Property Views
Iβm quite chill about property now. Look around first. At least let sonny get into secondary school first.
lee_yl:
Ditto. Looking around for ages but yet to spot the ideal one. Price is not right also, no upside only downside if enter now
I have explored Trevose area, near school but lack amenities. Newton area, there are DTL & NS lines but again, lack of amenities nearby as well. Bishan area, DH doesn't like, deeming it overcrowded. On Novena Hill, to buy an old terrace to rebuild will cost us $4mil (burst budget ). Chancery 99yr cluster looks good but pretty dim street lighting so not quite safe for DDs to walk home at night. We have actually explored quite a bit but have yet to find anything suitable :faint:
Although I do hope to select one asap since both kids are in the same secondary school now. For convenience as near to school as possible + mrt + amenities. But hor don't have such property leh. And if have, out of budget -
sleepy:
Huh?! You mean after our last discussions, you have yet to buy? In a blink of the eye, your kids will complete sec/JC and by the time they enter Uni, do you intend to relocate again? Another option, you may wish to consider renting for the time being as the rental market is quite soft now.
Ditto. Looking around for ages but yet to spot the ideal one. Price is not right also, no upside only downside if enter nowlee_yl:
I have explored Trevose area, near school but lack amenities. Newton area, there are DTL & NS lines but again, lack of amenities nearby as well. Bishan area, DH doesn't like, deeming it overcrowded. On Novena Hill, to buy an old terrace to rebuild will cost us $4mil (burst budget ). Chancery 99yr cluster looks good but pretty dim street lighting so not quite safe for DDs to walk home at night. We have actually explored quite a bit but have yet to find anything suitable :faint:
Although I do hope to select one asap since both kids are in the same secondary school now. For convenience as near to school as possible + mrt + amenities. But hor don't have such property leh. And if have, out of budget
I yearn to upgrade for quite sometime already but pretty stuck as I need to consider DH such that any relocation doesn't inconvenience him. I think more logical to stay in my current location as DH is likely to work till retirement. Whichever way, I am stuck! -
MrsKiasu:
lee yl, why in a rush to buy? better pricing as you wait (i hope
) is better right..house so cramped now 
Not really rushing but it would be nice if I can find a bigger space & you know the reason!
Hopefully, the patience pays off, who knows ABSD maybe abolished by end of this year! -
lee_yl:
Insider tips? :evil:
Hopefully, the patience pays off, who knows ABSD maybe abolished by end of this year! -
lee_yl:
Yahlor, now still driving to & fro school. 25 mins door to door if smooth traffic
Huh?! You mean after our last discussions, you have yet to buy? In a blink of the eye, your kids will complete sec/JC and by the time they enter Uni, do you intend to relocate again? Another option, you may wish to consider renting for the time being as the rental market is quite soft now.
but the problem is traffic is not always smooth, jam every few other days :frustrated:
I like my current place a lot. Big. 'Upgrade' to private will become downgrade size because too ex to get the same size. My current place has good fengshui. This is intangible but of great importance to me. Furthermore, I live next door to a 24 hours Sheng Siong so convenience yield is high as well.
The only complaint I have about my current place is distance to mrt. I'm near 2 mrt line but both not near enough, 2 to 3 bus stops away, not walking distance. Even though I only take mrt a few times a year but we only have 1 car in the household so there is still reliance on mrt for family members. Ideally mrt should be as near as possible and that's one my criteria for new place
I don't want to rush into buying a house I'm not satisfied with and till now yet to spot one that is better than my current place. Previously I also took a very long time to find my current house
That's why still taking my own sweet time to shop since not much push factor to move house except for logistic reason, to be nearer to school to avoid traffic jam. However, if I were to buy for investment purpose (then I will be a lot less fussy with criteria), I think the current price is still high leh. Enter market later will probably save me a few years of loan repayment -
25mins for some days is ok I find. most important is morning trip and both to same school. do they need to take bus? If need to then how long is the trip?
sleepy:
Wa, at least 25mins very long leh. No wonder you want to move nearer to school. If there's no jam, it usually takes me 7 mins to reach school. On some days, I ask both to come back on their own or either one wait in the library to finish up her homework before I pick both of them up. Weather is so hot some days, really no good for my freckles.
Yahlor, now still driving to & fro school. 25 mins door to door if smooth trafficlee_yl:
but the problem is traffic is not always smooth, jam every few other days :frustrated:
I like my current place a lot. Big. 'Upgrade' to private will become downgrade size because too ex to get the same size. My current place has good fengshui. This is intangible but of great importance to me. Furthermore, I live next door to a 24 hours Sheng Siong so convenience yield is high as well.
The only complaint I have about my current place is distance to mrt. I'm near 2 mrt line but both not near enough, 2 to 3 bus stops away, not walking distance. Even though I only take mrt a few times a year but we only have 1 car in the household so there is still reliance on mrt for family members. Ideally mrt should be as near as possible and that's one my criteria for new place
I don't want to rush into buying a house I'm not satisfied with and till now yet to spot one that is better than my current place. Previously I also took a very long time to find my current house
That's why still taking my own sweet time to shop since not much push factor to move house except for logistic reason, to be nearer to school to avoid traffic jam. However, if I were to buy for investment purpose (then I will be a lot less fussy with criteria), I think the current price is still high leh. Enter market later will probably save me a few years of loan repayment
Good fengshui is very important. Plus older development usually have bigger units. For sentimental reasons, I also do not wish to sell my matrimonial house. Actually I am still not aware which sec school your dds are in. R sch? Then come and be my neighbor lah. I see there's a medical school here almost ready, maybe one of your dds can get in then your investment will be worth it! :boogie:
Luckily for our place, 5-10mins walk to MRT & 3 shopping malls. Dds are now old enough to walk to attend enrichment classes on their own, if relocate far, I must send/fetch. Same like you, our household also has only 1 car. Purposely one, to make DH walk to his office, not far from home. Thus, if we were to move, he needs to either buy a car or take public transport. Will try to minimize the impact. This makes my house hunting come with plenty of limitations. :frustrated:
I would think so too, more of a downside than upside for the property market this year. Plus don't forget ABSD! -
MrsKiasu:
25mins for some days is ok I find. most important is morning trip and both to same school. do they need to take bus? If need to then how long is the trip?
Morning traffic is okay. It is the afternoon traffic that's abit unpredictable. And on some days I need to make 2 afternoon trips because kids have different dismissal time that is quite a few hours apart so I will fetch one home first then make another trip later to fetch the other. I think I spend more time on the road than cooking & doing house chores at home
They hardly take public transport. I enrolled them with the expectation that I will be sending/fetching them otherwise I won't choose that school. Can be between 75 to 90 mins one way depending on how soon the bus arrives. The actual journey is not that long but mostly due to long waiting time at bus stop. No direct bus. Need transfer once. But there is only 1 bus to take to transfer to another 1 bus. So got to wait long long at bus stop lor. Our inefficient public transport system :roll: -
lee_yl:
Wow this is super ideal. You don't need to move at all leh. So convenient!
If there's no jam, it usually takes me 7 mins to reach school. On some days, I ask both to come back on their own or either one wait in the library to finish up her homework before I pick both of them up.
Luckily for our place, 5-10mins walk to MRT & 3 shopping malls. Dds are now old enough to walk to attend enrichment classes on their own, if relocate far, I must send/fetch. Same like you, our household also has only 1 car. Purposely one, to make DH walk to his office, not far from home.
Maybe you can consider buying a bigger unit within the same development?
Dh's office location is quite ulu. Definitely not within walking distance regardless where we shift to and I most certainly won't want to buy a house near his office
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.