Opposition pulls off shock victory at Malaysia GE14

-1 Posts 28 Posters 43.4k Views 1 Watching
    • floppyF Offline
      floppy

Estéema:

Now that daddy won over the Lego set, why can't the son make sth for himself? Still need the father to help him build the foundation? Useless fella.
      *Ahem*
      Kindly refer to the following case study:
      L... K... Y... and L... H... L...
      If daddy don't clear off the right and left flank, ensure that no one sneak up from behind, the son is unlikely to survive beyond the daddy's tour of duty.

Plus, Bersatu is only the third largest party in PH, and holds less than a third of PKR or DAP seats.

• floppyF Offline
        floppy

janet88:
        starlight1968sg:

Too complex for me to understand

same here.
        i only know najib and M/anwar are on opposite ends.

Najib and Tun are on opposite ends.
        Najib and Anwar are also on opposite ends.
        Tun, Anwar and Najib used to be on the same end, but later, Tun and Naijb decided to isolate Anwar on the opposite end.
        Today, Tun and Anwar stand on the same end to oppose Najib on the opposite end.
        In politics, the enemy of my enemy is my friend.

• ZeitZ Offline
          Zeit

How come so many GE14 threads?

• G Offline
            Grandypa

Mahatir talk about bombin Singapore

https://www.facebook.com/FLOPSingapore/videos/1658121640891800/

• ZeitZ Offline
              Zeit

Estéema:
              Old man still very spritely, clear & lucid. Looks like he'll likely rehash the whole East Coast line with China. Wants to renegotiate contract terms? Really?

His allies do not look happy - very measured facial expressions. M is just in cloud nine, winning @ 91 & certainly very confident & will hold on to the bird he got on hand.

Doesn't sound like he'll bail Anwar out in his Press Conference, altho he said will seek full pardon. So, his agenda is deep - 小儿子 to bring glory for his bloodline.
              I also suspect he'll 'play punk' from the press conference. He just wants to win over some Wan Azizah's supporters perhaps?

I wonder what's gonna happen to Forest City and Melaka port.

• floppyF Offline
                floppy

Zeit:

I wonder what's gonna happen to Forest City and Melaka port.
                Both will still go ahead but should be doomed.
                Both will then be used as 'showcases' of the excesses and failures of the previous UMNO-led government.

P/S: I hope no one here bought a unit in Forest City 😆

• ZeitZ Offline
                  Zeit

floppy:
                  Zeit:

Wondering how Tun will form his cabinet. He's the place-holder for Anwar. But it'll take a while for Anwar to be pardoned by the king/released from jail, stand for by-election (I presume) and take over as PM. I give them 2 years, just about time when we go to the polls here.

Someone needs to resign as MP to trigger a by-election, or some BM cronies involved in 1MDB need to be ousted by the new PH govt to pave the way for Anwar's homecoming. E.g. Najib gives up his Pekan, Pahang seat.

HSR project will be put on hold indefinitely, despite a last minute scramble at our end to announce the Jurong Region Line (which is linked to HSR) yesterday which by the way has had no train operator identified, and https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/residents-and-students-welcome-jurong-region-line-find-it-confusing.

RTS is binding, so I guess RTS'll go ahead as inked.

Perhaps PM Lee should not retire at 70, cos his 4G musketeers seem inexperienced to tackle Dr M, his son & his former Nemesis - Anwar.

Tharman was the first to respond this morning. Maybe he's 'activated' to be the next PM-designate, in case our swing voters and opp supporters in Lion City also try to re-enact a Bersih in 2-3 years' time.

Tun cabinet would be made up of the usual suspects. As for Anwar, he could easily replace his daughter's Permatang Pauh or his wife's Pandan parliamentary seat.

HSR may be put on hold and is unlikely to be cancelled or put off indefinitely. The KL-SG HSR corridor is expected to benefit KL, Selangor, Johor, Melaka and Negeri Sembilan - all states (except KL, which isn't a state) that PH won last night. Why would you cancel something that benefit your constituents, thus surrendering a winning position over to the other side? Our last minute scramble to announce the JRL seems more like a 'favour' to help Jib gor-gor in those states (which didn't work out).

Just wondering cos Liow Tiong Lai was ousted quite early last night...

