* Nanyang JC (NYJC)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    1.7k Posts 177 Posters 231.6k Views 2 Watching
      Liangbrolovesoccer

conqueror:
      candyfan:

[quote=\"HYTam86\"]Just heard from my niece that her cohort is not interested in graduation prom night this year. She said dat the CT reps were told only around 40 to 50 people going, and the classes were planning for chalets only after everyone finished their A levels. Tho one thing she say the thing is too expensive (she mentioned their prom is $90 when other JCs like HCJC had theirs at $60 at Gardens by the Bay)

Is it legit? Its the first time I am hearing something like this in this generation, so hardworking and reckoning till laidat... 😮

Lack of cohesiveness among pupils of NYJCians, money or other issues? I thought a parent here mentioned the JC is like a big family? Over at RI, no such problem when their prom cost $90 too. Furthermore, wedding dinners at hotels cost over $1500 per table these days. $90 is reasonable. Even my nephew's O lvl grad night in a hotel cost $75/pax. Heard the response was very good. Those under FA were given free tickets. Surely NYJC can do better than this?

Only 40 or 50 out of almost 700 pupils going to prom night only? Serious?? Low morale possibly. There were so many nyjcians in my kid's heartland tuition centre and per 2h-session is already $90.[/quote]NYJCians are known to be kiasu ppl lah don't be too shocked (just dat they wasnt having the collective confidence like those guys in top schs like RIJC, pretty common even in HCJC), every time study damn hard and still can modestly hide away and say they cmi. šŸ˜‚ May not necessarily be low morale since prom nite is optional, and like the girl said if they find chalet is a better way to bond den be it no big deal wat (apart from the usual eat stuffs take pic dancing do some activities like what a typical prom does). Again IMO (not becoz I am biased or wat), NYJC spirit relatively strong actually, just like their counterparts. (try go for the Volleyball finals between them and HCJC (aka my alma mater) and see for urself, they are very supportive of one another, even to their opponent's camp)

• IntegerI Offline
        Integer

Liangbrolovesoccer:
        conqueror:

[quote=\"Liangbrolovesoccer\"]
        I am not really sure about how dey taught @ NYJC but judging from the difficulty standard of NYJC papers for the sci subjs their standards shd b on par with other top JCs IMO. I took Phy Chem Math for H2 science subjs so not too sure abt Bio.

Did NY papers as student when I was in HCJC. Thr phy paper standards are somewhat similar to what the few top tier JCs have out thr (don't feel like their standards were anywhere lower than us either). For maths their paper is considered to be challenging for an average student actually (if doing under time constraints) but is of quality as the qns are very specific and drills solidly on concepts. (NY math papers are usually put aside in our revision packages as hard papers back then, heard the papers are tougher recently)

NYJC Chem Papers are well known to be killer papers (that is my only comment tbh)... is even more cancer than my own college's papers IMO. (dat somewhat explains for their distinction rate) Last time we got this joke in chem: 5 papers from the top JCs: HC=can do, VJ=can do, NJ=can do, RJ=smart ass can do, AJ-cannot do, NY-forget it u never can do :rotflmao:

If NY can secure almost on-par results with VJ and even surpassing NJ for A'lvls I don't see how NY's teaching standards can be low. :skeptical:

That must be in the past, bro. My daughter is doing her A levels at the moment. She mentioned that other than RI(JC) and HCI(JC) prelim papers which are killer-papers, the rest of them, including Chemistry for NYJC, are manageable and not distinguishable from other JCS papers, i.e., a combination of both easy and difficult questions.
        Can you please explain how NY has 'secure almost on-par results with VJ and even surpassing NJ for A'lvls' which is very misleading? You shouldn't post such misdeclaration in public unless you have obtained all the information for comparison from these 3 JCS which obviously you are not able to. Is this your 'marketing' tactic to win top JAE pupils over to Nyjc? It's not right but despicable!
        I agree that Nyjc is a good JC but please don't forcefully over-valuate it such that it becomes a laughing-stock to parents of other JCS šŸ˜†

Regarding the paper difficulty I agree with you since I graduated from JC quite a few yrs alrd. But I am not trying to sell NYJC here (it isn't my interest at all. Anyway why would someone deliberately wasting time marketing the products for their enemy camp?)

Hard facts here (from my juniors, so that was how I arrived at the statement dat NY does have on par results): NJC pass rate for H2 Math is 91.2%, NY is 93.4% (VJ was 94.?%). It was also from NY's chem dept themselves to my juniors dat their batch performance is better than NJ (and they had a pizza treat from their tutors). So unless someone really proves me wrong dats was my impression of the sch from my own experiences and what I have know of (which I feel NY is decent enough and have their standards thr, certainly the recently retired principal had put in a lot of effort to improve the sch).

