Presidential Elections 2017

-1 Posts 40 Posters 61.4k Views 1 Watching
    • starlight1968sgS Offline
      starlight1968sg

PE in Sep?

• ZeitZ Offline
        Zeit

starlight1968sg:
        PE in Sep?

Didnt PM say it'll be in Sep already? They want to change the PE cycle cos too close to NDP and NDR. There'll be a period after 31 Aug when you have no President.

• ZeitZ Offline
          Zeit

pirate:
          Zeit:

Which 'first judicial challenge' are you talking about?

Wait for the TCB appeal verdict...

Actually I was chatting with my friend that WKW is a Peranakan. So...is he Malay + Chinese? Can he be counted as of 'Malay' descent?

Judicial challenge as to whether one can be from more than one community.

As for WKW, dunno. TCB never asked. 😆

In the meantime, look who's contesting after all. SURPRISE! 😉

Yeah, surprisingly, no MPs asked that when they were amending the PEA...

Good that Mdm Halimah's confirmed she's running. Only wondering if it'll be a walkover. During Nathan's 2 PEs, all contenders were declared ineligible, so we didn't have to vote at all.

• ZeitZ Offline
            Zeit

By the way, saw some threads and sites on Mdm Halimah’s place of residence in Yishun. She’s going to stay put in Yishun? If elected, how much must taxpayers pay for the Gurkhas and special forces to be guarding her HDB block? Where will her Presidential vehicle pick her up? Unless she wants to make NTUC’s Orchid Country Club her Northern Istana? hahahaha…

With a million dollar pay increment, won’t she move to a landed property or condo? I suppose with her salary as speaker of parliament ($550K pa) she should have an alternative private property or properties elsewhere, right?

annielovesboogeydog

Wah........

https://www.prolificskins.com/forum/current-affairs/pinky-lee-accepts-halimah-s-resignation-from-pap

http://imgur.com/7ZnNc6O.png\">

limlim

Zeit:
                By the way, saw some threads and sites on Mdm Halimah's place of residence in Yishun. She's going to stay put in Yishun? If elected, how much must taxpayers pay for the Gurkhas and special forces to be guarding her HDB block? Where will her Presidential vehicle pick her up? Unless she wants to make NTUC's Orchid Country Club her Northern Istana? hahahaha...

With a million dollar pay increment, won't she move to a landed property or condo? I suppose with her salary as speaker of parliament ($550K pa) she should have an alternative private property or properties elsewhere, right?
                Not stay in istana meh?

mum_sugoku

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/pm-lee-accepts-halimah-yacob-resignation-from-the-pap-9099312?view=DEFAULT

[quote]PM Lee accepts Halimah Yacob's resignation from the PAP

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister and Secretary-General of the People's Action Party Lee Hsien Loong on Monday (Aug 7) accepted the resignation of Halimah Yacob from the PAP.

\"Thank you for your letter resigning as a member of the PAP, and informing me of your decision to step down as Speaker and Member of Parliament (MP) in order to stand as a candidate for the Elected Presidency,\" he said in his letter to her.

\"I accept your resignation ... Rest assured that I will soon appoint replacements to the various responsibilities that you have relinquished, and in particular a Grassroots Advisor to succeed you in Marsiling, so that the residents will continue to be well taken care of.\"[/quote]PM can just suka suka appoint someone to \"succeed\" an outgoing MP??? :shock:

pirate

mum_sugoku:
                    PM can just suka suka appoint someone to \"succeed\" an outgoing MP??? :shock:

You don't know the law on this is \"pliant\" meh? 😉

• ZeitZ Offline
                      Zeit

Zeit:

By the way, saw some threads and sites on Mdm Halimah's place of residence in Yishun. She's going to stay put in Yishun? If elected, how much must taxpayers pay for the Gurkhas and special forces to be guarding her HDB block? Where will her Presidential vehicle pick her up? Unless she wants to make NTUC's Orchid Country Club her Northern Istana? hahahaha...

With a million dollar pay increment, won't she move to a landed property or condo? I suppose with her salary as speaker of parliament ($550K pa) she should have an alternative private property or properties elsewhere, right?

Not stay in istana meh?

Nobody stays inside the Istana. It's where the President's Office and PMO are. PM goes there daily for work. There's a small swimming pool, 9-hole golf course for u know who... Presidents stay at home. Do you want to sleepover at Istana where some VVIPs had lain in state inside before. *spooks*

But maybe our future Yang di Pertuan Negara is not concerned. She can change the status quo and take over Sri Temasek as her official place of residence. After all, we've been reminded they're the true descendants of Temasek, yah?

If tak boleh, she can negotiate with the Malay Heritage Centre to let her take over Kampong Glam Istana, the original Malay Palace of the Sultan Hussein of Johor that's been gazetted.

https://s2.postimg.org/cyjcrlprd/8108983617_3c980bd73e_b.jpg\">

Final option, simply take over one of the resort deluxe suites at NTUC Orchid Country Country lah. Yishun Lake facing somemore...with many Yishun kucintas to keep Yang di-Pertuan Negara company 🙂

dger

Majority of Singaporeans don't care about others or the less well of. As long as the policy doesn't affect them, have a reasonable job with moderate earnings they don't wanna rock the boat and don't give a foot to politics or policies. With this mentality I don't think we can go far...

floppy:
                        janet88:

floppy,
                        sorry to quote your name about the wallpaper.

does a President really have the authority to question the ministers about sensitive issues?

No worries.

The issue really isn't about the President - the President can be any Tom or Harry, Sue or Mary, Male / Female or otherwise.

It's how the whole PE debate was driven and how the legislation came to being, that leaves a lot to be desired. If a supposedly important institution is debated and decided in such a haphazard manner, I find it puzzling that Singaporeans can still have so much faith in their elected representatives to make the right decisions when it counts.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1