In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      jawcee74

How will we as parents feel if our kids only visited us once a month or during CNY and other special occasions only

Well I always believe that to give enough "space" for our kids to breathe and DUN be like a superglued parents always seeking for attention.
      As I do have friends that MILs are ALWAYS JEALOUS

sashimi

insider:
        When I was in the hospital after delivering my first daughter, my in laws came to visit me.

When I opened my eyes, the first thing my father in law said to me was, \"Why is it not a son?\" and shaking his head.
        I'm so sorry this happened to you!

I only like girls myself, zero interest in sons; so I can assure you, one day if and when I become a FIL, I will be saying to my DD, \"Um, can I please have at least one granddaughter?\". :love:

jawcee74

Hi buds,

Thanks for sharing the same emotion. The reason behind on why my girl went to the hospital was due to MIL spending too much time taking care on her first GRANDSON…

And to my MIL, infant having fever is ok… :x
          I think even till i die, I will never forgive/forget…this!!!

sashimi:
            insider:

When I was in the hospital after delivering my first daughter, my in laws came to visit me.

When I opened my eyes, the first thing my father in law said to me was, \"Why is it not a son?\" and shaking his head.

I'm so sorry this happened to you!

I only like girls myself, zero interest in sons; so I can assure you, one day if and when I become a FIL, I will be saying to my DD, \"Um, can I please have at least one granddaughter?\". :love:

Hahaa!
            Me too!
            Girls anytime..
            :please:

jawcee74:
              Hi buds,

Thanks for sharing the same emotion. The reason behind on why my girl went to the hospital was due to MIL spending too much time taking care on her first GRANDSON...

And to my MIL, infant having fever is ok... :x
              I think even till i die, I will never forgive/forget...this!!!!!
              I can understand where you're coming from... FULLY.
              Its hard to forget, what more forgive...
              In time, it will be a past memory...
              not so much angst,
              hatred or grudge..

Cos that's what i told myself then..
              During my roughest patch..

Its in a distant memory now.
              Thank God for that.
              Forgive? Hmmmm... dunno yet.
              Heheh! Can like dat? :lol: :lol:

Well jawcee74,
              Share with you another one with regards to health concerns..

My daughter inherited asthma from my hub's side of the family.
              Hence, she's sensitive to the very minutest stuff like dirty air, smoke,
              dust (can you imagine!) and allergic to many types of food while growing
              up. So, tho i'm ok with not 100% clean environment kind (so as not to
              manja her with ultra clean living space-in case it will pose poblems in
              future), i do dislike if she gets sick, esp for no reason or for some obvious
              reason. This is another episode of my 10yr drama, hahaa!

MIL used to rear a cat as a pet. I have briefed hubs on not letting baby
              go near the cat at all times cos i dun want her to fall sick. We were abt
              to go out when i had a call. So i told him to mind the baby awhile... and
              check her diaper, cos i smelt some \"baking\" in progress. To my dismay,
              (and horror) when i came back from answering the call, i found hubs
              outside waiting for me, without baby!

I asked him where's the baby? He said with mum.
              Where's mum? In the room, he replied..
              So, go get her lah.. Wait, mum changing diaper for her.
              Wait a minute... change diaper in whose room?
              Her room...

That very minute i glimpsed upon the door to her room which was left
              ajar and you wouldnt believe what i saw.. Baby was on her bed where
              the smelly cat slept, (poo-ed and pee-ed too) with the cats tail wagging
              and stroking her face! I went in, picked up baby and went out. Took
              baby wipes and wiped her face, hands, hair, and the dress that she was
              wearing which was full with cat fur (which i eventually gave up wiping
              off - just changed into another clean dress). Baby started to sneeze non-
              stop while i was in the midst of changing her. And her eyes started to go
              watery red...

All this time maintaining my cool. Boy, that was hard.. I was abt to blow
              my top. I composed myself, and told her in a crackling voice... Mum, i've
              told you before... she is sensitive to pet fur/feathers and i personally
              requested you not to plc her anywhere near the cat and i thought since
              you had all 3 sons with asthma when they were growing up, you would
              understand... Why did you have to change her on the bed beside the cat,
              mum... Her stoic reply?

