Anglo-Chinese School (Junior)
gpliu3,
The Thoburn program is for students who do not want to opt for GEP and wants to continue with ACSJ or those who have qualified for GEP round 1 only or specially selected by teacher who deemed the kids has potential. There is only 1 Thoburn Class. Starts in P4 and ends in P6.
I wouldn’t say the Hinch program are meant for not so bright boys. That is not very nice to say. Besides in general boys do mature later than gals. Much to say the Hinch program are targeted to boys who did not score 75 and above or selected by teachers. So does it mean scoring 74 is not bright? Hinch program on Chinese and Maths are highly recommended and open to all students. So Hinch Chinese and Maths are not specifically for what you mentioned "not-so-bright" boys.
Yes normal school hours, they target on normal school hours. The after-school program will dwell on the weaker components such as Chinese Oral and Compo, English Comprehension, Maths problem sums and Science Open-ended Qs techiques. All these components which normal school hours may or may not cover in depth as the Hinch Program class has smaller Teacher-Student ratio. Some parents want to opt for it but their kids are not offered. -
Thoburn class starts after all those P3 GEP qualified kids transferred out, whilst those who prefer to remain in culture of ACSJ or missed out by a small margin, this one class caters for them.
Hinch classes are same as those supplementary classes, now they give them a name. For kids who typically score beyond 90% in subj will be exempted fr Hinch. There’s no distinguishing even if yr child is weak in one element of the subj. Reason given was they hv limited resources & will cater for those below 90% to help keep them up till PSLE.
Hope this helps. -
Estee, now no more beyond 90s. Now 75s are exempted liao. The new principal changed it liao. My DC2 wants to go but kena kick out.
Teacher told him join if his score is 75s as he is already in 90s. 
I thot I did mentioned those >90% exempt (kick out, whatever u call it) fr Hinch? My frd’s P5 boy hovering ard 70-80 still in Hinch for diff subjs. Library mum
>75 kick out liao :scared:
maybe P5 and P6 different. -
laughingcat:
Maybe she kiasu asked for special inclusion like her elder boy -
Estéema:
I did for my DC1, he scored 88 for English in P5 SA2. Still was not offered Hinch lorlaughingcat:
laughingcat:
I did for my DC1, he scored 88 for English in P5 SA2. Still was not offered Hinch lor[/quote]Same for mine when >90%. English HOD super rigid. He don't look at areas that needs improvement. Mine was weak in S&T then, so no choice get Sherman's help since school refuse Hinch. He just look at overall scores. I cld've saved on P6 tuition.Estéema:
[quote=\"laughingcat\"]>75 kick out liao :scared:
But my boy teacher is nice. Gave him the Hinch worksheet for him to do and get it submitted to be marked. The teachers are super caring.
Come to think about it…what is so big deal after school program? Afterall, all schools also have after school programs. Does it mean these kids who attend it are a goner?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.