Presidential Elections 2017
Found this interesting book in the library:
http://catalogue.nlb.gov.sg/cgi-bin/spydus.exe/ENQ/EXPNOS/BIBENQ?ENTRY=mee%20siam%20mai%20hum&ENTRY_NAME=BS
It contains a quote by (CCS's) \"Mdm President\" :
\"The price of chicken may be rising fast, but we can encourage Singaporeans to turn to alternative sources of protein, such as fish. \"
:skeptical: -
janet88:
why should it concern you which Tan i voted for? anyway, i didn't vote for any Tan.
You don't like TT. You don't like TCB.Zeit:
[quote=\"janet88\"]
i don't like TCB.
So 6 years ago, you voted for one of the remaining 2 Tans?
JY Pillay is only acting president.[/quote]You mean you didn't vote in previous PE, or you had cast a void vote?
All the PE candidates in 2011 are 'Tan's!!! -
mum_sugoku:
She definitely don't understand what is called:Found this interesting book in the library:
http://catalogue.nlb.gov.sg/cgi-bin/spydus.exe/ENQ/EXPNOS/BIBENQ?ENTRY=mee%20siam%20mai%20hum&ENTRY_NAME=BS
It contains a quote by (CCS's) \"Mdm President\" :
\"The price of chicken may be rising fast, but we can encourage Singaporeans to turn to alternative sources of protein, such as fish. \"
:skeptical:
民不聊生!
Fish is more ex than chicken la...haiyo! : :slapshead:
With million$ salary, she & family can get protein from lobster & birdnest everyday..
What the fish!!!
Maybe she meant ikan billis?!? -
I know of a very smart scholar who was posted to a neighbourhood school to teach as part of his bond.
He was in complete culture shock when he met his students there as all his life he has been in the elite schools and first time encountering many kids with family problems that he couldn’t help. He was all ready to teach his Shakespeare and beautiful poems but he couldn’t reach out to most of the kids.
He sulked a lot when teaching there and termed it ‘an incredible experience’ that actually such ‘messy kids’ exist in Spore. -
OT
I think smart scholars should reach out to the less fortunate instead of living in their ivory tower -
Zeit:
My intention was to ascertain the crediblity of your DH's source. It would be more credible if you've admitted everything came from his time in the civil service or better still, when he was under MOC or LTA. Was it based on your DH's memory, 'having lived through that period', of reading the ST headlines in 1980 as a prechooler or toddler? Or did he lift them in recent years from alternative media sites, Wiki and EDMW forums and have you parrot here to discredit a former president?
Tsk, tsk, why behave like the EDMW kopitiam folks you so despised by resorting to personal attacks when you lose an argument.lee_yl:
[quote=\"Zeit\"]
OTC in MOT was damn long ago. You have an elderly husband?
The above was circulated by several online citizens 6 years ago. He probably got it from Temasek Review or TOC.
It's only troubling when you have people who merely parrot their working husbands' opinions or repeat what the EDMW kopitiam folks perpetutate.
Sometimes they don't know what they're ranting about or why they're supporting certain individuals or causes.
Nothing wrong with me sharing my or my DH's views here. After all, this is a public forum and I don't see why SAHMs should be so viciously slammed for sharing their second halves' views. Did SAHMs offend you in anyway? Or are you simply envious...
The fact that TT opposed OTC's recommendation of a MRT system was well-documented and a simple search would surface the archived Straits Times articles. Those who lived through that period would likely recall reading Straits Times headlines about this argument between TT and OTC. No need to turn to TOC or Temasek Review, good old Straits Times has all the information.
Thankfully, you've admitted it yourself it's all lifted from third party sites in recent years. Hope you can come up with something that's from your own personal experience. Try not to be like some EDMW folks who love to parrot opinions (often construed out of context) that aren't even part of their own personal encounter with the victim concerned.
Note: Be a responsible civil servant's SAHM and observe the Rules of Prudence and OSA, Mdm Lee Y. L.[/quote]Greenbelt,
Sigh, for want of better arguments, now you need to resort to veiled threats of OSA? Besides the choice verb of parrot, have you run out of suitable verbs to use that you need to repeat the word for two days? You seemed to like to refer to EDMW, you must have been a seasoned forummer there.
Unless you were in the civil service back in the 1980s, or you have privileged information, your version of that period of history will not be anymore authoritative than others'. So please get off your moral high horse and stop trying to impose your version of the truth on everyone.
My simple intention of bringing up these 2 matters was to show that TT is not infallible, that he's human, warts and all. Afterall, nobody is perfect. I didn't expect the level of intolerance to be so low that only praises could be sung and any negative perspectives would garner such strong responses.
As a gentle reminder to greenhorns here, personal attacks are not acceptable behavior in KSP, unlike other forums. -
Dun understand what is the point of saying that TT is not infallible. Even GKS and LKY were fallible.
Also dun think that it is President's job to manage the reserves. President's job is to say yea or nay if gov wants to spend from reserve. President cannot tell GIC or Temasek to invest in or not to invest in this or that. -
pirate:
Likewise, there's no need to sing TT's praises to the sky. Always good to have multiple perspectives.Dun understand what is the point of saying that TT is not infallible. Even GKS and LKY were fallible.
Also dun think that it is President's job to manage the reserves. President's job is to say yea or nay if gov wants to spend from reserve. President cannot tell GIC or Temasek to invest in or not to invest in this or that.
President's role is quite limited. In theory, yes, President can say no if our govt wants to spend from reserves but in reality, don't think any president had said no to such requests before.
President definitely cannot tell GIC or Temasek what to invest but TT was still in GIC when the UBS episode happened. -
Who is singing TT's praises to high heaven in this forum? :?
pirate:
Who is singing TT's praises to high heaven in this forum? :?
Gosh, does he have any praise to sing about? :faint: so happy don't have to see him waving at next year's NDP.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.