\"Well, i took care of 3 sons all with asthma. They didn't... die.\"
              \"I ate more salt than you, so you dun hafta teach me abt raising
              children. I know better...\"

[No emoticon can best describe what i felt (here)... ]

I was on urgent leave for 3 days caring for baby who went down
              with severe bronchitis and high fever. All the time her nose runny and
              never had peaceful sleep throughout the 3 days, not able to breathe
              properly. So i didn get any sleep either, of course...

The first night of her high fever, was the first time i had to
              put her to the nebulizer. My heart ached as the baby cried..
              and cried and cried... God help me.. 🙏

Hubs, knowing how distraught i was.... went quiet.
              We didn speak for the 3 days. That catty incident
              NEVER happened again. God HELPED me. Amen. 😉

sashimi:

When baby was able to return home, i started to try nursing her.
                Being a 1st time mum, i had some challenges getting baby to latch
                on. At this, MIL retorted, the baby doesn't like your milk. Give her to
                me, i'll do the feeding - with the bottle. You're starving the baby to death.
                My poor grandchild.

:x :x :x :x :x This is pure evil!! I've heard this scenario described by many mothers and it always pisses me off. I absolutely detest MILs who DARE say such a thing to a mother. What an utter insult! How can anyone who's ever been a mother say such a thing to another mother! Preposterous! You have my complete sympathy, buds.

For the record, i really DID feel terribly insulted. 😞

winth

[quote]Phew! my husband don't have sisters to give me SIL problems. I wonder if i am a troublesome SIL to my own SIL - anyway we seldom chat and i only great her as 'hi' cos it's really weird to address her as 'Big Sis-in Law' when she is younger than me....[/quote]
                  Think to speak from a SIL's shoes, I would like my SIL to just treat me slightly more visible and keep ill-comments to self. Just a normal 'hi' would do.

She was ultra nice to me first few years when I was introduced into the family as gf, but it's all very pretentious type. So dunno when the relationship deterioriated to such extent.

Anyway, she got married liao... has got a SIL and a MIL to deal with her too... haha...
                  and am just starting to hear some complaints.

Like what my DH likes use this term: 'The boomerang effect' to describe karma - cause & effect.

winth:
                    [quote]Phew! my husband don't have sisters to give me SIL problems. I wonder if i am a troublesome SIL to my own SIL - anyway we seldom chat and i only great her as 'hi' cos it's really weird to address her as 'Big Sis-in Law' when she is younger than me....

Think to speak from a SIL's shoes, I would like my SIL to just treat me slightly more visible and keep ill-comments to self. Just a normal 'hi' would do.

She was ultra nice to me first few years when I was introduced into the family as gf, but it's all very pretentious type. So dunno when the relationship deterioriated to such extent.

Anyway, she got married liao... has got a SIL and a MIL to deal with her too... haha...
                    and am just starting to hear some complaints.

Like what my DH likes use this term: 'The boomerang effect' to describe karma - cause & effect.[/quote]\"Boomerang effect\" ... hmmm... i like how you say that.
                    I'm used to karma and retribution, boomerang effect - sounds
                    fancy! I'll borrow that phrase sometime.. 😉 hope u dun mind.

pinky

I always joke that in-laws should be label as out-laws bec

rarely do we hear good things about them, isn’t it? My hubby has 13 siblings and multiply that with their children,
                      you are looking at a whole busload of people with varying characters. I cope by taking a friendly stance to everyone
                      and keep whatever opinion to myself.
                      So far so good we meet every weekend and go dinner/shopping
                      or even tour together. Anyway my stand is
                      they are part of your family
                      too so like it or not, just do your part and whatever will be will be.
                      Life is too short so relax and go with the flow.

pinky:
                        I always joke that in-laws should be label as out-laws bec

rarely do we hear good things about them, isn't it?
                        Outlaws? 😉
                        pinky:
                        My hubby has 13 siblings and multiply that with their children, you are looking at a whole busload of people with varying characters. I cope by taking a friendly stance to everyone
                        and keep whatever opinion to myself.
                        13!?! Ooooh laa laa! Hehee!
                        Ya, if there isn't any animosity to begin with... good.
                        Can just be cordial to everyone as and when during meet up.
                        Must always be one big gathering.
                        pinky:
                        Life is too short so relax and go with the flow.
                        Yup, yup, yup. Ditto that! 😎

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 529

TheolaT
                        Theola