NUS High School of Mathematics and Science (Diploma)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    6.0k Posts 713 Posters 2.6m Views 3 Watching
    • lucidL Offline
      lucid

Harrychew:
      veryscared:

For those non-gifted students, to get into NUSH is very very tough. There are less than 3 non-gifted students per class, out of 24 students. Furthermore, those gifted students are really good in either maths or science.

So there are about 150 gifted students in NUSH? This would be the largest number of gifted students in any secondary school since there are less than 400 gifted students per year.

There are 170 in 2018 year 1 intake. DC says around half his class are from GEP. That’s just his class out of 7 classes. I believe the stats were flashed before and if I rem correctly year one 2018 came from around 77-80 differentt primary schools. There will be around 6-8 kids from the bigger primary schools offering GEP ; they will usually be a mix of GEP and mainstream. DC ‘s cohort of 6-7 had only one non-GEP kid from TNS. The school will try to place the kids from the same primary school into different year one classes so I noticed there was only 1 of TNS and say RGS in every year one class. Nanyang has a bigger cohort so there can be up to 2 in some classes.

veryscared

as far as what my DS know, first class are all gifted students. My estimation is at least 100 gifted students out of 170 intake. I stand to correct.

• walterpW Offline
          walterp

Wow, what a significant change in profile of NUSH students intake over the years.

My GEP DC graduated in 2016 cohort. During my DC time, the intake was only 129 (out of 170). There were only 29 girls ( which 7 from GEP ) and only 10 other boys are from the GEP stream out of the remaining 100.

I guess time has change as computing is now a critical component of the NUSH school curriculum. In terms of DSA assessment and testing requirements, GEPers are likely to have an edge. Also I believe STEM component as far as Maths and Science school has far greater emphasis than humanities. More future graduates are likely to pursue STEM than other non-science areas.

Harrychew

walterp:
            Wow, what a significant change in profile of NUSH students intake over the years.

My GEP DC graduated in 2016 cohort. During my DC time, the intake was only 129 (out of 170). There were only 29 girls ( which 7 from GEP ) and only 10 other boys are from the GEP stream out of the remaining 100.

I guess time has change as computing is now a critical component of the NUSH school curriculum. In terms of DSA assessment and testing requirements, GEPers are likely to have an edge. Also I believe STEM component as far as Maths and Science school has far greater emphasis than humanities. More future graduates are likely to pursue STEM than other non-science areas.
            I agree. NUSH only take in via DSA, and the DSA selection is largely based on maths and science questions that are way beyond primary school syllabus that only the GEP students would have some exposure to. I recall my DC took NUSH intake test last year and some of questions need to use atomic numbers from periodic table...

• walterpW Offline
              walterp

In the past, the 2nd round DSA camp emphasize group and team work - Someone just mentioned that it is now a more based on individual effort and merit.

Computing Studies is now compulsory and starts from year 1 onward. I also think Computing/ logical thinking cum problem solving ability apart from usual Maths and Science are major key elements in DSA testing and selection criteria. It is unlikely that those who are weak in these areas can even survived the accelerated NUSH Math/Science curriculum on top of the additional Computing/programming workload.

Those getting into NUSH are truly the high ability students (apart from GEPers) who can survive this extra workload.
              Past Cohort graduates may pursue non-science career NUSH eg. business, law , music and humanities. I think NUSH is is more STEM-oriented than before. It make sense after all it is a Maths n Science with Computing being the fourth Science majors after triple science. Most Maths/Science Olympiad representatives are expected from this school.

• lucidL Offline
                lucid

Harrychew:
                walterp:

I agree. NUSH only take in via DSA, and the DSA selection is largely based on maths and science questions that are way beyond primary school syllabus that only the GEP students would have some exposure to. I recall my DC took NUSH intake test last year and some of questions need to use atomic numbers from periodic table...

My family has two generations of Geppers with first gen starting in 80’s first few cohorts ( then only RI and RGS in sec school ). It was clear to us MOE then had filtered all round ability in Math English and logical thinking. Over the years, MOE probably realised that GEP selection first tests for Math and English. A STEM focused education would need to select for aptitudes in Math and Science instead. Thus, we observe that there are GEP students and even Math Olympiad Golds who do not clear the NUSH first round. Meanwhile, there are mainstream kids from neighbourhood primary schools in DC’s cohort who sailed through the selection process with confirmed offers .. and these kids have never done any Olympiads. Invariably , there will be a few places left after the DSA process and the school opens up a Supplementary intake. I understand that they then offer it to the students with high PSLE scores with minimally A* in Math and Science ). From DC’s cohort , it appeared anecdotally that the supplementary intake had more of the geppers. Also , it seems more girls get in that way. I presume that it’s because girls are likely stronger in languages so tend to
                tilt to higher PSLE scores ...it may be that more girls can support a better balance in gender ratio.

bluebellas

After reading the posts here, I went to Kpo ask my DC in Nushs year 2 how many kids in his class were Geppers. He doesn’t know. The kids dun differentiate amongst themselves who is from GEP. Btw my boy was from GEP. And wat I know is less than 10 Geppers from his primary school went to NUSHS. I suppose most go to other schools with longer history.

As to the accelerated programme, I Guess it’s comparable with other popular IP schools cos my boy said his friends in other schools were learning more advanced topics.

Having said that, I think a child with the desire to self-learn will fit in very quickly. Heard from DC some of his classmates are reading up on topics not yet taught in school.

• Pai de JaneiroP Offline
                    Pai de Janeiro

For those who are interested to know more about NUSHS, besides the NUSHS official website, there is also a Facebook website: https://www.facebook.com/NUSHighSchool

The information about the 2018 intake is posted on January 8: “The NUS High family would like to welcome our new batch of 170 Year 1s from 74 different primary schools!”

lurline

Hi Bluebellas,

haha…I also kaypoh and went to ask ds who was from mainstream. He knows a few outstanding geppers in his cohort but generally he has no idea about the rest. They don’t ask or discuss about it.

• lucidL Offline
                        lucid

lurline:
                        Hi Bluebellas,

haha....I also kaypoh and went to ask ds who was from mainstream. He knows a few outstanding geppers in his cohort but generally he has no idea about the rest. They don’t ask or discuss about it.
                        Yes , agree. They don’t differentiate and it’s a level playing field. What i get is everyone is happy and comfortable in their own skin. :grphug: Something poignant I recall was the Vice Principal’s advice. He is a real funny and straight talker who is quite popular with parents and the students alike. He said at welcome speech something to the tune of - students , don’t be complacent and think you are a genius who can get good grades with minimal effort. Sorry hor , everyone here is a genius so you actually have to work hard and be consistent!

Some parent started to clap :salute: and as I was sitting to the very side of the auditorium, I could see many parents just turn and look poignantly at their child. :pokeeye: It was a Kodak moment to remember.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 451 / 596