2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)
Zappy:
Don't despair.Win win nwe:
[quote=\"dylanmummy2003\"]
DD's SA1 results is back
P4 to P5
Eng : 81 drop to 69
MT: 70 drop to 66
Sci : 66 to 73.5
Maths : 72 drop to 41
Really caught me by surprise. Didn't expect her to fail Maths when she been coping well with her 1st CA1 and normal practice paper.
Sigh... don't know if she can improve for SA2. Was still thinking of go DSA next year.
My Daughter condition same
How to do I don’t know .
I am looking for math tutor in AMK area .
I am very disappointed :frustrated:
Even though the drop is not small, this could be a good wake-up call.
Sit down (coolly, no shouting) and have a talk with your daughters.
Figure out which part needs improvement... usually there are some low hanging fruits which make a big difference, e.g. Improve section A to see a big jump up. Use the June hols to recharge, rest and revise for next term.
Sa2 is usually better for the P5s but the kids will need to heed the wake-up call and persevere.[/quote]Thanks Zappy
We tried together in holiday especially for math . She weeks Math . Now I am looking for Math and science tutor or centre . Thanks :rahrah: -
Are schools still allow to post the results so openly? Many schools already stopped such publicity on its school webpage. Maybe these principals are waiting for MOE to invite them drink free kopi? :rotflmao:
Not sure about Poi Ching but I have 2 nephews who graduated from ACSJ in 2015 and 2016. Their exam papers are xi bei easy type so it is easy for the boys to score well in their own school exam. Very common to get at least 3 A*. Compo marking also super lenient. I hardly came across that kind of high score from my children school. In actual fact, EL is one subject that is not that easy to score A*. If can score above 85 for EL is already consider quite good.
Note: ACSJ is not the same as ACSP. ACS Barker Standard is much higher. -
private,
don't worry, MOE won't invite Principal down for coffee chat, because so far the info provided on ACS Junior 2017 P5 SA2 results (analysis): only show the number of P5 students who scored A *, A, B, C, D, per subject.
No names of P5 students being mentioned, so nothing private been leaked out.
Also, they did not disclose the detailed breakdown of Top score per subject, by class. No P5 class name in ACSJ was being mentioned, so again, nothing private been leaked out.
from their p5 2017 sa2 results, being an all Boys' school : they did better in Maths and Science. -
those keen on 2019 DSA : can come over this thread, to yak
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=91518 -
quick qn…
if at from P5 to P6, school continues to offer higher chinese to the kid, do we have a choice to say don’t want?
Thanks. -
You can always exercise yr choice. We decided to relieve DC fr HCL at Pri level coz it’ll be too stressful to manage for PSLE. Then when sec, SC took HCL & doing well. Think maturity & less stress & child can enjoy expressing themselves in written project work assigned.
Estéema:
You can always exercise yr choice. We decided to relieve DC fr HCL at Pri level coz it'll be too stressful to manage for PSLE. Then when sec, SC took HCL & doing well. Think maturity & less stress & child can enjoy expressing themselves in written project work assigned.
oh, u mean can take HCL again at sec, even never HCL at PSLE? cos some pple tell me if no HCL at pri, then sec cannot take liao......
sorry if my qns sounds very noob...... cos i am quite confused..... hehe -
To drop hcl at p6, please consult the school of class arrangements. I think my son was the only one that dropped to ncl class in p6. Took him a while to get used to the slower/less intensive/lesser handouts teaching style of the ncl class. He qualified for IP so is taking hcl now.
From https://www.moe.gov.sg/admissions/secondary-one-posting-exercise/eligibility-letter
Students may opt to take up HMTL (viz. Higher Chinese/ Higher Malay/ Higher Tamil) from Secondary 1 (S1) onwards if they have taken MTL or HMTL at the Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE) and are in the
Top 10% of the PSLE cohort; or
Top 11%—30% of the PSLE cohort and meet the language criteria i.e. an A* grade in the MTL or at least a Merit in HMTL. -
The teachers at the school did advise…
Dropping HCL at P6 has pro and cons…
1) Pros - more time to prepare for psle. less stress.
2) Cons - if the child do hcl in IP sch, will need to catch up with the rest who has more exposure. At secondary level, even more subjects to cope.
if the child can cope with hcl, they advise parent to let them take. but final decision still lies with parents. -
:thankyou:To drop hcl at p6, please consult the school of class arrangements. I think my son was the only one that dropped to ncl class in p6. Took him a while to get used to the slower/less intensive/lesser handouts teaching style of the ncl class. He qualified for IP so is taking hcl now.
From https://www.moe.gov.sg/admissions/secondary-one-posting-exercise/eligibility-letter
Students may opt to take up HMTL (viz. Higher Chinese/ Higher Malay/ Higher Tamil) from Secondary 1 (S1) onwards if they have taken MTL or HMTL at the Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE) and are in the
Top 10% of the PSLE cohort; or
Top 11%—30% of the PSLE cohort and meet the language criteria i.e. an A* grade in the MTL or at least a Merit in HMTL.
Thank you, jedamum. You took almost the exact words out of me. Same, same experience. Did well for all PSLE subj & top 10% of cohort with A* for NCL so offered to do HCL & a 3rd language of choice in sec 1.
DC doing HCL for the 1st time. No problem catching up & did surprising well for MYE.
Had seen too many kids dropped HCL & some totally tuned out bcoz PSLE HCL is tough for a young child.
Tho DC hv many more subj & also doing 3rd language, it's also keeping busy that I noticed help him focus on work rather than addicted to hp (WhatsApp & games, etc). I'm happy for DC's progress & tuning DC to focus in foundation building esp Yr1 of IP programme.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.