NYJC, like other colleges, do deserve some respect for their commitment, even if it was not dat good in the past as you mentioned. Again it contradicts when you are looking at NYJC with all the sentiments from the outdated past. I am not criticising anyone, its up to u to disagree with my opinions. But once again don't bluntly put me as a shameless promoter and thinking dat someone from HCJC don't know his grounds!![/quote]Not sure which year you are referring to but for both 2016 & 2015 A levels, VJC H2 Maths Pass rate is 100%.

• E Offline
          Eddisema

Liangbrolovesoccer:
          conqueror:

[quote=\"Liangbrolovesoccer\"]
          I am not really sure about how dey taught @ NYJC but judging from the difficulty standard of NYJC papers for the sci subjs their standards shd b on par with other top JCs IMO. I took Phy Chem Math for H2 science subjs so not too sure abt Bio.

Did NY papers as student when I was in HCJC. Thr phy paper standards are somewhat similar to what the few top tier JCs have out thr (don't feel like their standards were anywhere lower than us either). For maths their paper is considered to be challenging for an average student actually (if doing under time constraints) but is of quality as the qns are very specific and drills solidly on concepts. (NY math papers are usually put aside in our revision packages as hard papers back then, heard the papers are tougher recently)

NYJC Chem Papers are well known to be killer papers (that is my only comment tbh)... is even more cancer than my own college's papers IMO. (dat somewhat explains for their distinction rate) Last time we got this joke in chem: 5 papers from the top JCs: HC=can do, VJ=can do, NJ=can do, RJ=smart ass can do, AJ-cannot do, NY-forget it u never can do :rotflmao:

If NY can secure almost on-par results with VJ and even surpassing NJ for A'lvls I don't see how NY's teaching standards can be low. :skeptical:

That must be in the past, bro. My daughter is doing her A levels at the moment. She mentioned that other than RI(JC) and HCI(JC) prelim papers which are killer-papers, the rest of them, including Chemistry for NYJC, are manageable and not distinguishable from other JCS papers, i.e., a combination of both easy and difficult questions.
          Can you please explain how NY has 'secure almost on-par results with VJ and even surpassing NJ for A'lvls' which is very misleading? You shouldn't post such misdeclaration in public unless you have obtained all the information for comparison from these 3 JCS which obviously you are not able to. Is this your 'marketing' tactic to win top JAE pupils over to Nyjc? It's not right but despicable!
          I agree that Nyjc is a good JC but please don't forcefully over-valuate it such that it becomes a laughing-stock to parents of other JCS šŸ˜†

Regarding the paper difficulty I agree with you since I graduated from JC quite a few yrs alrd. But I am not trying to sell NYJC here (it isn't my interest at all. Anyway why would someone deliberately wasting time marketing the products for their enemy camp?)

Hard facts here (from my juniors, so that was how I arrived at the statement dat NY does have on par results): NJC pass rate for H2 Math is 91.2%, NY is 93.4% (VJ was 94.?%). It was also from NY's chem dept themselves to my juniors dat their batch performance is better than NJ (and they had a pizza treat from their tutors). So unless someone really proves me wrong dats was my impression of the sch from my own experiences and what I have know of (which I feel NY is decent enough and have their standards thr, certainly the recently retired principal had put in a lot of effort to improve the sch).

NYJC, like other colleges, do deserve some respect for their commitment, even if it was not dat good in the past as you mentioned. Again it contradicts when you are looking at NYJC with all the sentiments from the outdated past. I am not criticising anyone, its up to u to disagree with my opinions. But once again don't bluntly put me as a shameless promoter and thinking dat someone from HCJC don't know his grounds!![/quote]The justification was sort of on point, dat our science results was a bit better than NJ. As an ex-NYJCian myself I was there at the hall with my juniors too the slides did show something like this if not wrong. Have pics on NJ result slides dat time but deleted alrd. Erm yes NYJC wasn't as idealistic (not like I really love NYJC as it is), but certainly it is much better than the time when it was still a mid tier JC (its no longer the old 2 storey building in the 90s dat you r possibly still thinking of).

Liangbrolovesoccer

[quote]Not sure which year you are referring to but for both 2016 & 2015 A levels, VJC H2 Maths Pass rate is 100%.[/quote]
            I got my info from my friend fm VJ who went back sometime last yr (so presume is for the 2016 results). She told dat to me verbally so might have mistaken VJ's results for another subject (icic....so the one dat all passed is actually math). My bad my bad. ':) Anyway yeah my comments are my honest opinions.

Sherr

Liangbrolovesoccer:
              NYJCians are known to be kiasu ppl lah don't be too shocked ... every time study damn hard and still can modestly hide away and say they cmi. šŸ˜‚

Oioioi not every time horh don't anyhow label ppl. :rant:

mindays

conqueror:
                Nyjc was one of the lowest ranking JCS in my time. It's difficult to change its image for middle-aged parents like myself. Most parents without kids at JCS aren't aware of its current status too as Nyjc had been a dumping JC for a long time. So I can understand why some parents in this thread are desperate to sell it. You may but please do it honourably and with class.

Oh well, see! Backlash happens when guardians are not around šŸ˜†

mindays

conqueror:
                  rainbowie:

[quote=\"Flowingart\"]From: https://www.facebook.com/Nanyangjc/posts/1699651483381452

https://s26.postimg.org/zeynqcnm1/21617764_1699651186714815_4434513031832829994_n.jpg\">
                  Congratulations to the following NYJCians for receiving scholarships from NTU!
                  The Nanyang Scholarship holders:
                  Bernice Chia, Cassius Tan, Chan Zhi Qing, Chong Ding Zhou, Chua Si Hui, Darren Teo, Gavin Woo, Hee Yu Sheng, Jasmine Tay, Yonuice Kuan, Javier Lee, Macasieb Celine Faye Espanol, Mary Jane Turla Villamor, Melissa Goh, Ng Jun Hao, Noor Azzy Binte Zulkifli, Nyi Lwin Min, Ong Jun Peng, MeiQing Quak, Sin Kia Suan, Su Ziling, Wenyi Tang, Gerald Tay, Tew Xuan Na, Theresa Lee, Wang Yonghan
                  ASEAN Merit Scholarship (CN Yang Scholars Program) holder: Joseph Sebastian Ang
                  Renaissance Engineering Programme Scholarship holders:
                  Palash Jain, Tan Yong Kang, Tan Zhen Yuan
                  Teaching Scholarship holders:
                  Darren Kung, Don Seah, Hu Chong 'En,
                  University Scholars Programme Scholarship holders:
                  Danielle Lavinia Wauran, Eunice Ow, Joshua Lai

Dats a lot of scholars, Nanyang JC is really showing its capacity as a top non-IP JC.
                  :congrats:

That's an impressive photo. Sorry but why is it that only 36 NYJCians names are being mentioned when there are so many scholars in the picture?

Rainbowie, I was just as impressed like you at a glance. Why post such a picture to mislead? Just mention 30+ of the awardees are nyjcians.
                  I can conclude that nyjc is champion for the number of kiasuparents and ex-pupils. Nyjc is still not an impressive brand name to many of us and definitely falls behind names like Acjc, Ejc and even Tjc so these people are working very hard for the school.[/quote]I guess the picture was taken as a whole to suggest the TOTAL number of scholarships awarded for this batch across all JCs and Polys. 36 out of the sea of people in the picture would suggest that the magnitude is substantial.
                  Wait, do you usually conclude things based on 1 picture?!?! Ridiculous and more substandard than your so called 'brand-name\" :evil: :evil: On what basis do you have to say that it falls behind ACJC, EJC or TJC? Sports? Academics? Opportunities? Leadership? Please elaborate. I am sure the others are interested to know whats the grievance behind your post. And who seems to be despicable as said to promote other schools in another foreign JC thread? Don't spark troubles leh

mindays

candyfan:
                    Flowingart:

From: https://www.facebook.com/Nanyangjc/posts/1699651483381452

https://s26.postimg.org/zeynqcnm1/21617764_1699651186714815_4434513031832829994_n.jpg\">
                    Congratulations to the following NYJCians for receiving scholarships from NTU!

The one who posted this image on FB should do us a favour by posting the group pic of the NYJCians awardees only instead of including the non-related congregation. If he can get hold of the awardee names, surely he can take a small group pic, can't he?

Well, you can be the photographer the next time yeah? I am sure you can do a much better job!

mindays

candyfan:
                      HYTam86:

Just heard from my niece that her cohort is not interested in graduation prom night this year. She said dat the CT reps were told only around 40 to 50 people going, and the classes were planning for chalets only after everyone finished their A levels. Tho one thing she say the thing is too expensive (she mentioned their prom is $90 when other JCs like HCJC had theirs at $60 at Gardens by the Bay)

Is it legit? Its the first time I am hearing something like this in this generation, so hardworking and reckoning till laidat... 😮

Lack of cohesiveness among pupils of NYJCians, money or other issues? I thought a parent here mentioned the JC is like a big family? Over at RI, no such problem when their prom cost $90 too. Furthermore, wedding dinners at hotels cost over $1500 per table these days. $90 is reasonable. Even my nephew's O lvl grad night in a hotel cost $75/pax. Heard the response was very good. Those under FA were given free tickets. Surely NYJC can do better than this?

Heard that the PROM will resume as planned, students were convinced to partake in this event after their A Levels. Cost if I am not wrong remains at $90. Well, I will observe their FB page in the mean time, they should upload the pictures during PROM

mindays

conqueror:
                        Liangbrolovesoccer:

Just saying http://sgforums.com/forums/2297/topics/492930?page=11
                        Context: UltimaOnline from this forum is a chemistry tutor
                        Difficulty of papers is relative but from this thread, it seems that NYJC's papers are indeed on par with top tier JCs like RI

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 73 / 167

WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards