How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
heard of several cases of women from PRC...marry and then run away after a few months upon getting PR. or else bring the child and run off. actually i just heard of one case today...there is this guy A who runs a stall in the market...he married a pretty vietnamese woman. B who also runs a stall in the same market took a liking to this vietnamese woman and approached A if he can have his pretty wife. guess what? A told B he can have her, provided B pays A what has he has paid to the marriage agency. the vietnamese woman didn't mind. so she and A divorced and married B. :faint:
slmkhoo:
Some general information on trust funds.FantasyLandDreams:
All of you seemed very experienced. May I ask, is it very expensive to set up a trust fund via lawyer, how much it costs and is there any better way to do this: let's say we leave behind $X amount of money and we only want it to be given as monthly allowance over the lifespan of the children ( for example 90 years)? Purpose is such that children have a monthly sum to get by only and still 'forced' to work if they want to enjoy more 'luxury' in life.
This is something I have thought of too! Not so much to prevent spendthrift behaviour, but for the child who may not be as able to manage. If she marries, then maybe it won't be necessary, but even so, who can tell what the husband will be like? And I will probably make her sister one of the trustees.
I would be grateful for more info!
https://www.guidemesingapore.com/taxation/planning/singapore-trust-setup
Indicative information on the annual fees for the administration of a trust
http://singaporeestateplanning.com/services/trust-services/
An online resource for the setting up of trust funds
http://www.kisstrust.com/howitworks.htm -
janet88:
heard of several cases of women from PRC...marry and then run away after a few months upon getting PR. or else bring the child and run off. actually i just heard of one case today...there is this guy A who runs a stall in the market...he married a pretty vietnamese woman. B who also runs a stall in the same market took a liking to this vietnamese woman and approached A if he can have his pretty wife. guess what? A told B he can have her, provided B pays A what has he has paid to the marriage agency. the vietnamese woman didn't mind. so she and A divorced and married B. :faint:
:rotflmao: Like that also can?!
Btw, I have two PRC friends who complain that the MILs instructed the husbands not to include the wives' name in their matrimonial homes and to be very careful with cash so the wives end up receiving very little pocket money. -
lee_yl:
i was so shocked to hear the vietnamese wife agreed to be with another man and still see her ex-husband like nobody's biz. many stall owners know about this.janet88:
:rotflmao: Like that also can?!
Btw, I have two PRC friends who complain that the MILs instructed the husbands not to include the wives' name in their matrimonial homes and to be very careful with cash so the wives end up receiving very little pocket money. -
zbear:
:heresmyfish: Oi, c'mon parents! Don't discriminate until liddat leh. We've been reading bad reports on China wives because in the 90s-00s, most imports were here working in the service, retail, F&B and spa industries, so they lacked first world values and mindset. The income gap was also much greater in the old days when China hasdnot gotten so wealthy and educated, hence they find your CPF monies and passport very attractive! But not anymore. Many Chinese middle-class families are now living in nicer apartments than ours, and driving nicer continental cars too!hercules:
Am hesitant to share this coz 'politically incorrect' but anyway, will share.
If any of my son were to marry a China woman, then there will be no money given to them until they are maybe 10 years into their marriage for me to 'study' whether the woman is a 'genuine wife/mother' or not.
I so scared of China women after knowing several cases of friends.
Hi5!!!! I agree with you 200%
Told my son that he will not get anything from me if he marries a China wife!!!
If your dc can find a PRC national who's from a \"scholar\" or \"bureaucrat\" or \"businessman\" family (not \"farmer\" or \"factory worker\" families), who has gone to a reputable overseas college like your dc, worked in an MNC, looks more handsome or prettier than Singapore locals, why not? :rotflmao:
The mercenary and uncouth ones are usually from China's second or third tier cities. Those educated and affluent ones from first tier cities may have very well-bred and \"globalised\" dc (as in they may have a green card some where). Because they are usually singletons (though now they allow them to have more than 1), you can imagine the Gen-2 will have a whopping inheritance, if they are scions! It's the kind of wealth we can never ever amass as a PMET in Singapore, because China's market is really that HUGE. 一世都挣不到的财富!
Don't reject them immediately. Study them closely... Some scions can be playboys, or spoilt pampered princesses. But there are also several good catches/stock out there
Very gifted and multi-talented some more.
I think in 10-20 years' time, it's a case of THEY pick your DC, not the other way round hor.
I share the same thinking as you JS…came here for few days holiday for first time, already asking about doing bz in Spore and few months later bought a unit at JB.
MrsKiasu:
I share the same thinking as you JS..came here for few days holiday for first time, already asking about doing bz in Spore and few months later bought a unit at JB.
It's really crazy. Sometimes I accompany dh to MBS or RWS to watch them buy branded goods. Jaw-dropping purchases! Sometimes it's not due to graft or corruption. It could be because they listed their companies and BOOM! their share prices shot up after launching and they struck gold overnight...or they own some mines or quarries somewhere...or they just need to sell their products at CNY10 to 100 million customers...it's a crazy gold mine up there. You never go look-see Forest City? my dh went to view with his friends
We havent been to Forest city. What did your dh and friends think of it? Good?
Forest City will have 336,000 residential units. If you want to buy for your retirement house, then go ahead. If you want to buy it as investment, avoid! :siam:
Can you imagine how hard to rent it out or sell it where there will be tens of thousands other units want to rent out or sell? :
Edit: Sorry, compre problem. 336,000 is the number of residential units in the pipeline for the rest of Johor state. The estimated number of units to house 700,000 people in Forest City is 116,666 assuming each unit will house 6 people. Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/business/johors-forest-city-could-house-up-to-700000-developer -
hahaha 336k? in spore, 500 I also feel too many units

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.