All About Preparing For Primary One

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    1.3k Posts 228 Posters 766.1k Views 1 Watching
    • tankeeT Offline
      tankee

hi

is she attending kindergarten and doing ok there?

if yes, then no need.

My daughter is attending Maths & Eng preparatory classes every Sat at RC. She has spelling every week, alternate either Eng or Math for words like ‘bear’, ‘zebra’ and ‘eighty’, ‘one hundred’ etc.

sleepy

Mine attending hanyu pinyin class at RC. Her kindy doesn’t cover hanyu pinyin

sleepy:
            Mine attending hanyu pinyin class at RC. Her kindy doesn't cover hanyu pinyin

My daughter has tuition for Chinese...her kindergarten doesn't cover hanyu pinyin too. I think it's good to have a foundation rather than struggle in the first few weeks of P1. With my daughter, I try not to repeat the mistakes I made with my son (P4)...learning is indeed a lifelong process, which applies to us parents too.

mom2boys

My DS1 is going for P1 next year liao.

Currently, in his CC, his daily academic includes han yu pin yin already. but dun know if it’s enough…would not want him to spend extra time for enrichment as he already with CC from mon-fri whole day. Sun has swimming and piano lesson…
              His CC enrichment includes speedy reading chinese words, which I find him recongising more words.

mom2boys:
                My DS1 is going for P1 next year liao.

Currently, in his CC, his daily academic includes han yu pin yin already. but dun know if it's enough....would not want him to spend extra time for enrichment as he already with CC from mon-fri whole day. Sun has swimming and piano lesson..
                His CC enrichment includes speedy reading chinese words, which I find him recongising more words.
                If he is attending CC, then I believe he is learning more than kids attending kindergarten. My son's tutor told me her daughter has spelling for English and Chinese every week in CC.

nonKiasu

Surprising indeed... :!:

P1s not being able to cut or draw margin lines.. :idea:

That's kinda overwhelming for me to hear sssdarlings.
                  Seriously... :shock:
                  Hi, Buds. I agree that with sssdarlings that we take these simple skill for granted. Take my triplets for example. They are in K2 now. My DS1 love art and craft. He has no problem cutting along the lines of any complicated picture since K1. But my DS2 and DS3 are still quite bad in cutting. Today, I had parent-teacher session with my DS2's teacher. She commented that his cutting is very bad. My DS2 will not want to do any art and craft unless the teacher say Must-Do! I am not surprise to hear this. He simply don't like cutting and so chicken-and-egg issue. With less practise, his cutting skill doesnt improve. Moreover, my DS1 love cutting so much that he always wanted to cutting all 3 sets for everyone at home! So I always have to put a stop to this and so doing art and craft at home is a headache to me. If my DS2 and DS3 continue not to enjoy cutting, I see no reason why they can do cutting well in half a year time when they go P1. What to do? Let it be lah. Luckily my DS1 sometime managed to motivate his 2 younger bro to cut out pictures of animals from magazine.

PS: Pai sei, I have not been reading this thread for a long time :oops: Back to this thread again after receiving the brochures from kindergarten/MOE abt P1 reg 😄 . Now reading brochures and get quite excited :lol: I am going to reg my DSs for P1 on 2 to 4 Aug! :!: Time really flies!

I attended daughter’s Parent-Teacher meeting on 26/5.

Her English teacher told me she has no confidence writing. As for Chinese, she cannot reply teacher’s questions after the story was completed bcos she wasn’t listening. I was advised to get her to read story books.

P1 registration dates drawing nearer…have to register not long after school reopens.

SAHM_TAN

My dd will be registering for P1 in 2011

Thank you all for sharing, I have read all the pages. I have 1.5yrs to encourage her to read more, build up her English and Chinese vocab and work on her maths skill. Quite alot to cover but trying not to panic…

nonKiasu:

Surprising indeed... :!:

P1s not being able to cut or draw margin lines.. :idea:

That's kinda overwhelming for me to hear sssdarlings.
                        Seriously... :shock:

Hi, Buds. I agree that with sssdarlings that we take these simple skill for granted.

Hi nonKiasu.. long time no see. Guess you've been really BUSY!! 😓

I do apologise for that insensitivity as it really comes as a surprise to me
                        cos most (if not all) my ex-students from pre-school years... regardless
                        coming from the mainstream kindergarten or from a Montessorian
                        environment are not only equipped with academic preps to face primary
                        education but also soft skills and also sports skills.. (in some centres
                        there's even public speaking and music!)... as the curriculum is integrated
                        to allow children to grow as an all rounder... a whole person.

How? By starting early... We start them with simple straight line cutting,
                        tracing, folding, (etc) and move up gradually to more challenging tasks
                        as they move up to K1... then finally to K2. Our K2's do spelling and
                        dictation, on top of other language skills and by K2 such tasks are almost
                        automatic already. Simple phrase dictation starts in K1 in fact for the
                        schools i've been attached to... hence (please forgive me if comes as
                        something puzzling for me that there can be pre-schools these days that
                        do not equip children as a whole.

I mean the main idea of attending a pre-school; in current context
                        especially... is to in fact prepare children for primary education.

I'm sure you're very excited! You have THREE to register for @ one go!
                        Hope you get to register your children in the school of your choice, dear..

So, are your children P1 ready? :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 131