Oh yah, I forgot he can replace Kak Wan's seat. Depends on how many votes wifey's and DD's constituents won, otherwise very risky to give up for 65-yr-old Pa.

Agree with you won't be cancelled, but based on past experiences with Tun, it could be on-off-on-off like the Points of Agreement before Jib's time. Who knows he will be more hardline on Pedra Branca also.

Did they sell HSR during the hustings? Didn't really read all the articles. Not sure how convenient the HSR stations are to the densely populated cities and how the constituents stand to benefit.

Tun isn't very pro-China, isn't it, from his comments about Proton-Geely. Not sure if he will 'award' to a Chinese contractor or take more loans from the Chinese going fwd. We'll see how Wily manoeuvres.

JRL did appear like a 'favour' indeed! A few times Jib got into some sh*t domestically, our side will announce something optimistic re the rail (just my observations on the sidelines).

PS: Jib is not Gor-Gor. He is younger than Loong Gor Gor by 1 year.

since M is already aged 92, is his son going to take over ?

Angelsdontexist:
                      KUALA LUMPUR: Two people died on Wednesday (May 9) as they stood in line to vote during Malaysia’s general election.

A woman in her 50s died after falling as she queued to vote at a polling station in Dungun, Terengganu, Malaysia's national news agency Bernama reported citing the local police chief.

Rokiah Sulung, 54, collapsed at 8.20am and was pronounced dead by a medical officer on duty.

Her eldest daughter Nurzita Md Nur, 36, said her mother, who had high blood pressure, did not show any visible signs of distress before the incident.

She was lining up to vote in another queue when she was informed of her mother's condition.

\"She was still conscious when I got to her, and I saw her take a few short breaths before she passed away.\"

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/2-die-waiting-to-vote-malaysia-general-election-10216554
                      rest in peace

• floppyF Offline
                        floppy

Zeit:

Just wondering cos Liow Tiong Lai was ousted quite early last night...

Oh yah, I forgot he can replace Kak Wan's seat. Depends on how many votes wifey's and DD's constituents won, otherwise very risky to give up for 65-yr-old Pa.

Agree with you won't be cancelled, but based on past experiences with Tun, it could be on-off-on-off like the Points of Agreement before Jib's time. Who knows he will be more hardline on Pedra Branca also.

Did they sell HSR during the hustings? Didn't really read all the articles. Not sure how convenient the HSR stations are to the densely populated cities and how the constituents stand to benefit.

Tun isn't very pro-China, isn't it, from his comments about Proton-Geely. Not sure if he will 'award' to a Chinese contractor or take more loans from the Chinese going fwd. We'll see how Wily manoeuvres.

JRL did appear like a 'favour' indeed! A few times Jib got into some sh*t domestically, our side will announce something optimistic re the rail (just my observations on the sidelines).

PS: Jib is not Gor-Gor. He is younger than Loong Gor Gor by 1 year.
                        Both seats are safe seats, Anwar should win either easily if they resign to trigger a by-election. Liow defeat was more or less anticipated - he barely beat the same opponent by the slimmest of margin (379 votes) in 2013 (GE13).

As for Pedra Blanca (or Pulau Batu Puteh), it really doesn't matter which side (BN / PH) wins as Malaysia is always going to take an increasingly hard line. The hard line is favoured by most, if not all, Johoreans. In 2008, the respected, late Sultan of Johor, Sultan Mahmud Iskandar made the following comments as he made Pedra Blanca his (unfulfilled) mission:
                        \"Suka beta ingatkan bahawa beta tak lupa pada Pulau Batu Puteh, bukan hak Singapura tetapi milik Johor. Sampai bila pun beta akan mencari ikhtiar untuk mendapatkan semula pulau milik Johor itu.\"
                        (Let me remind the subjects that I will not forget the loss of Pulau Batu Puteh. It is not Singapore's territory but Johor's. I will continue to make efforts to get the island which belongs to Johor.)

I once made a similar comment (on announcing something optimistic to support Jib-gor in times of trouble) to probably the most important person in SG-MY diplomatic circle. His comment is \"better to sleep with the devil you know than the devil you don't know.\" 😂

PS: Jib is my Jib gor-gor leh. Was hoping one day in future, maybe he or his crony can 关照 小弟.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

msywM
                        msyw