DSA 2017

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    0 Posts 403 Posters 918.2k Views 1 Watching
    • Imp75I Offline
      Imp75

The upcoming OH is by nygh on 25/3. I expect parents might be asking all these hard questions. I might go kaypoh and hear what Mdm Heng has to say.

jetsetter

pirate:
        jetsetter:

MOE should unequivocally state: \"effective 2017\", not \"by 2018\".

MOE should update their website with their latest announcements. :razz:

Updated yesterday oredi.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/speeches/moe-fy-2017-committee-of-supply-debate-speech-by-minister-of-education-schools-ng-chee-meng

jetsetter

coast:
          jetsetter:

[quote=\"coast\"]

I would think that \"Sports and arts\" are under separate domains 🙂 ... for the specific academic strength, it's only mentioned \"talent in specific subjects\" ...

coast, i get what u mean now. The domains are separate indeed.

Well, if they seriously don't require a Math whiz or a Spelling Bee to have a CCA, to know how to strum a guitar or bat a ball, that'll be wonderful 🙂

All-rounder cohort toppers can continue to apply thru Subject domain without this burden.

But you see, they keep harping on this tired key message: \"go back to the original intent of focusing on non-acad talents\", thus giving me the impression one must be holistic or else...

\"Talent in specific subjects\" domain is clearly not non-acad.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/dsa-to-exclude-academic-test-as-criteria-by-2018-ng-chee-meng/3572054.html

So pirate, yes, it's still academics academics academics. Lololol. :faint:

Hi, thanks for sharing the article :)

I was equally surprised that holistic is not mentioned at all but I believe it’s in the details yet to be announced? 

I agree with what you said in bold. When the A* was replaced with the AL banding, I understand the intention is to reduce peer competition (bell-curved for A*), that students will not go for enrichment/ tuition to chase the “max” marks so that they have more time to pursue a holistic (non-acad) life. It seems ironical DSA is encouraging strength in a specific subject? I must be missing something … perhaps we will find out more in time to come.

One trigger for the DSA review is MP Denise Phua’s concern that \"children from more affluent households would benefit from this scheme, as they have access to more resources to hone specific skills from a younger age.\"

The question we need to ask ourselves … does this apply to strength in specific subject too? Will it address the concern that more affluent households would benefit?[/quote]I get the sense Min is trying to promote NOT those high-brow/ atas MO, SO or National Spelling/Debates that you guys are talking about. Those are probably coveted by the indept IP schools, so competitions and medals matter. And to train and compete and win big, you need resources.

He seems to be promoting those mid-tier sort of distinctive programmes like ALP, LLP as well as less acad type of routes: coding, robotics, food sciences, media communication, etc. that non-IP and neighbourhood sec schools are offering. I think the objective is to allow more MA and presumably, less affluent folks to bypass PSLE by way of DSA, hence the decision to increase the number of places in the non-IP intake of such sec schools.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/speeches/moe-fy-2017-committee-of-supply-debate-speech-by-minister-of-education-schools-ng-chee-meng

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

jetsetter:

I get the sense Min is trying to promote NOT those high-brow/ atas MO, SO or National Spelling/Debates that you guys are talking about. Those are probably coveted by the indept IP schools, so competitions and medals matter. And to train and compete and win big, you need resources.

He seems to be promoting those mid-tier sort of distinctive programmes like ALP, LLP as well as less acad type of routes: coding, robotics, food sciences, media communication, etc. that non-IP and neighbourhood sec schools are offering. I think the objective is to allow more MA and presumably, less affluent folks to bypass PSLE by way of DSA, hence the decision to increase the number of places in the non-IP intake of such sec schools.

Kind of agree with you on this.

Anyway, for IP schools DSA, the basket of kids with the ability to cope with the rigour of IP isn't that big and so, unless they reduce the number of DSA slots, I think those who would have gone in without this change would not be affected. Here I'm talking about the overall group and not just those aiming at a certain R school.

mn_1704

Yngmng:
              DD2 is entering P1 in 2019 and is now mulling over which school is suitable in view of the recent changes. I have 2 choices. One is a Neighbourhood school within walking distance or a gep school abt 20 mins bus journey. DD1 DSAed via subject domain to her current secondary school. My experience is that the school requires her to demonstrate excellence and passion in a subject domain. This means that the child need to participate and win awards in competitions. Correct me if I am wrong but generally, I noticed that Neighbourhood schools tend to be less active in taking part in such competitions. Will this make branded schools more attractive? I also noticed that in gep schools, most of the academic related awards are won by geppers (correct me if I am wrong). So if the child is not a gepper, sending them to branded gep school does not really increase their chances of winning awards and therefore DSA. Personally, I also feel that with the review, gep becomes less attractive. This is considering the amount of time that they spent on their project works. So even if DD 2 does qualify for gep, will really think twice about joining gep. I would rather she focus on her core academic work. I will also be less enthusiastic abt DSA. From my experience last year, it is really stressful on both parents and child.

Hi, I understand what you had mentioned above.
              I can only speak from my personal experience with my DS. My DS is now in Sec 1 in IP a boys school (sorry...not the top IP School... 😉 )

My DS's learning journey with GEP - he has learnt a lot (academically and definitely outside of academics) in his 3 years. He is now doing well in his Sec 1 IP programme. As an involved dad from day 1 of his learning journey since he was a baby/toddler, I must say that our DS greatly benefited from the GEP experience.

We did not prepare him with any extra MO classes or special enrichment classes with the hope of getting into GEP when he was in Pri school. He only had CL tuition since we do not speak mandarin at home. He just did it when he went for the selection tests in P3. And now he is in Sec 1 IP, and I can only say that he has gain a whole new learning experience and landscape during his GEP days which benefits him in his Secondary IP.

My conclusion - only able to comment with the experience of my DS. Let nature takes its course. If the child is able to get into GEP with his or her own ability (without all the extra classes and enrichment), then it will be great for the child. The child will be exposed to a totally different aspect of learning and knowledge inquiry.
              If the child is able to thrive in a non-GEP school, than so be it. Parents can do more to encourage, facilitate and support the child to explore his non-academic interests, passion and knowledge exploration. I believe as parents, we just do our best to support our children in their learning journey, be it in GEP or non-Gep. I always believe that Parents are always and will always be the main educators and partners of our DCs learning journey.

• coastC Offline
                coast

jetsetter:

Updated yesterday oredi.

Hi jetsetter, thanks for sharing the link and your insight.

I read the speech and will share important points with my DS. I encourage parents to do so with their kids.

I strongly feel that MOE is moving in the right direction. I am pleased with many of the changes Minister Ng has announced.

Back to DSA, I do appreciate the changes in context. Many more students will benefit from DSA henceforth.

sleepy

Yngmng:
                  I also noticed that in gep schools, most of the academic related awards are won by geppers (correct me if I am wrong). So if the child is not a gepper, sending them to branded gep school does not really increase their chances of winning awards

I agree. My take is transfer to a gep school if your child is selected for gep. Otherwise might be comparatively better off in a non-gep school especially if you know your child is top in cohort caliber, more opportunities to shine.

Again, merely my 2 cents 😂

sleepy

for IP schools DSA, the basket of kids with the ability to cope with the rigour of IP isn't that big and so, unless they reduce the number of DSA slots, I think those who would have gone in without this change would not be affected.

True. For the top few schools say if each school were to receive 2000 applications and only selecting <200, these schools would have a buffet of students to pick and choose.

Back to my earlier 葱花 analogy 😆 It is simply a renaming exercise for these top schools. Whether general academic domain or subject specific domain won't change these schools' selection criteria.

Once again, merely my 2 cents hor :siam:

• Imp75I Offline
                      Imp75

Well…hopefully the new DSA process will weed out you lah 😛 tsk tsk tsk …buying insurance ahead of PSLE…

that’s not the intent of DSA lah…both schools and pupils to chope each other before marriage…

sleepy

Imp75:
                        Well....hopefully the new DSA process will weed out you lah 😛 tsk tsk tsk ...buying insurance ahead of PSLE....

that's not the intent of DSA lah........both schools and pupils to chope each other before marriage.....
                        I thought your dd is via dsa too :scratchhead:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1