8 Junior Colleges are Merging? Rumors or Reality?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    397 Posts 1 Posters 99.2k Views 1 Watching
      mum_sugoku

floppy:
      mum_sugoku:

Agree.

In that case, for courses which are too niche to be viable here, perhaps govt could offer tuition grants to students who wish to pursue such courses elsewhere? (Not sure if such scheme is already in place though.)

Grants?
      Got.
      They are just better known to us as scholarship šŸ˜‰

Overseas scholarships are for 'creme de la creme' leh.. Different class lah..

mum_sugoku

A well written letter published in yesterday's ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/limiting-opportunities-in-higher-education-not-the-way-to-go
        [quote]......Encouraging more Singaporeans to pursue a university education is ultimately the key to ensuring that we can have a foot in the door in an increasingly knowledge- and innovation-based economy......[/quote]

pirate

floppy:

Some of the expertise could be niche and it's not viable to have a full-time course every year. E.g. there is no veterinary college in school.
          Niche? Is that another word for 'deep skills'? :siam:

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

mum_sugoku:

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/limiting-opportunities-in-higher-education-not-the-way-to-go
            [quote]......Encouraging more Singaporeans to pursue a university education is ultimately the key to ensuring that we can have a foot in the door in an increasingly knowledge- and innovation-based economy......
            [/quote]https://s12.postimg.org/odswqgtm5/IMG_3407.jpg\">

mum_sugoku

floppy:
              mum_sugoku:

[quote]......Encouraging more Singaporeans to pursue a university education is ultimately the key to ensuring that we can have a foot in the door in an increasingly knowledge- and innovation-based economy......

https://s12.postimg.org/odswqgtm5/IMG_3407.jpg\">[/quote]Of cos (all) our universities must maintain acceptable standard lah.. and not just some wild chicken university..

• floppyF Offline
                floppy

mum_sugoku:

Of cos (all) our universities must maintain acceptable standard lah.. and not just some wild chicken university..
                Isn't this an oxymoron?

Universities must maintain standard. Hence they reject those who, in their opinion, are not up to their required standard. This is reflected in their A Level or Poly GPA COP.

In Singapore, only 30%-40% per cohort are deemed to be of acceptable standard to be accepted. Yet, we are asking for more to be admitted and to allow more to earn a degree, despite them being deemed not up to our universities' standard?

:?

mum_sugoku

floppy:
                  mum_sugoku:

Of cos (all) our universities must maintain acceptable standard lah.. and not just some wild chicken university..

Isn't this an oxymoron?

Universities must maintain standard. Hence they reject those who, in their opinion, are not up to their required standard. This is reflected in their A Level or Poly GPA COP.

In Singapore, only 30%-40% per cohort are deemed to be of acceptable standard to be accepted. Yet, we are asking for more to be admitted and to allow more to earn a degree, despite them being deemed not up to our universities' standard?

More likely, it's just not up to our MOE's standard..

Ok The following is not verified: Quite recently, I was told that our GCE 'A' level papers are set at higher standard (in terms of difficulty level) than 'A' level papers taken by students elsewhere. While unsure how true it is, I find it rather believable considering that our students have been coming in top at Pisa test ( http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/singapore-students-top-in-maths-science-and-reading-in-international ).

And don't you too hear of cases where students who failed to gain admission to local uni and had to study abroad, subsequently coming back with honours degrees? And the universities they went to are not 'wild chicken' type, since I doubt they'll be so dumb to pick an overseas uni that is not recognized by our govt.

pirate

floppy:
                    mum_sugoku:

Isn't this an oxymoron?

No leh. 30%-40% is relative compared to others in the same cohort. It is like PSLE T-score and not necessarily a reflection of whether the candidates are up to standard.

• floppyF Offline
                      floppy

pirate:
                      floppy:

[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]

Isn't this an oxymoron?

No leh. 30%-40% is relative compared to others in the same cohort. It is like PSLE T-score and not necessarily a reflection of whether the candidates are up to standard.[/quote]Like that huh.

Then Singaporeans must be very high standard lor. We should aim for 60%-70% graduates like Taiwan.

mum_sugoku

floppy:

Like that huh.

Then Singaporeans must be very high standard lor. We should aim for 60%-70% graduates like Taiwan.

Huh? I thought I read from a link here, Taiwan one is like \"almost 100 per cent university entrance rate\" ? :?

Jokes aside.. I think the issue is not whether we should set a cap at 30, 40, or 60, 70%.. Rather, we should let locals who possess the ability the opportunity to study in our uni, instead of being deprived of it because of an arbitrary cap.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 39 / 40