[Seng Kang] Primary Schools

1.3k Posts 367 Posters 537.2k Views 1 Watching
      Luanee

Yes, we are getting famous! We're getting famous! We finally managed to occupy a 5mm square of our venerable Straits Times. 😉 No need to pay somemore. I didn't even know until my wife, with her eye for details, told me about it. I only scan, while she REALLY reads.

Really? I didnt see the article either. What did ST write about us??

Luanee:
        ...Really? I didnt see the article either. What did ST write about us??

Err... for 5mm square? Just our URL :stupid:

joylly

Hie

I'v a boy who'll be P1 next year, YET I've not really decided where to put him !

AFter having done some talking w some very proud school admin in my vicinity. I stayed in Punggol, I've narrowed my focus to :

Montfort Junior ( in Hougang ) - loves the ECA and CCA there but travelling distance from there back to Punggol is almost 1 hr. By time my boy back it'll be at least 2.30 pm ! Way off his lunch time ! He'll probably faint in the bus ! On the other hand I could train him to eat some snacks on the bus back. :roll:

Rivervale Primary ( in SengKang ) - within 1 km of my place, got volunteer for only 5 hrs but stopped for a while caused of rumours that the school will only accepts PV w the HIGHEST hours clocked ! I was shocked ! :shock: Am I supposed to go chiu for volunteer time w other parents ? Then the school really treating us as suckers and free labour loh ! Really dont feel good ! :x Only reason I choose school cause it's one of good school in my vicinity ! But lousy ECA and CCA !

Edgefield Primary School ( my place downstairs ) - simple reason downstais only. Hubby say can watch out what kinda friends my boy mixes with and the kinda ppl he knows. One strong pt of this school is strong in sports that's all ! Others just okay and mediocre, even though I heard some ppl say they're improving in their activities. But ECA and CCA only starts in Pr 4 ! 😛

My boy is currently in Yamaha JXC and is pretty strong in musical background. I'd liked it if his school also has a solid base in music so that he will not lose touch , in case he decied to stop once finish his 4 yrs course, which would have finished during his P1.
          He's also very active, sociable, and finally he really prefers to talk and make friends w girls ! yea, that's the area where mummy's worried abt ! Whether they'll become a distraction for him in his academic career !

😞 :?:

SOmeone please help me out here plsssss ! REally in dead end now ! DOnt know where to go next ! Or should I just apply for all 3 schools in his P1 apllications ? SO whoever who takes him, he'll go into the school ? However, the 3 I've chosen is like high chances of getting in wan. AM I right ? Can someone comment on this too ?

THANK YOU, THANK YOU ! 🙏

JOUY

leekien

eh… im thinking of enrolling my boy in Riverale Pri when he’s g to Pri One… read abt "lousy ECA & CCA by joylly? actually how important are these?

(as 1st time parent kind of worry with a lot of things! + the current education system is no like what we used to experienced!!!)

any comments?

TQ!

joylly

U checked out their website loh !

The principal also very chinese traditional and community-bonded wan ho !
              Any community activities, u’ll probably be seeing them around !

ECA and CCA ? There’s practically nothing for them to boast abt !

STILL … I wont strike this school out for the sake of their academics, other than that … sigh …

I’m still waiting for someone to enlighten me on my choices !

Neostar

Hi I am new to this forum.

I need to check if there is any feedback of Sengkang Primary school?

I need to register my son for Pri 1 this year and dun know whether to register:

a) Sengkang pri - downstair n convenient
                b) Holy Innocents Pri - In Hougang, my former school

Can anyone help me?
                😢

Regards

lakshikhaasri

[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]

Hello All

We are planning to move to Senkang. I have a five year old son. Can anybody let me know the best schools in and around Sengkang?

leekien

ok lor…

kool dwn lah… what abt Compassvale Pri? hear say not bad lah… hv not read their website doh…

Mishasha

Anyone PV in Nan Chiau? Can't find any news / info from their website on PV. Can someone help? Tks! :please:

cantbearit2

Hi all,

Just went for the open hse of North Vista Primary Sch (NVPS) at Sengkang today and thot of sharing my humble views.

IM staying in Hougang but exactly 2km of NVPS. Its main attraction is being single session. This is one of my considerations besides HIPS.

This open hse is very informative although the principal does not gif straight ans to all our questions.

Surprisingly, it is rather impressive being a newly established sch (2 yrs old). The latest tech is inculcated into its curriculum (imagine flat screen apple desktop which has webcam facilities for doing presentation). Some of us were joking that their desktop is even better than what we have at hm. :lol:

The students also seem very well behaved compared to some other neighbourhood sch I have been to (though not sure if it's due to the fact that the oldest pupil is juz P4, still green so no mischief).

Another interesting fact is they have inhouse BASC to cater to working parents like us. I like the fact that we do not have to worry abt the fetch/send arrangements if we put them in BASC.

The curriculum is oso rather interesting. They can practically emcompass everything into their teaching. Eg. Combine maths and PE, sounds interesting enough?

Not forgetting being single session is a tremendous advantage. Our kids won't have to do hmwork right up to 10pm at nite.

They oso have volunteers from Boys/Girls Brigade to help out during both recess breaks (yes, they have 2 recesses for all levels for more interaction and bonding) to organise games for them in one of the classroom if they want to skip lunch. Not only do they play games but the volunteers will inculcate values to the children (at least that's what the very Christian-like Principal said).

All these being said, my only worries is whether my DD can pass the PSLE exams at the end of 6 yrs of education here (since their 1st batch of PSLE students will only be in yr 2011).

I have to admit that overall, this open hse did wow me and many other parents.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 129