Craze for Children's Books!
BigDevil:
I too was like that, when I was youngMy problem is stopping DD from reading...at least not before she completes her homework!
I guess I don't have an issue with her reading, but it's how she manages her time and setting priorities.
wait till you discover the wonderful world of book subscriptions in the UK. my friend got the WHOLE SET of really cute little beatrix potter books in little blue covered titles for quite cheap.haha, another book lover here.
always buying and buying and keeping. used to go early to be the first few in lines for book sales (husband said i was really crazy).
the few times we moved house, the movers :faint: when they saw my collection.
i still have my very 1st fairy tales book (a birthday gift from my brother's then girlfriend now wife) and \"my naughty little sister\" collection.
i was shocked when i saw the price of books in charity shops here in london. i got the whole set of harry potter books for less then 10 pounds and all are in very good conditions. buying books especially usborne and dk books.
:stupid: for not grabbing the \"tales of peter rabbit\" @ 1 pound which is selling @ about 15 pounds or more in the bookshop. it was brand new :stupid:
wish we have such charity shops in singapore.
by the way, do intend to keep some books for my grandchildren. husband and friends :roll:
toddles:
wait till you discover the wonderful world of book subscriptions in the UK. my friend got the WHOLE SET of really cute little beatrix potter books in little blue covered titles for quite cheap.

Oh toddles... i am so excited, can we get those subscriptions tat u mentioned in S'pore? -
kids_r_innocent:
toddles:
wait till you discover the wonderful world of book subscriptions in the UK. my friend got the WHOLE SET of really cute little beatrix potter books in little blue covered titles for quite cheap.

Oh toddles... i am so excited, can we get those subscriptions tat u mentioned in S'pore?
:lol: :lol: :lol:
already discovered it long time ago, not forgetting the dvds, cds etc..... :lol:
hi kids r innocent,
dont think it is worth getting these subscriptions in spore because the postage would definitely cost a bomb.
delivery is usually free in uk so makes it worth shopping on internet. -
Hi LOLMum,:lol: :lol: :lol:
already discovered it long time ago, not forgetting the dvds, cds etc..... :lol:
hi kids r innocent,
dont think it is worth getting these subscriptions in spore because the postage would definitely cost a bomb.
delivery is usually free in uk so makes it worth shopping on internet.
Which website r u recommending for shopping on the internet?
hi kids r innocent,
i always buy from amazon and hmv,free delivery.
i always buy used books because they are cheaper. so far, the various sellers have delivered the books promptly and as promised books are always in good condition.
hmv new dvds are cheaper as well. -
Hihi kids r innocent,
i always buy from amazon and hmv,free delivery.
i always buy used books because they are cheaper. so far, the various sellers have delivered the books promptly and as promised books are always in good condition.
hmv new dvds are cheaper as well.
I seldom purchase things online...so far...only from dang.dang...which HMV website are you referring? Normally, how much cheaper?? I thinking to purchase Eric Carle's books..Most of them are quite expensive in singapore...
Thanks -
hi chrismei,
i am in lnodon, so the amazon and hmv are co.uk.
i dont use any others because these 2 have tons of things which i like.
some of us were talking about buying in uk in the earlier posts.

kids_r_innocent:
I buy books that I HOPE my dd would read. Usually classics or award winning titles. My dd has yet to digest all. She said too chim or too boring. Well, at least the books are easily accessible to her in our home library, so hopefully she gets around to read them eventually
I am wondering if ALL the storybooks purchased will be \"read\" to good use. OR its the kiasu parents who wans to juz buy and keep (becoz everyone else is buying). Hee... think i have both reasons to support my purchase. What abt you?
sleepy:
That's me too. It's the HOPE factor *grin*. My son hates to go to the library, so I end up buying books to display at home until it catches his eye one day. So far not bad lah. My hit rate for spotting what he'll read has been about 80% (still got hope for remaining 20% wor). What's tough is that he won't let me sell a lot of his comfort books, while I won't sell what he hasn't read. :roll:
I buy books that I HOPE my dd would read. Usually classics or award winning titles. My dd has yet to digest all. She said too chim or too boring. Well, at least the books are easily accessible to her in our home library, so hopefully she gets around to read them eventuallykids_r_innocent:
I am wondering if ALL the storybooks purchased will be \"read\" to good use. OR its the kiasu parents who wans to juz buy and keep (becoz everyone else is buying). Hee... think i have both reasons to support my purchase. What abt you?

Maybe one day ... :rubhands:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.