2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake

3.8k Posts 1 Posters 689.6k Views 1 Watching
      kristy13

Hi All, for the benefit of those following this thread, can I appeal to all parents who are registering on-site to share the numbers if they have it, regardless of which school you applied to.

Thanks in advance!

• floppyF Offline
        floppy

RonCR7:
        Dear All,

Any information for Taonan and Kong Hwa? SAP school are so popular and in demand!!!

Thanks in advance.
        Yah. Other years, SAP schools no one want and anyone can easily get in > 1km!!!
        🤷

• zac's mumZ Offline
          zac's mum

floppy:
          janet88:

[quote=\"floppy\"]
          Sometimes, I just wonder...
          Why bother.

30 makes up one class. besides CHC faces balloting for those staying less than 1km every year.
          why register only to be told to find another school?

I can only assume, some people just like to be told what to do.
          Then, they will 'die heart'.[/quote]Actually, I assume the opposite: some people (my own child is one of them) just DON’T LIKE to be told xyz is impossible. They just want to fight the boundaries even they know it’s useless... :siao: :roll:

Jnhh

:thankyou:

Lexy:
            vivi_vivi:

Maris Stella 1-2km

St Andrews junior >2km
            Geylang methodist >2km
            Mee toh >2km

Maris Stella is my first choice but am worried balloting will omit 1-2km entirely due to the little number of vacancies left for Phase 2C this year.
            Pls advise on chances. And what is the next best second choice.
            Thanks!

Jnhh:
            Maris Stella 1-2km (42 vacancies for 2C)
            Yangzheng 1-2km (31 vacancies for 2C)

Which is a safer bet? Thanks very much.
            For both:
            Maris stella TUR has increased this year. I found a info on the last day (morning) of 2017 registration: see below.
            https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=83199&p=1788839&hilit=maris#p1788839
            It suggest that even if there is a chance for 1-2km, the spots will be very low.

For vivi_vivi : mee toh is out, dont try, St andrew: dont have the breakdown of the applicants for previous years but the TUR this year of 79%, but maybe still ballot for >2km folks. Geylang Methodist has the safest odds. At the same time, i wonder beside all these school you chose, is there any as its either out of range or too close call.

For Jnhh, Yangzheng TUR too high this round, you need to monitor the numbers for the breakdown. Looking purely at the MOE closing number day to day isnt enough, you need exact breakdown <1km. 1-2km etc.

firstda

floppy:
              coccobacillus:

Just sharing:

Catholic high
              <1km = 30
              1-2km = 2
              Vacancies = -11

Why bother.

Maybe they are not well informed as us. Last year, I did a check in OneMap and there were 3 schools within 1km. However, I just checked it became 2 schools. The third school suddenly became 1 - 2km.

summer83

RonCR7:
                Dear All,

Any information for Taonan and Kong Hwa? SAP school are so popular and in demand!!!

Thanks in advance.
                Eh.. Poi Ching also SAP sch.. but not so in demand leh. :roll:

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

firstda:
                  floppy:

[quote=\"coccobacillus\"]Just sharing:

Catholic high
                  <1km = 30
                  1-2km = 2
                  Vacancies = -11

Why bother.

Maybe they are not well informed as us. Last year, I did not check in OneMap and there were 3 schools within 1km. However, I just checked it became 2 schools. The third school suddenly became 1 - 2km.[/quote]I don't think the third school suddenly become 1-2km... unless there's an earthquake or seismic event in Singapore recently. Some people use Google / Apple map and measure the direct distance as the crow flies and assume it's within 1km - which is dangerous / problematic if your block / apartment is at the edge (+-50m) of the 1km / 2km border.

OneMap is the definitive guide for P1 registration, has been and will be.

shenice

shenice:

Just to share, I knew a teacher whose girl is in St Anthony Canossa and another retired teacher who taught in the school as relief teacher, both said the school is great. Since it's opening up to boys next year this is a good option to consider.

erm ... think you are confused

there isn't any primary school called \"St Anthony Canossa\"

there are 2 different primary schools -

1) St Anthony Canossian primary (located in Bedok, an All-Girls school)

2) Canossa Catholic primary
                    (located at Salim road, co-ed)

i believe you are refering to #2

Yes I'm referring to the second one sorry abit confused.

RonCR7

summer83:
                      RonCR7:

Dear All,

Thanks in advance.

Eh.. Poi Ching also SAP sch.. but not so in demand leh. :roll:

Maybe due to SAP together with Hokkien Huay Kuan branding.

:?

• SZRS Offline
                        SZR

Jamiek:
                        Just sharing

Maris Stella
                        within 1km 44 applicants
                        1-2 km 10 applicants
                        > 2km 1 applicant

Are these applicants all Singapore Citizen?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 225 / 381