2018 PSLE Discussions & Strategies (Born in 2006)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    2.7k Posts 1 Posters 848.5k Views 1 Watching
    • Q Offline
      Qing8huat

janet88:
      Qing8huat:

Thank you for your advices Janet88. Appreciate that. Agree that there's nothing much we can do for the older ones except just be there for them.

New P6 topics for science and maths?

yes, there are new topics to be taught for MT, Math & Science in P6...so if possible, start teaching this year end and try to complete all by end May...kids may be required to attend supplementary lessons in june, so if you are planning revision schedule, you may have to factor that in.

Noted!!!! Thanks!

• melodyrain2M Offline
        melodyrain2

Hi hi, may I know generally which subjects and how to revise during this holidays? Previously, we didn't revise anything at all during year-end holidays except for one subject during P4 which DC was below average. First time psle mom here :oops:

Specifically for Chinese, how to improve on作文?

Please share your experience. :thankyou:

melodyrain2:
          Hi hi, may I know generally which subjects and how to revise during this holidays? Previously, we didn't revise anything at all during year-end holidays except for one subject during P4 which DC was below average. First time psle mom here :oops:

revise on lower block science starting from diversity...many students tend to forget what has been taught in p3. if possible, complete entire lower block science and also what was taught in p5. this is for science.
          also work on math topics and reinforce...if child is strong in math, start on p6 topics so that you won't be flustered with CA1 when school reopens...looks like CNY next year will be kind of burnt.

the timeline for p6 is to complete the entire syllabus by end may so that june can be spent revising everything which has been taught. schools should be throwing out past year exam papers in aug.

• EstéemaE Offline
            Estéema

lee_yl:
            I just finished PSLE prep with DD1, have yet to collect her results and fully recovered from PSLE stress, now already started DD2’s PSLE prep for next year.

I really hate PSLE as it really turns my hair white. I hope this time round it will be less stressful as I am now an experienced PSLE parent 😂

Ya! Must take care of yourself. Didn't realized you've DD2.

I've issues of thinning & white hair. Can't re-instate dropping ones :gloomy: but I use henna mixed with coffee powder to achieve a younger looking lock. :imcool:

Indeed, you're now an experienced veteran KSP mum, so graduating fr KSP label liao right? Congrats! Tell your DD2, she just hv to follow strictly all your plan & she's as good as 姐姐. :snuggles:

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

melodyrain2:

Specifically for Chinese, how to improve on作文?

Does your DC hv tuition for Chinese?

I used P6 汪老师 to revise all Oral & 作文 topics. Then I combine similar topics to guide DC to learn to apply flexibly all the 成语, 词语, 好句好词 given in the 汪 worksheets. They've so many topics for not Oral & 作文 which I told my kids can apply interchangeably. I find just asking kid to memorize, they don't learn to be flexible to apply.

Save my headache to search for topics & materials to revise.

• sky minecrafterS Offline
                sky minecrafter

• Q Offline
                  Qing8huat

Sorry but what is 汪老师? A tuition Centre? My DS no tuition for all subjects, trying to work out a holiday schedule for him to work on…hehe. .

• melodyrain2M Offline
                    melodyrain2

revise on lower block science starting from diversity...many students tend to forget what has been taught in p3. if possible, complete entire lower block science and also what was taught in p5. this is for science.

also work on math topics and reinforce...if child is strong in math, start on p6 topics so that you won't be flustered with CA1 when school reopens...looks like CNY next year will be kind of burnt.

the timeline for p6 is to complete the entire syllabus by end may so that june can be spent revising everything which has been taught. schools should be throwing out past year exam papers in aug.[/quote]

Thanks Janet for the very sound advice.

Science looks very heavy, having to revise 3 years of work from P3 - 5. I suppose revision means to read the science notes and do assessment books, rite? If I am to start him on P6 math, I will have to teach him the concepts first? I don't know if I can manage 😓 So far, we have never done any work that is ahead of school's teaching other than a cursory flip of the new textbooks (like reading a magazine/book) :nailbite:

The timeline to complete the syllabus by May, is the school will complete by May or I have to help him complete by May so that we can start June revision?

The holidays just started and I am already feeling like holiday not enough after reading the posts! I cannot believe psle has arrived! 😢

• melodyrain2M Offline
                      melodyrain2

Does your DC hv tuition for Chinese?

I used P6 汪老师 to revise all Oral & 作文 topics. Then I combine similar topics to guide DC to learn to apply flexibly all the 成语, 词语, 好句好词 given in the 汪 worksheets. They’ve so many topics for not Oral & 作文 which I told my kids can apply interchangeably. I find just asking kid to memorize, they don’t learn to be flexible to apply.

Save my headache to search for topics & materials to revise.[/quote]

Hi Esteema, yes my kid has a home tutor for Chinese. But once a week, I feel it is insufficient to cover all the components for both CL and HCL. I cannot add on more lessons due to time constraints and budget. So I am hoping to ‘help out’ a bit in his weakest link, 作文。Something that is effective and both of us can manage. And yes, he doesn’t exactly like to memorize lor.

I often hear memorize 好句好词, is it to memorize the full sentence or just the important part?

eg. 老师讲的笑话真好笑,让我们都笑得直不起腰。
                      Student memorizes the full sentence or just 笑得直不起腰?

His tutor has been working with him to improve his Chinese. He has made improvement but not enough lor, especially 作文 which I believe a lot need to be done and not easy to pull up.

• melodyrain2M Offline
                        melodyrain2

sky minecrafter:
                        @melodyrain2.My dear, yours holidays can start doing P6 CA & SA1 papers lah. 😉 作文 most of dc batch ended up memorising tons of model compos. 🤷 School will be making them memorise loads of 开头结尾 too as part of 听写。Eat more walnuts (brain food?) during holidays? 😄

My dear, how to start doing P6 CA and SA1? :scared: :shock: For science, math & Chinese the topics not taught by school yet. I think by the time I figure out and `teach' him, school opens liao :oops:

\"作文 most of dc batch ended up memorising tons of model compos.\"
                        :yikes: :yikes: :yikes:

His P5 听写 also have nice sentences but somehow cannot remember. After 听写, most of it returned to teacher. 白白辜负了老师的一片苦心。

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 275