Travel: Greece - General
Basically hquek had covered the "essence" of the islands and Athens, good reference of wine, lodging & food. For food wise, we found that the local food are worth to try (of course taste is different but still acceptable), forgot what we had ordered…greek name; mostly lamb, beef, rabbit, chicken and beef dishes, even tried the McD.
Throughout the tour, we have more time to explore the Athens city, shopping and adventuring ard for food along the streets or backlanes; and there have pretty many tavernas in some of the alleys. We oso tried the Chinese food for one of the meals, not so bad. Since the "HardRock Cafe" is outlet is located in Piraes Port, we even travelled all the way there by train and there found a few "market place" or "wet market" selling fresh seedfood or sashimi. Also, happened to find a "flea market" there.
With limited budget to hop on Santorini and Mykonos, we got ourself a hotel (thru the local tour guide) in Santorini, infact is a motel for 50euro per nite but it is 2KM away from the Fira town. So, we rented a mini car (whereby the hotel reception can make arrangement with the car company and send car to the hotel), it is still cheaper than to get a room besides the volcanic cliff or even the symbolic cave house (boh pian run low of cash) but worth to try the cave house that facing the blue green ocean. With the car and map, we drove around the island, inside out, from Fira to Oia, further down to the south to visit the red beach (sand is red coz of volcanic effects) and any place appeared on the map.
That time was late April and early May, so the sea water at Santorini/Mykonos is still rather cold, will be hot in Sep/Oct and this is peak season. Travelling ard Mykonos especially the legal "nuke beach" is a must must not to miss. -
Hotels in Athens are rather ex and old…3/4 stars hotel room conditions may disappointing you. The one included in our tour is 3 star but the lift is type of can only accommodate 4 ppl at one time and some more we got to close another door before the lift door can be closed:-) And the bed can BEND my back coz i could have myself sunken…the spring is dead !! :!:
mum03,
Wondering if you are still heading to Athens for holidays this June.
Situation there likely to be quite messy so do be careful
auntieM:
the exchange rate is irresistible .... 1.79S$= 1 EUR (bloomberg)mum03,
I know I know
the exchange rate is irresistible .... 1.79S$= 1 EUR (bloomberg)auntieM:
mum03,
Maybe other parts of Europe that id safer would be more ideal.. .. -
why not just italy?
was in rome recently. great weather and lots of things to see. went to vatican as well. you wont regret it.
from rome, you can go to florence, milan, venice…take about 2 weeks to do italy. -
If I remember correctly.. ..you are just next door hor... envy :drool:why not just italy?
was in rome recently. great weather and lots of things to see. went to vatican as well. you wont regret it.
from rome, you can go to florence, milan, venice.......take about 2 weeks to do italy. -
auntieM:
If I remember correctly.. ..you are just next door hor... envy :drool:LOLMum:
why not just italy?
from rome, you can go to florence, milan, venice.......take about 2 weeks to do italy.
dont envy lah, next door also very expensive to travel..
Thks for your concern, I will go ahead with my travel plans. Have already confirmed my international and domestic flight. I have also paid for some of our lodgings. So cannot back out la. Anyway if I look at the situation in greece, I think it should be over by the time we go there.
We are leaving on the 31st may till 19 Jun. I am very happy with the exchange rates. Good to travel and also can do shopping. Will keep you all update on the outcome. -
Just came back from Greece. Did not see any demostration. Had a good 3weeks Holiday to the island of Rhodes.Santorini,Mykonas,Naxos and end up in Anthens.
If you love shopping for shoes and handbags, this is the place to go. DH says that need extra suitcase to put in the amount of shoes and bag I bought.
Did not follow any travel agence. Did our own booking with the hotels and plan our own iternaries.
If anyone needs any feed back of the places, pls let me kow.
Bel
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.