Parents must be 醒目 enough to know lah.FantasyLandDreams:
Sharing my friend's case. My friend is alumni both to SCGS and RGPS ( I think it was because she was selected for GEP). In the end she puts her dd in SCGS after assessing dd's learning ability. My friend stayed in Bishan and hence son goes to CHS. Subsequently she moved to bukit timah to be nearer to her mum's place and SCGS as over the years, she realized her dd needs more support than son. When she puts her dd to SCGS rather than RGPS, a lot of us could not understand her decision. But now all of us applauded her wise foresight to choose a school with affiliation. Our conclusion is, it is really wiser to choose a 'suitable' school based on the learning ability of the child, rather than where you stay or prestige or other factors, these are just 'noise' in the end; the well - being of the child is more important indeed.
Excellent real life example!!
Anyway, I doubt that the overall results of rgps is significantly better than the other 2 girls' school with affiliation along BT if one is to omit the Gepers from the statistics.
Years back, one relative managed to get her daughter into NYPS while we decided to register DD1 for SCGS. Her daughter tscore turn out to be a decent 24X, but can’t go to NYGH despite the affiliation. Both parent & child couldn’t take it and ended up going to international school.
Years back, my friend asked me NYPS or MGS for her DD1 (my friend was alumni to both schools). I told her MGS because of the affiliation and considering that her daughter was the more playful type. Fast forward, her DD1 scored just enough to go back MGS O-level based on affiliation. -
darkicicle:
Daughter - Phase 2A2 for the prestigious girls' school.Dear All, This is my first post in Kiasuparents. And I know I am super kiasu because my eldest girl is only 3 years old now. And I have another 1 year old boy. I am in a dilemma now. I am currently working in a prestige girl school in Bukit Timah Area and would be able to get my girl in as Phase 2A2. And my husband is an alumni of CHS. I am an old girl from HIPS. We are now staying at Punggol.
What would your decision for the children's primary school registration?
You will probably not be able to resign / post elsewhere for the next 3 years (or 9 years, taking into consideration the logistics involved).
Son - Phase 2A1 for CHS.
As you are living > 2km from CHS, you will have to pay up / sign up for the alumni association to reduce the risk. If, in the unfortunate event that you have to ballot and you are balloted out, your back up would be one of the schools in Punggol.
The above does not take into account any logistic constraint that you may have to face. -
Actually, minus away the 2 gep classes in RGPS :
If just compare mainstream alone (apple to apple), there is very little difference, between Rgps and MGS primary psle results.
So, if u have a chance to go MGS, affliated to Secondary, might as well go there -
MyPillow:
agree .
Send my girl to the girl school and my boy to CHS. Move to Bukit Timah or Bishan. Punggol is near to neither school.Cloud Cloud:
[quote=\"darkicicle\"]Dear All, This is my first post in Kiasuparents. And I know I am super kiasu because my eldest girl is only 3 years old now. And I have another 1 year old boy. I am in a dilemma now. I am currently working in a prestige girl school in Bukit Timah Area and would be able to get my girl in as Phase 2A2. And my husband is an alumni of CHS. I am an old girl from HIPS. We are now staying at Punggol.
What would your decision for the children's primary school registration?
CHS got affiliation - good
Girl sch in Bt Timah - any Affiliation ?
HIPS affiliated sec sch is v so so only compared to above
Maybe move to a place that can hop onto circle line and downtown line transfer easily ,beside bishan , Lor chuan, Serangoon[/quote]Should move to Bishan, within walking distance lagi worth it. Assuming that the boy will continue with CHS for a good 10 years. The DD after PSLE need to relocate to another (sec) school. -
lee_yl:
MGS secondary accepts only express stream...even 1 point short, the poor girl doesn't get a chance to go back. along the way, if the girl doesn't pass all the subjects to get promoted to the next level, the school will still ask her to leave.
Years back, my friend asked me NYPS or MGS for her DD1 (my friend was alumni to both schools). I told her MGS because of the affiliation and considering that her daughter was the more playful type. Fast forward, her DD1 scored just enough to go back MGS O-level based on affiliation. -
janet88:
I am surprised to hear that.
MGS secondary accepts only express stream...even 1 point short, the poor girl doesn't get a chance to go back. along the way, if the girl doesn't pass all the subjects to get promoted to the next level, the school will still ask her to leave.lee_yl:
Years back, my friend asked me NYPS or MGS for her DD1 (my friend was alumni to both schools). I told her MGS because of the affiliation and considering that her daughter was the more playful type. Fast forward, her DD1 scored just enough to go back MGS O-level based on affiliation.
MGS gives me the impression that that it is a holistic school that seeks to develop its students, will not ask it’s girls to leave. -
lee_yl:
sad to say it's not. even if the girls make it back to secondary school by a slim chance. as long as they don't meet the minimum to get promoted every year, the poor girl will still be asked to leave. daughter's tutor is a former MGS girl and she is still in close contact with her MGS kakis.
MGS gives me the impression that that it is a holistic school that seeks to develop its students, will not ask it’s girls to leave. -
janet88:
Oh dear, I will let my friend know. Thanks.
sad to say it's not. even if the girls make it back to secondary school by a slim chance. as long as they don't meet the minimum to get promoted every year, the poor girl will still be asked to leave. daughter's tutor is a former MGS girl and she is still in close contact with her MGS kakis.lee_yl:
lee_yl:
you are welcome. i am shocked to hear of this too.
Oh dear, I will let my friend know. Thanks. -
Hi all, new to these forums.
I’m hoping you guys can humour me on this - Given either 1 of the following 2 scenarios:
Scenario A:
You are a Maris Stella alumni but you live within 1km of Catholic High.
Scenario B:
You are a Catholic High alumni but you live within 1km of Maris Stella.
If you have a son, which school will you try to get your son into? Granted, the 2 schools aren’t really all that far apart, Bartley (nearest MRT to Maris Stella) and Bishan (nearest MRT to Catholic High) are just 3 stations away from each other, but for at least lower primary we’d definitely have to arrange for a schoolbus if we take the further option.
Which option would you take in each of these scenarios?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.