Maha Bodhi
Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum. Can I check what CCAs are good in MBS and how much time do they take up? Are CCAs also mandatory? Thanks!
Peiliang:
I've been observing... based on past few yrs, I hv not seen phase 1 take up rate to be more than 50% of total places... take up rate in phase 2a also higher than past yrs, dragon yr really fierce! Luckily my dragon is 2nd child, so got in via phase 1 as the brother still studying there. I have to agree that this yr registration is anomaly.My 2 cents analysis and rant:
Feels like this year is going to be an anomaly year... 171 places taken up already in Phase 1 for MBS. Previous 12 years range was 120-150+ maximum. Birth rate up 5% in 2012 but appears that a lot were for no 2, 3, 4 or beyond in this dragon year and their elder siblings all congregate at the SAP schools (not just MBS) with the take up rate up 28.5% at MBS (i.e. Chinese all become more in the mood for love from mid 2011 to early 2012 to make dragons).
Last year had 101 places for 2B and 2C, and take up rate was 133 and 95 for Phases 1 and 2A only.
This year if Phase 2A application rate also up 28.5% will mean 122 applications to fight over the reserved 121 places = Balloting at Phase 2A for this school, which had been unheard of historically!
I thought my Phase 2B should be safe, but I must have a plan B now too.
Kismet123:
Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum. Can I check what CCAs are good in MBS and how much time do they take up? Are CCAs also mandatory? Thanks!
I only know MBS is well known for their band. There'll definitely be extra practices during SYF years, so the children do have to spend quite a bit of time if get into band.
CCAs are incorporated into the curriculum on Thursday for P3-P6, so lessons end at 3.45pm on Thursday. Hence, if the child doesn't take up a CCA, not sure what the child would do during the 2 hours of CCA, would recommend the child to take up a CCA to learn something instead of wasting 2 hours of time. -
bunnybluey:
Kismet123:
I only know MBS is well known for their band. There'll definitely be extra practices during SYF years, so the children do have to spend quite a bit of time if get into band.
CCAs are incorporated into the curriculum on Thursday for P3-P6, so lessons end at 3.45pm on Thursday. Hence, if the child doesn't take up a CCA, not sure what the child would do during the 2 hours of CCA, would recommend the child to take up a CCA to learn something instead of wasting 2 hours of time.
Thanks! My son is enrolled for P1 next year - will be good to connect with other “dragon” parents! :rahrah: -
Kismet123:
Thanks! My son is enrolled for P1 next year - will be good to connect with other “dragon” parents! :rahrah:
Oh, congrats! He got in via which phase? -
I somehow scrapped thru. Called up and was informed that for phase 2B, SCs <2km all in. Balloting for all SCs beyond 2km. But they did not divulge on exact numbers balloting for how many seats left…
Can I check with existing parents who signed up for After School care whether if Bao Ta is now known as P.L.A.N? Did a Google & field search and realised that P.L.A.N now occupies the premises and is using Bao Ta’s no.
bunnybluey:
Thanks - 2A!Kismet123:
Thanks! My son is enrolled for P1 next year - will be good to connect with other “dragon” parents! :rahrah:
Oh, congrats! He got in via which phase?
Can I check what is the arrangement like now that the school is single session? What time does school start/end? -
bunnybluey:
Yes. Band is very very good. The instructor is super.Kismet123:
CCAs are incorporated into the curriculum on Thursday for P3-P6, so lessons end at 3.45pm on Thursday. Hence, if the child doesn't take up a CCA, not sure what the child would do during the 2 hours of CCA, would recommend the child to take up a CCA to learn something instead of wasting 2 hours of time. -
Just thought I’d leave the following data behind for Maha Bodhi School this year for benefit of the data collators and other parents, as I am out of the rat race and buay Kiasu liao:
Totally vacancies: 330.
Take up rate
Phase 1: 171
Phase 2A1: 58
Phase 2A2: 44, 4 subsequent withdrawals so incremental is 40.
Phase 2B: 31, balloting at above 2km for Singaporeans.
Phase 2C: 30. Should be balloting within 1km for Singaporeans.
Good luck.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.