All About Preparing For Primary One

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    1.3k Posts 228 Posters 766.7k Views 1 Watching

sleepy:
      Mine attending hanyu pinyin class at RC. Her kindy doesn't cover hanyu pinyin

My daughter has tuition for Chinese...her kindergarten doesn't cover hanyu pinyin too. I think it's good to have a foundation rather than struggle in the first few weeks of P1. With my daughter, I try not to repeat the mistakes I made with my son (P4)...learning is indeed a lifelong process, which applies to us parents too.

mom2boys

My DS1 is going for P1 next year liao.

Currently, in his CC, his daily academic includes han yu pin yin already. but dun know if it’s enough…would not want him to spend extra time for enrichment as he already with CC from mon-fri whole day. Sun has swimming and piano lesson…
        His CC enrichment includes speedy reading chinese words, which I find him recongising more words.

mom2boys:
          My DS1 is going for P1 next year liao.

Currently, in his CC, his daily academic includes han yu pin yin already. but dun know if it's enough....would not want him to spend extra time for enrichment as he already with CC from mon-fri whole day. Sun has swimming and piano lesson..
          His CC enrichment includes speedy reading chinese words, which I find him recongising more words.
          If he is attending CC, then I believe he is learning more than kids attending kindergarten. My son's tutor told me her daughter has spelling for English and Chinese every week in CC.

nonKiasu

Surprising indeed... :!:

P1s not being able to cut or draw margin lines.. :idea:

That's kinda overwhelming for me to hear sssdarlings.
            Seriously... :shock:
            Hi, Buds. I agree that with sssdarlings that we take these simple skill for granted. Take my triplets for example. They are in K2 now. My DS1 love art and craft. He has no problem cutting along the lines of any complicated picture since K1. But my DS2 and DS3 are still quite bad in cutting. Today, I had parent-teacher session with my DS2's teacher. She commented that his cutting is very bad. My DS2 will not want to do any art and craft unless the teacher say Must-Do! I am not surprise to hear this. He simply don't like cutting and so chicken-and-egg issue. With less practise, his cutting skill doesnt improve. Moreover, my DS1 love cutting so much that he always wanted to cutting all 3 sets for everyone at home! So I always have to put a stop to this and so doing art and craft at home is a headache to me. If my DS2 and DS3 continue not to enjoy cutting, I see no reason why they can do cutting well in half a year time when they go P1. What to do? Let it be lah. Luckily my DS1 sometime managed to motivate his 2 younger bro to cut out pictures of animals from magazine.

PS: Pai sei, I have not been reading this thread for a long time :oops: Back to this thread again after receiving the brochures from kindergarten/MOE abt P1 reg 😄 . Now reading brochures and get quite excited :lol: I am going to reg my DSs for P1 on 2 to 4 Aug! :!: Time really flies!

I attended daughter’s Parent-Teacher meeting on 26/5.

Her English teacher told me she has no confidence writing. As for Chinese, she cannot reply teacher’s questions after the story was completed bcos she wasn’t listening. I was advised to get her to read story books.

P1 registration dates drawing nearer…have to register not long after school reopens.

SAHM_TAN

My dd will be registering for P1 in 2011

Thank you all for sharing, I have read all the pages. I have 1.5yrs to encourage her to read more, build up her English and Chinese vocab and work on her maths skill. Quite alot to cover but trying not to panic…

nonKiasu:

Surprising indeed... :!:

P1s not being able to cut or draw margin lines.. :idea:

That's kinda overwhelming for me to hear sssdarlings.
                  Seriously... :shock:

Hi, Buds. I agree that with sssdarlings that we take these simple skill for granted.

Hi nonKiasu.. long time no see. Guess you've been really BUSY!! 😓

I do apologise for that insensitivity as it really comes as a surprise to me
                  cos most (if not all) my ex-students from pre-school years... regardless
                  coming from the mainstream kindergarten or from a Montessorian
                  environment are not only equipped with academic preps to face primary
                  education but also soft skills and also sports skills.. (in some centres
                  there's even public speaking and music!)... as the curriculum is integrated
                  to allow children to grow as an all rounder... a whole person.

How? By starting early... We start them with simple straight line cutting,
                  tracing, folding, (etc) and move up gradually to more challenging tasks
                  as they move up to K1... then finally to K2. Our K2's do spelling and
                  dictation, on top of other language skills and by K2 such tasks are almost
                  automatic already. Simple phrase dictation starts in K1 in fact for the
                  schools i've been attached to... hence (please forgive me if comes as
                  something puzzling for me that there can be pre-schools these days that
                  do not equip children as a whole.

I mean the main idea of attending a pre-school; in current context
                  especially... is to in fact prepare children for primary education.

I'm sure you're very excited! You have THREE to register for @ one go!
                  Hope you get to register your children in the school of your choice, dear..

So, are your children P1 ready? :evil:

nonKiasu

I do apologise for that insensitivity as it really comes as a surprise to me
                    cos most (if not all) my ex-students from pre-school years... regardless
                    coming from the mainstream kindergarten or from a Montessorian
                    environment are not only equipped with academic preps to face primary
                    education but also soft skills and also sports skills.. (in some centres
                    there's even public speaking and music!)... as the curriculum is integrated
                    to allow children to grow as an all rounder... a whole person.

:
                    :
                    So, are your children P1 ready? :evil:
                    Haha, no need to apologise 🙂 I believe each child develop at their own pace esp mine are born pre-matured. My DS3 was born 1kg and reach 4kg only when he was 6 mths old! So, didn't want to stress out everyone in the household. Moreover, I can't afford 3*Montessorian or any tok-kong kind of kindergarten or enrichment courses. But I just wonder how much enrichment is considered enough and neccesary that I didn't deprive my DSs.

Not very sure how they are being considered by you as 'ready'. My DS1 can read Peter and Jane book 6 fluently end of last year (k1) and is a slient reader now. He will read to his brothers if he is asked to and in ok mood. DS2 and DS3 reading skills are only in par with their peers. I have to continue to work hard on the rest of their skills.

Yes, you're right. Each child has their own pace since they are all

born different and unique. That's why starting early with children
                      can never be over-emphasized so that the pace can be spaced
                      out nicely over their growing years and not rushed and crammed
                      all at the last minute. Language skill is but only one of the skills
                      children should have.. There's also Math, MT, soft skills, EQ, music
                      and sports.

My DD1 is also pre-mature. 😉 I don't give myself or her that
                      reason entirely to excuse her from not being able to do certain
                      things. We still encourage her all the way whether or not she
                      takes the same time to get there or double time. Hence with
                      her i cannot do last minute work. She cannot absorb. Can say
                      she's the slow and steady wins the race type. Hehee.. :lol: Or
                      mebbe the i take my own sweet time type. :lol:

Children should be sufficiently prepared if they have done a few
                      years of pre-school. Psst, we also cannot afford tok-kong presch
                      that's why i teach myself. Hahaa! I cheap mah! :laugh: Peter &
                      Jane level 6 huh? Not bad. Quite small fonts oredi. Some more so
                      sweet willing to read to siblings! :hugs: Do you get the 'c' books
                      to see if they can comprehend what they've read..? The activities
                      in the P&J 'c' books are simple enough & used to expose children
                      to early comprehension skills. I used them for both my girls. 😄

Children these days are allowed to integrate better into the P1
                      system as they're mostly revising what's been learnt in kindies.
                      There will be children who never attended any kindies prior to
                      going for P1. While some schools retain the paper exams, others
                      have done away with them and use formative assessments as a
                      gauge of the children's overall performance.

Apart from reading, in Math; the children will be doing a lot of
                      number bonds up to 10, more and less and also a little on
                      positions ie. 1st, 2nd, (etc) and simple shapes.

As the part on how much enrichment is enuf.. i do wonder about
                      that last time.. but going through with the race with others will
                      only make ourselves compare how we have shortchanged our
                      children.. and it will never end.. there will always be better kids,
                      richer parents, better schools etc etc etc... but i'm happy if my
                      children are happy and do fairly well in school.

Learning is a long process, (i'm still learning!) i'd rather they enjoy
                      the entire process than starting out the race fast and furious only
                      to lose interest half way... and fade out. 😄 Besides i love my
                      kiddies cos they're mine.. just as they are. :please:

My hugs for your 3 princes, nonKiasu! :hugs:

PS:Take heart that while there will always be things that we think
                      we deprive our children of, we do not deprive them of our love &
                      care & attention... 😉

Take care, nonKiasu! :love:

My girls had a blast in P1 (DD2 still has half a year to go!) and i'm sure yours will too!

deskbound

does anyone has good suggestion for Prep Pri 1 courses in jurong west?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 131