[PSLE MT] PSLE less weightage in Chinese / Mother Tongue
Hi ksi,
This elite school you suggested, I think must contain the word \"Raffles\" in the school name, otherwise those minority will feel its not branded enough, not considered 'top school'. :siam: -
cascada:
Ok lor..How about Raffles Academy??Hi ksi,
This elite school you suggested, I think must contain the word \"Raffles\" in the school name, otherwise those minority will feel its not branded enough, not considered 'top school'. :siam:
....if they will....
That's not a bad solution, whatever the name of this school is - IHCSS or Raffles xxx
:siam: -
by the way, Raffles Education is a listed company on the Singapore Stock Exchange … . . . branded and listed some more …
dimsum:
Geez, for the sake of this minority 10%, MOE wants to tweak the system to their advantage, so that they can enter top sec schools. Please lah, it's not the end of the world if they can't enter into these schools. And Mr Ng, by saying that, is putting down the neighbourhood sec. schools.
Did the statistics provided by MOE says, for these 10%, how good is their EMS ? i.e., if I take a sample of these 10% (A), and a sample of the other 90% (B), is English.A better then English.B ? Is Maths.A better than Maths.B ? Is Science.A better then Science.B ?
If the statistics consistently show that EMS.A is better than EMS.B, but only C.A is worse than C.B, then it can justify opening a school to cater to their needs. Which I would really support.
On the other hand, if EMS.A is NOT better as EMS.B, then factoring C in, overall CEMS.A is therefore worse than CEMS.B, then there is no justification to have a special treatment for them.
I want to clarify that I would support setting up a special school not because that special school is one that DOES NOT teach anymore MT/CL; instead this special school will teach them MT/CL in a different way.BlackAngel:
Instead of IMH, the approach should be this: they must have consistently show that they have real problem in learning the MT or CL since P1.DSA Entry Condition: They must prove that they really hate the subject to the core and want to migrate overseas because of this subject. A medical visit to IMH is preferred.
Every CL teacher from P1 to P5 has given the opinion that this child is bright in every other area except, there is a problem with learning MT or CL.
I kind of subscribe to the idea that every child is different - and would face difficulty in different subject. They should not give up themsleves (i.e., by asking for lowering the weightage and just to get by the system), and we should not give up on them (by throwing them into a special school and forget about the problem at all). This is lose-lose.
Instead, for these special group of students who have problem learning MT/CL, we need to know how to specially help them. Is it their own determination ? Or maybe is psychological, or maybe their parents are not able to provide a conducive learning environment for them in MT/CL ?
Then, maybe that special school will have to open up auxiliary classes for the parents too !
Do you agree that we must have positive action to treat the problem ? -
A few pages ago I mentioned about this solution and suggested NUS high school. One parent wrote that these super kiasu minority 10% only wants schools with the name "Raffles" in it.
If they want Raffles, then give them Raffles loh !
When I was in RGS many years ago, very few students had the passion for Chinese anyway, though most girls still got A1 or A2 because they were smart enough. I think that the situation should be the same today.
But then those "kiasu" principals of RI / RGS will reject taking in students good in English only, because they know very well that they are not taking in the best students. The principals are not stupid. -
My colleague told me that her son is very good in Maths, but not good in English. He participated in maths olympiad, and was admitted to HCI through DSA even though he did not do well in English. So for the \"super kids\" who are good in only maths, they will get into the top schools through DSA. Those who complain are the not so super ones

tamarind:
My colleague told me that her son is very good in Maths, but not good in English. He participated in maths olympiad, and was admitted to HCI through DSA even though he did not do well in English. So for the \"super kids\" who are good in only maths, they will get into the top schools through DSA. Those who complain are the not so super ones

yaloh, in the earlier discussions, one forumer also said: Those bright sparks (who only good in EMS but not in MT) are not bright enough, there are far more brighter sparks (excel in four) who deserve Top sec....
maybe they are bright only in their parents eye bah.... -
Good idea, then 天下太平....
Ok lor..How about Raffles Academy??cascada:
Hi ksi,
This elite school you suggested, I think must contain the word \"Raffles\" in the school name, otherwise those minority will feel its not branded enough, not considered 'top school'. :siam:
....if they will....
bottom line: Never cut MT -
1. We acknowledge that there are such special kids who really excel skewedlyin EMS but just fall short badly in MT albeit minority
2. Not all parents are savvy in DSA so they may not gain entry if pit against the majority with all rounding performance
3. Hence the special school will demonstrate concerted effort to address this unique group. To warrant such special attention, they have to be cream of the crop and demonstrate learning disability for their MT.
4. MT is recommended to exist even in such a school but emphasis should be different. Non exam oriented but allow them to appreciate the language.
So is this special enough?
Alternatively if it is not cost effective to set as a school, then offer this as a special track in the top schools, only issue is if they don’t mind being viewed with learning disability in their MT because this is a prerequite to opt for this special track.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.