8 Junior Colleges are Merging? Rumors or Reality?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    397 Posts 1 Posters 99.0k Views 1 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

lee_yl:
      If $$$ is the case, I think I don't mind (and many parents too) paying higher school fees to enjoy a low student-teacher ratio. Maybe MOE should consider raising the school fees? Else the money will also end up paying for 1-1 tuition

Just curious, what is the class size in the soon-to-disappear JCs? Is it much less than 20? And what is the class size in the rest of the JCs?

I would not have wanted increased school fees!

slmkhoo:

same here.

janet88:
          slmkhoo:

same here.

Water bill already went up, substantially ! 😢

Imagine if educational fees also go up, those family household who find it hard to survive, will struggle even more, especially if they have more than one child schooling.

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

People should stop moaning about the lost of heritage because the JCs have closed down… sorry, merged.

Did these people moan about lost of heritage when Bukit Brown or Bidadari Cemetery, Rochore Centre, or Sungei Road Market was slated for demolition? It’s selective heritage at play - heritage when it concerns me, but not my concern when it’s, err… none of my concern.

Likewise, those who goad or be thankful that it’s not their ‘heritage’ that was taken away, shouldn’t be surprised if the wheels are turned one day. Thus, I disagree that only alumni should take a stand because it’s really more than the schools’ alumni issue. That said, did the alumni / students of these schools speak out when the silly decision was made for EJC to temporary occupy Mt Sinai, a relatively remote location from their would-be home?

When one did not speak out, because it’s not your concern, then when they came for you, don’t be surprised that there is no one left to speak for you.

Rant over.

janet88:

[quote=\"slmkhoo\"]

same here.

Imagine if educational fees also go up, those family household who find it hard to survive, will struggle even more, especially if they have more than one child schooling.[/quote]would higher school fees guarantee the students won't need tuition? as it is, school is compulsory but kids need tuition to pass the exams set.

• UBKmomU Offline
                UBKmom

I guess nothing is forever in Singapore and with finite land/resources, something got to go when the push come. This is not the first time schools are closed and it wont be the last.

People will normally takes the easier route and this time, the 8 JCs are selected because they are to be frank, easier to pick on and offer the least resistance. Again, under normal circumstances, it is a logical choice, closing down those least popular one. If not, are people expecting gov to merge or close down RI/HCI/VJ? That will upset even more people with power and influential. No body in the right mind will tear down a proven and successful institution with illustrious alumni.

I know a lot of people will be angry with what I have said but life is never equal.

mum_sugoku

cool_hi:

Agree!!! actually for me, quite used to it already ..
                  not 1st time wat...last year (2016 sec1), strictly NO appeal after secondary posting if never meet COP of secondary school u want to appeal to...got proper communication meH? not important to communicate and inform parents formally meh??
                  i don't remember there was any FORMAL OFFICIAL announcement from MOE...correct me if i am wrong..
                  Please don't throw stones at me if i remember wrongly...
                  I got to know through KSP!!
                  i am very used to such styles liao..price increase in electricity, etc etc..
                  'TAKE it & that's IT ' style 🙂
                  My ah-Q way to use this to motivate my kids is :
                  study hard to go to a better school(oh! paiseh!! i forgot MOE says all schools are good schools)..
                  if not, if your school is merged or closed down in future, don't complain hor..

up till now...heng ah!!Only my primary school is closed down & merged(still feel little sad..)
                  Just ranting too, so, a bit long-winded hor:

Our ministers (the more current ones) keep calling parents not to be too fixated on exam scores, yet they don't seem to realise that it's their very policies that contribute towards such culture (kiasu-ism): Which are the JCs being axed? Those with lowest COP - indirectly telling parents/students that if you can't get good EXAM SCORE, you risk getting into a school/JC that could just disappear in no time! 😓

I thought MOE was moving in the right direction when it stopped publishing schools' rankings base on their students' (PSLE, 'O', 'A' level) exam performance. Despite that, we parents, being famously kiasu, would still find other means to pick out the 'good-er' schools. So, inevitably, COP becomes the next convenient 'benchmark' for parents to rely on -- doesn't matter if COP is just an indication of the schools' popularity and does not necessarily reflect the school's academic achievement.

IMO, by right, the next logical step is to also stop revealing COP, at least officially. While I do understand the rationales behind such disclosure, which is to allow parents/students to make an informed choice, had MOE not removed the (working utterly fine) t-score system (where allocation is purely by merit) and to replace it with that new AL banding system (where order of choice matters too), it would still be possible to allocate student fairly without using COP. Allow me to explain.

Under t-score system, allocation is strictly by merit, ie order of choices doesn't matter, I would propose that, instead of giving 6 choices, students can be given more, say, up to 12 choices. Students merely need to put down the schools in order of their preference, and leave it to computer to assign according to their exam score ranking. Since, by now, we already have some idea which are the more sought-after (requiring higher t-score) schools, as long as the students make realistic choices, I don't see why it cannot be done. Same idea can be applied to JC application.

The biggest advantage of such system is people will stop comparing schools 'my school has higher COP than your so yours is 'lousier' than mine', leading to students selecting schools based on COP alone, picking schools with the highest COP they can meet instead of factors such as proximity, school culture, niche program, etc. And it becomes a vicious circle, without knowing schools' academic performance, people start to equate COP ranking to academic ranking, and flock to the highest (COP) ranking they may qualify, pushing the COP of these school even higher.

Back to JC merger. I feel it's very unfortunate that AJC is chosen as the \"sacrificial lamb'. By associating ('merge') it with (a much less popular) SRJC, it could pull down AJC's popularity, hence COP, in years to come. It doesn't help that EJC, which happens to share the same COP as AJC this year, also happens to be located just a few bus stops away from AJC. Between a 'merged' JC and a (perceived) elite JC, which one, do you think, students are more incline to pick?

Again, sorry for being so long-winded. 🦆

mum_sugoku

A super politically incorrect but candid (I feel) comment by an ex-NMP, Calvin Cheng:

http://mothership.sg/2017/04/ex-nmp-calvin-cheng-makes-the-point-about-the-jc-mergers-that-no-one-wants-to-talk-about/

mindays

slmkhoo:
                      lee_yl:

If $$$ is the case, I think I don't mind (and many parents too) paying higher school fees to enjoy a low student-teacher ratio. Maybe MOE should consider raising the school fees? Else the money will also end up paying for 1-1 tuition

Just curious, what is the class size in the soon-to-disappear JCs? Is it much less than 20? And what is the class size in the rest of the JCs?

Most JCs that I know of have a class size of 20 too. The maximum would be around 25?

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

mindays:

Most JCs that I know of have a class size of 20 too. The maximum would be around 25?
                        why do i have this feeling that half a dozen people will go round asking just to find that one class with 26 students? :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 27 / 40