Presidential Elections 2017

-1 Posts 40 Posters 61.4k Views 1 Watching

ammonite:
      I wonder when someone will actually publish a list of properties her family own. I mean, we don't really expect a working woman of that pay scale in a double income family with adult children to only have a hdb flat, even if said individual only keeps one in her name, right?

for sure, she can't be owning just a jumbo HDB flat right?
      it's simply ridiculous at the way she wayang. that ugly white awning spoiled the aesthetic of the block of flats. what's so cool about having a president staying in hdb? it is so fake.

ammonite

A great four letter f word, my friend. šŸ˜‰

pirate

ammonite:
          I wonder when someone will actually publish a list of properties her family own. I mean, we don't really expect a working woman of that pay scale in a double income family with adult children to only have a hdb flat, even if said individual only keeps one in her name, right?

Why not? Not everyone is good at finances, you know. Maybe theirs is an earn and spend type of family? Maybe they kept all their savings in fixed deposits. Maybe they put them all into the stock market? Maybe they invest all their savings overseas? Or maybe they gave it all away to charity? 🤷

ammonite

Hey man, anything is possible right? šŸ˜‰

But i will be very worried if a businessman is not good with finances. But maybe that is what drives a person to work hard eh? šŸ¦†

ammonite

Pirate, I was finally sitting down and eating my lunch when I realised our - I mean OUR - big mistake!! I cannot believe what we were cyber pondering upon!! Tak boleh, friend!! She helps to safeguard our national piggy bank leh!! And she has been judged and certified more able in this aspect than people who manage over $200 million etc. So how can we minions doubt that she is not good with finance? No wonder I have been judged too stupid to vote.

This will teach me not to post when I am low on sugar. :spank:

limlim

ammonite:

When the majority voted in GE2015, they voted for stability. They did not vote to be taken for fools. The current wave of discontentment shows that Singaporeans are not fools. Everyone through the entire social ladder know that they had been taken for a ride.
                They are not taken for a ride.

They voted for the upgrading and whatnot.. and they more or less got it. Unfortunately, democracy died in the process but who cares about democracy.. majority only cared about their backyard, and the ruling party knows it better than anyone else..

limlim

janet88:

the highest office in singapore chose to reside in her HDB...it just doesn't make sense because a carpark has limited lots and if president requires an entourage of security officers, it is of extreme inconvenience to residents everyday for 6 years. staying in an hdb flat is not disgraceful but the logic of president doing so doesn't make sense at all.
                  since she decided to run for presidency, she should prepare to make some sacrifices.
                  just day 2 of her new position, a WHITE awning has been installed. the first thing i thought of was a funeral. what if there is a funeral taking place, the security officers will be kept busy with the people visiting the wake? if the president needs to leave the house in the morning, it will be very inconvenient on the day of the funeral.
                  But isn't HDB a pride of Singapore? :evil:

Anyway, they can easily outright book the HDB void for 6 years straight. So no issues on anyone using that space for whatever purposes (read: Not available to anyone else). And all neighboring void deck as well. So no worries.. your concerns are unfounded.

janet88:
                    ammonite:

Everything that we can see, she can also see. Everything we can count, she can also count. It takes a certain personality to stay in politics that long.

So the real reason for staying put ... not wanting to make known the private properties her family hold? Maintain image? PR exercise? :scratchhead:
                    I doubt the wayang will last.

she wants to stay in her HDB because she is afraid of being bitten by people who will ask why isn't she living there...but her action is selfish because it is very inconvenient for the residents. i am sure the cabinet can easily find her a landed house so as not to disturb the peace. don't wayang at everyone's expense.

https://publichouse.sg/please-move-into-the-istana-mdm-halimah-dont-do-a-melania-trump/

limlim

mum_sugoku:

Maid is not the same old maid, restaurant owner is not the same old owner, lawyer is not the same old lawyer; the current ones are from an entirely different generation.

It's the older generation who earned the credit; the current generation are merely here to reap the benefit of (or worse, undoing) their predecessors' hard work.
                      One thing I have been wondering..

How many of the current leaders are Geppers, how many of them have gone thru tons of tuition and enrichment (and GEP prep classes) to achieve what they achieved today?

Have one ever wondered, how many scholars are engineered, and not gifted.

Look at the decision and choices that leaders made.. are they really talents or can be classified as talents? Can they really solve difficult problems or be relied upon to solve problems?

How many got to where they are w/o tuition or enrichment (or GEP prep), but because they are naturally gifted?

In other words, how many \"talents\" are actually born, and not engineered?

Can engineered talents be trusted to lead in the next generation and make the right decision?

pirate

ammonite:
                        Pirate, I was finally sitting down and eating my lunch when I realised our - I mean OUR - big mistake!! I cannot believe what we were cyber pondering upon!! Tak boleh, friend!! She helps to safeguard our national piggy bank leh!! And she has been judged and certified more able in this aspect than people who manage over $200 million etc. So how can we minions doubt that she is not good with finance? No wonder I have been judged too stupid to vote.

This will teach me not to post when I am low on sugar. :spank:
                        You were a tad slow there. :imanangel:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog