaster . yes mothers of course worry more coz we are women. You can do it, just be your loving self
actually it was what I did…I did all the applications, prepared all the interview qns and got my DD to read just a day before interview or few hours before interview…bobian…interview right smack in the middle of prelims in July…
lee_yl:
bgmum:
Wow lee_yl
your kid's SA2 is not over yet and you are thinking of psle revision now. But yes, year end holidays will be good to start - can start brushing up on weak areas and reviewing topics covered in earlier levels for relevant subjects.
I have already picked a nice date to mark the start of PSLE preparation, 1st Nov, easy to remember. And my kids already protesting. :stompfeet: :siao: :faint:
Yes, we have been constantly revising topics taught earlier, especially for science.
Me too. Have told my daughter we have to start on her Chinese soon after exam is over. Partly also because we'll away for a long holiday in Dec. . -
metz2:
Prep as in go external training? No need to be so intensive lah.
Last year, the GEB advised parents not to prep the students for DSA interviews as schools are not interested in scripted answers.
But abit uneasy if zero practice. This time round, dd1 helped dd2 by asking her some probable interview questions. Sufficient practice for dd2 to warm up for interview. There is no right or wrong answers anyway. -
jetsetter:
I think Mrs NBM was the one who oversaw the applications. Mustn't be misled by father's lepaknesssleepy:
[quote=\"Nebbermind\"]
[/quote]Honestly, even adults donch enjoy interview. But there's only that much one can prep...the scope is rather narrow....as compared to Oral...and when you prep for one, you prep for all.
As for scripted response, yes, they do interrupt you...perhaps they didn't want to carry on listening, or maybe they just wanted to disrupt your script.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.