[Seng Kang] Primary Schools

1.3k Posts 367 Posters 533.9k Views 1 Watching
      joylly

U checked out their website loh !

The principal also very chinese traditional and community-bonded wan ho !
      Any community activities, u’ll probably be seeing them around !

ECA and CCA ? There’s practically nothing for them to boast abt !

STILL … I wont strike this school out for the sake of their academics, other than that … sigh …

I’m still waiting for someone to enlighten me on my choices !

Neostar

Hi I am new to this forum.

I need to check if there is any feedback of Sengkang Primary school?

I need to register my son for Pri 1 this year and dun know whether to register:

a) Sengkang pri - downstair n convenient
        b) Holy Innocents Pri - In Hougang, my former school

Can anyone help me?
        😢

Regards

lakshikhaasri

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]

Hello All

We are planning to move to Senkang. I have a five year old son. Can anybody let me know the best schools in and around Sengkang?

leekien

ok lor…

kool dwn lah… what abt Compassvale Pri? hear say not bad lah… hv not read their website doh…

Mishasha

Anyone PV in Nan Chiau? Can't find any news / info from their website on PV. Can someone help? Tks! :please:

cantbearit2

Hi all,

Just went for the open hse of North Vista Primary Sch (NVPS) at Sengkang today and thot of sharing my humble views.

IM staying in Hougang but exactly 2km of NVPS. Its main attraction is being single session. This is one of my considerations besides HIPS.

This open hse is very informative although the principal does not gif straight ans to all our questions.

Surprisingly, it is rather impressive being a newly established sch (2 yrs old). The latest tech is inculcated into its curriculum (imagine flat screen apple desktop which has webcam facilities for doing presentation). Some of us were joking that their desktop is even better than what we have at hm. :lol:

The students also seem very well behaved compared to some other neighbourhood sch I have been to (though not sure if it's due to the fact that the oldest pupil is juz P4, still green so no mischief).

Another interesting fact is they have inhouse BASC to cater to working parents like us. I like the fact that we do not have to worry abt the fetch/send arrangements if we put them in BASC.

The curriculum is oso rather interesting. They can practically emcompass everything into their teaching. Eg. Combine maths and PE, sounds interesting enough?

Not forgetting being single session is a tremendous advantage. Our kids won't have to do hmwork right up to 10pm at nite.

They oso have volunteers from Boys/Girls Brigade to help out during both recess breaks (yes, they have 2 recesses for all levels for more interaction and bonding) to organise games for them in one of the classroom if they want to skip lunch. Not only do they play games but the volunteers will inculcate values to the children (at least that's what the very Christian-like Principal said).

All these being said, my only worries is whether my DD can pass the PSLE exams at the end of 6 yrs of education here (since their 1st batch of PSLE students will only be in yr 2011).

I have to admit that overall, this open hse did wow me and many other parents.

kiasu mummy

I am new on this forum and read some amazing adv so I hope I get some here also... 😉

We've a flat within 1Km from Nan Chiau and we would like secure a place for DS. I understand that with PV and 1KM, we will fall under phase 2B. Will the SHKK (with endorsement on the application) helps further (i.e, get us into phase 2A?) I am not a SHKK member yet but heard that being a member does not guarantee a place so was adv by gal friend that doing PV will be a better alternative. Is this true? Do you recommend that we join SHKK for this seek?

We are currently putting up with in-laws in Bedok area and I also thought of considering Temasek Primary (Think in-laws' addy is within 1km) and Yu Neng Primary (DH's is an ex-boy) should we continue staying with them.

Can someone adv which of these is a good primary school; I know that I also have to visit to have a feel myself but going by the academics result, what is a better choice?

Thanks in advance for sharing. :thankyou:

Luanee

kiasu mummy:
                    We've a flat within 1Km from Nan Chiau and we would like secure a place for DS. I understand that with PV and 1KM, we will fall under phase 2B. Will the SHKK (with endorsement on the application) helps further (i.e, get us into phase 2A?)

Either PV or SHKK will qualify u under phase 2B. Having both doesnt get u into an earlier phase, so no point doing both.

leekien

cantbearit2:
                      Hi all,

Just went for the open hse of North Vista Primary Sch (NVPS) at Sengkang today and thot of sharing my humble views.

IM staying in Hougang but exactly 2km of NVPS. Its main attraction is being single session. This is one of my considerations besides HIPS.

This open hse is very informative although the principal does not gif straight ans to all our questions.

Surprisingly, it is rather impressive being a newly established sch (2 yrs old). The latest tech is inculcated into its curriculum (imagine flat screen apple desktop which has webcam facilities for doing presentation). Some of us were joking that their desktop is even better than what we have at hm. :lol:

The students also seem very well behaved compared to some other neighbourhood sch I have been to (though not sure if it's due to the fact that the oldest pupil is juz P4, still green so no mischief).

Another interesting fact is they have inhouse BASC to cater to working parents like us. I like the fact that we do not have to worry abt the fetch/send arrangements if we put them in BASC.

The curriculum is oso rather interesting. They can practically emcompass everything into their teaching. Eg. Combine maths and PE, sounds interesting enough?

Not forgetting being single session is a tremendous advantage. Our kids won't have to do hmwork right up to 10pm at nite.

They oso have volunteers from Boys/Girls Brigade to help out during both recess breaks (yes, they have 2 recesses for all levels for more interaction and bonding) to organise games for them in one of the classroom if they want to skip lunch. Not only do they play games but the volunteers will inculcate values to the children (at least that's what the very Christian-like Principal said).

All these being said, my only worries is whether my DD can pass the PSLE exams at the end of 6 yrs of education here (since their 1st batch of PSLE students will only be in yr 2011).

I have to admit that overall, this open hse did wow me and many other parents.
                      Hi, any idea where is North Vista Pri? cos we only mgd to see North Vista Secondary. Are they on the same sch compound?

:thankyou:

cantbearit2

Hi leekien,

It is very near to North Vista Secondary School. You may wish to take a walk around that area cos’ IM not too familiar wif that area either (no direction sense, hee…)

But one thg is 4 sure, they r not on d same sch compound.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 129