[PSLE MT] PSLE less weightage in Chinese / Mother Tongue
tree nymph:
unless the whole education system is restructured (e.g, the enrolment to sec is purely based on proximity, no top sec school, no IP...etc.etc....), PSLE is still in need....
that will be perfect.HyperKiasu:
yalo, why not scrap PSLE as a whole... :idea:
but then hor, all the parents will feel unsecure...

:celebrate: -
Sorry don't mean to argue against you...just wanted to add one more category to complete the picture, there are also smart and exam-smart kids.There are smart kids and there are exam-smart kids. The smart kids will always be smart, the exam-smart, well, what happens when they reach a point in life when there are no more exams?! :!:
don't belong here, simply not a kiasu parent.... -
also no need to worry about those kids who are exam smart only.
if they are not streat smart to become CXO, they can carry on with research, become scientist…
streat smart or exam smart, if smart, they will achieve somewhere in their career life… -
HyperKiasu:
do you find that the exam-smart end up working for the street smart (or plain smart)?also no need to worry about those kids who are exam smart only.
if they are not streat smart to become CXO, they can carry on with research, become scientist...
streat smart or exam smart, if smart, they will achieve somewhere in their career life.... -
if the street smart is also exam-smart, yes.
do you find that the exam-smart end up working for the street smart (or plain smart)?HyperKiasu:
also no need to worry about those kids who are exam smart only.
if they are not streat smart to become CXO, they can carry on with research, become scientist...
streat smart or exam smart, if smart, they will achieve somewhere in their career life.... -
HyperKiasu:
if the street smart is also exam-smart, yes.[/quote]actually, this is not what I see. Anyway, OT oredi.
do you find that the exam-smart end up working for the street smart (or plain smart)?3Boys:
[quote=\"HyperKiasu\"]also no need to worry about those kids who are exam smart only.
:OT:
is there any other country with PSLE? -
actually, this is not what I see. Anyway, OT oredi.[/quote]
if the street smart is also exam-smart, yes.HyperKiasu:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
do you find that the exam-smart end up working for the street smart (or plain smart)?
before i :offtopic: , one more thing to add (for fun only):
If exam-smart-only is willing to work for street-smart-only, that is becoz exam-smart-only can earn higher than street-smart-only. e.g, Income for a qualified actuarial is higher than that of GM.... -
tree nymph:
perhaps small country..... big country dun care about PSLE....:OT:
is there any other country with PSLE? -
HyperKiasu:
yalo, why not scrap PSLE as a whole... :idea:[/quote]Actually, that would be a good thing. I
Then I wish for a less competitive school environmenttree nymph:
[quote=\"Altum\"]Well, lowering the weightage for me
simply means more time for childhood
joys for my kids.
Though they are coping well, MT included,
There are times I wish they have more
time for fun and play.
for all the kids, so all of them can enjoy their childhood...
Why not lower the weight of Maths and Science and Eng too?
:?
always believe we should provide
university places for all students who
qualify and develope everyone to the f
ullest, regardless of race, MT or religion.
So if everyone who achieves the necessary grades for tertiary education can study for
a degree, then perhaps there is no mad rush
for all parents to make sure their children
go thru all these unnecessary stress and competition thruout their formative years.
Take for example when I was in school. I
had to compete very fiercely as only about
10% make it to the university then.
However, my friends who never did as well (they are not stupid, only less hardworking)
but know their parents can send them overseas also got degrees from overseas uni. They too
did just as well on the whole as all those who made it thru the local system.
Currently, about 20% or slightly more can have
a place in the local U's. That explains the rush
to compete at such a young age as when society progresses, we want our children to
achieve more. The price to pay is a less enjoyable childhood, which can be
solved by providing tertiary education to all who qualify.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.