[PSLE MT] PSLE less weightage in Chinese / Mother Tongue
alright, should not set up IHCSS. Must let the kids love the language and appreciate the culture. Sorry, folks.

BlackAngel:
alright, should not set up IHCSS. Must let the kids love the language and appreciate the culture. Sorry, folks.

tamarind:
Ya, in recent days, there have been more people proposing this L1R2. So, I won't be surprised if it really happens as MOE feels that this is the only way to please both camps.Anyone read today's newspapers ? On page 2 :
A new PSLE formula: EM+1
In the article, it was written that only one in ten students do very well in English, Maths, Science, but struggle in Chinese.
How can MOE change policies just to suit the minority ?
The article also proposed that schools should take the best of Chinese and Science, only English and Maths are compulsory.
Looks like MOE had provided the one in ten statistics to ST. Geez, for the sake of this minority 10%, MOE wants to tweak the system to their advantage, so that they can enter top sec schools. Please lah, it's not the end of the world if they can't enter into these schools. And Mr Ng, by saying that, is putting down the neighbourhood sec. schools.
Those who do poorly in English tend to come from lowest income households. On the other hand, those who do badly in Chinese MT tends to come from the other end of the socio-economic spectrum. It's very dangerous and worrying that the rules are to be changed to benefit the elitist minority group.
Ground rules must be fair to all so that there is equity of opportunity and true meritocracy esp. in the field of education.
I think someone had suggested before in another thread. Since they find Chinese so difficult to learn, then let them take Malay/Tamil as the MT. -
I remember writing about doing away with T-score, because it was getting unnerving to parents but using the 'O' levels method would deem appropriate to do so to determine the secondary school entry. However, I am now surprised to hear that it is suggested to solve this 10% minority's problem.
Now for the 10% minority with excellence in other subjects except MT, it would be apt to allow them to enter a special school(or convert one of the elite schools) which offers low emphasis on MT but continue to allow them to learn at the excellent level of the other subjects. It SHOULD NOT be easy to enter this school as those who make it should really be excellent in their EMS, another kind of elite brand, without language being a hindrance or barrier. So if the intent is to salvage this group of talent by returning their esteem to them to excel, this approach would be euphoria for all. I do value talents as well, but by sacrificing the majority's interest to do that would be most unwise in my humble opinion. -
Hi ksi,
This elite school you suggested, I think must contain the word \"Raffles\" in the school name, otherwise those minority will feel its not branded enough, not considered 'top school'. :siam: -
cascada:
Ok lor..How about Raffles Academy??Hi ksi,
This elite school you suggested, I think must contain the word \"Raffles\" in the school name, otherwise those minority will feel its not branded enough, not considered 'top school'. :siam:
....if they will....
That's not a bad solution, whatever the name of this school is - IHCSS or Raffles xxx
:siam: -
by the way, Raffles Education is a listed company on the Singapore Stock Exchange β¦ . . . branded and listed some more β¦
dimsum:
Geez, for the sake of this minority 10%, MOE wants to tweak the system to their advantage, so that they can enter top sec schools. Please lah, it's not the end of the world if they can't enter into these schools. And Mr Ng, by saying that, is putting down the neighbourhood sec. schools.
Did the statistics provided by MOE says, for these 10%, how good is their EMS ? i.e., if I take a sample of these 10% (A), and a sample of the other 90% (B), is English.A better then English.B ? Is Maths.A better than Maths.B ? Is Science.A better then Science.B ?
If the statistics consistently show that EMS.A is better than EMS.B, but only C.A is worse than C.B, then it can justify opening a school to cater to their needs. Which I would really support.
On the other hand, if EMS.A is NOT better as EMS.B, then factoring C in, overall CEMS.A is therefore worse than CEMS.B, then there is no justification to have a special treatment for them.
I want to clarify that I would support setting up a special school not because that special school is one that DOES NOT teach anymore MT/CL; instead this special school will teach them MT/CL in a different way.BlackAngel:
Instead of IMH, the approach should be this: they must have consistently show that they have real problem in learning the MT or CL since P1.DSA Entry Condition: They must prove that they really hate the subject to the core and want to migrate overseas because of this subject. A medical visit to IMH is preferred.
Every CL teacher from P1 to P5 has given the opinion that this child is bright in every other area except, there is a problem with learning MT or CL.
I kind of subscribe to the idea that every child is different - and would face difficulty in different subject. They should not give up themsleves (i.e., by asking for lowering the weightage and just to get by the system), and we should not give up on them (by throwing them into a special school and forget about the problem at all). This is lose-lose.
Instead, for these special group of students who have problem learning MT/CL, we need to know how to specially help them. Is it their own determination ? Or maybe is psychological, or maybe their parents are not able to provide a conducive learning environment for them in MT/CL ?
Then, maybe that special school will have to open up auxiliary classes for the parents too !
Do you agree that we must have positive action to treat the problem ? -
A few pages ago I mentioned about this solution and suggested NUS high school. One parent wrote that these super kiasu minority 10% only wants schools with the name "Raffles" in it.
If they want Raffles, then give them Raffles loh !
When I was in RGS many years ago, very few students had the passion for Chinese anyway, though most girls still got A1 or A2 because they were smart enough. I think that the situation should be the same today.
But then those "kiasu" principals of RI / RGS will reject taking in students good in English only, because they know very well that they are not taking in the best students. The principals are not stupid.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.