Presidential Elections 2017
The PM said: \"There are qualified Malays, there are qualified Singaporeans of all races,\" (He told Singapore reporters in an interview in Laos after the Asean summits. Mr Lee was asked if there were enough qualified Malay candidates for the elected presidency).
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/pm-lee-on-ep-enough-qualified-candidates
Frankly, really? Please tell us how many in the AMP (Association of Malay Professionals) database. There were 2 potential ones named, Abdullah Tarmugi and Bahren Shaari but they were co-opted/appointed to the Constitutional Committee and CPA respectively. Isn't it obvious the PM is trying to clear the way for Mdm Halimah?
Every PM wants to leave a legacy behind for generations of historians to write or review on. Leaders are oft remembered for something novel (or controversial) they introduced during their administration. I believe PM wants his legacy to remembered as having facilitated the installation of our first female speaker of parliament as well as first female elected president, and look who's 'conveniently' available?
Mdm Halimah is a Muslim 'symbol' (to borrow Yaacob's word) by virtue of her appearance. She will help portray Singapore as an inclusive and tolerant nation. -
Why I hope there’s a polling day?
Not many Malay professionals and towkays who actually can hit the crazy $500mil target to begin with.
The other 2 candidates are decent characters, gleaning from their adhoc FB posts and some scattered online media profiles. Family oriented, rags-to-riches self-made millionaires without the help of the ruling party. Socially mobile and lifelong learners (e.g Farid Khan who went to pursue a Marine Engg diploma at SP to upskill and reskill himself in his adulthood)
More choices for the diverse electorate: Modern progressive vs conservative/ultra religious; male vs female; public sector vs private (SME vs MNC); Malay of diff descents (!); younger vs older; bargainable unionists vs non-unionists/PMEs; higher income vs lower income.
If they just shove the electorate with their preferred chosen one by disqualifying the other 2 men, I’m afraid she won’t be respected or well-loved by many, judging from the online criticisms of her on FB, in the next 6 years.
Or perhaps they don’t care, because they just want their way, like they disqualified the candidates for Nathan’s 2 PEs in 1999 and 2005. Sadly, only the unionists and those in the Indian community loved Nathan. I don’t think many Chinese loved Nathan, looking at the number of people who went to pay their last respects, as well as the stark absence of a ‘Remembering Nathan’ thread and chatter on this Kiasuparents forum.
That’s how it is. You 硬硬 install your preferred president, but no one else loves him/her. Only you ownself publish your own narrative to exalt and extol your chosen one! -
The enigmatic Mdm Halimah
She has 5 children, but how old are they? I read 2 were married, but what professions are they in? Are they graduates? Are they in some senior positions in the civil service so it’s not convenient to divulge? I know Salleh’s 2 girls are helping in his business, and son overseas studying I think. Salleh has grandkids too. I know Farid’s daughter is in an NGO and son in ITE studing marine egg like his dad.
She has a university sweetheart from NUS who studied physics and now a businessman. But what sort of business is the future First Gentleman doing? Isn’t it telling that after so many years of working they are still not as socially mobile and progressive as the other 2 candidates? They are still living in an Yishun HDB flat. How do I trust she can manage our past reserves? Is she even financially savvy and sound?
She grew up in Little India, Hindoo Road to be precise. She was never an Easterner like Salleh and Farid.
She went to SCGS, an elite school for well-to-do peranakans at Orchard/Peranakan Place. How on earth did she get into SCGS (Pri) in the 50s-60s? She must have some connections or priority?
Somehow I feel Mdm Halimah’s life story isn’t as ‘cham’ as Farid’s. It was rather smoothsailing for her after she graduated from law school. Haha… -
Who are the other two potential candidates? Probably just coming out to raise their own profiles in the community and also for their own company.
Support Halimah lor, at least she is the first minority female president in Singapore and she has done women proud! -
lee_yl:
Name one achievement that she has done.Who are the other two potential candidates? Probably just coming out to raise their own profiles in the community and also for their own company.
Support Halimah lor, at least she is the first minority female president in Singapore and she has done women proud!
Try not to google. -
lee_yl:
I don't know about the other 2's motives. But I was disgusted when Mdm Halimah was the GOH at the KK Human Milk Bank event which Temasek Cares supports. Salleh Marican was also there (as Temasek Foundation's board of director), but Ch 8 news completely did not feature Salleh but an ex-speaker of parliament. LOL.Who are the other two potential candidates? Probably just coming out to raise their own profiles in the community and also for their own company.
Support Halimah lor, at least she is the first minority female president in Singapore and she has done women proud!
Is the SCGS Alumni vouching for Mdm Halimah? Haven't heard anything from the AA yet. Good to hear from her pre-U Tg Katong Girls' School as well. I'm sure all the SCGS and TKGS parents, alumni, staff and pupils are rooting for Mdm Halimah. She will make their schools proud. -
floppy:
THE first female President Candidate with STRONG backing :scratchhead:
Name one achievement that she has done.lee_yl:
Who are the other two potential candidates? Probably just coming out to raise their own profiles in the community and also for their own company.
Try not to google. -
MyPillow:
THE first female President Candidate with STRONG backing :scratchhead:[/quote]Err... that's not an achievement leh
Name one achievement that she has done.floppy:
[quote=\"lee_yl\"]Who are the other two potential candidates? Probably just coming out to raise their own profiles in the community and also for their own company.
Try not to google.
Is being the first female Speaker of Parliament an achievement enough?
Anyway, I don’t quite care.
KFC said he has done his best for the past 6 years and I also don’t know what exactly he has done for Singapore thus far. -
Zeit:
SCGS yeah! :rahrah:
I don't know about the other 2's motives. But I was disgusted when Mdm Halimah was the GOH at the KK Human Milk Bank event which Temasek Cares supports. Salleh Marican was also there (as Temasek Foundation's board of director), but Ch 8 news completely did not feature Salleh but an ex-speaker of parliament. LOL.lee_yl:
Is the SCGS Alumni vouching for Mdm Halimah? Haven't heard anything from the AA yet. Good to hear from her pre-U Tg Katong Girls' School as well. I'm sure all the SCGS and TKGS parents, alumni, staff and pupils are rooting for Mdm Halimah. She will make their schools proud.
Btw, the newly appointed High Court JC, Valerie Thean was from SCGS too. :rahrah:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.