Nanyang Girls' High School [*IP]

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    3.3k Posts 550 Posters 1.4m Views 3 Watching
      What The

lee_yl:
      Estéema:

[quote=\"lee_yl\"]
      Sometimes I am confused by the DSA directions. Why need to cherry pick top girls from all primary schools? I believe top girls from primary schools should have no problem hitting 264. I thought DSA was designed to help those who excel in one area but not for all academic subjects so probably couldn’t enter via NYGH using tscore?

Hearsay from a friend whose DD was very happy at NYGH for years 1 & 2. As she progressed higher, the girl got unhappy with the school recruiting more and more Scholars from China as these PRCs are quite “bitchy” and form their own cliques. But I guess it’s alright lah, just an early taste of social reality!

I never thot I wld stereotype, but yes, of all the PRCs in my neigbourhood then, except one lady rich & down-to-earth but not her daughter. The other ladies hv strike frdship just to get info of competitive ways to get their kids ahead - be it getting the best school admission, how to DSA into top schools (that's how I got to know this neigbour when she asked abt DSA, she wld gripe abt her girl not getting any EduSave awards tho top in all subjects & cohort bcoz they're still PRs). I told her she can help her child by converting to citizenship. Before I knew it, her girl hit 270 T-score, whilst previously kept claiming her girl can only stay in affiliated Sec sch but now in NYGH.

I've had a taste of these PRC 太太s (stayed in one such neigbourhood for more than 7 years) fluanting in their dressing, handbags & dishing out a big note even when I brought them to Tiong Bahru mkt. Sigh! Made it so difficult for the stallholders. I guess they can only assimilate after more years here, owise hope their kids learn to assimilate & not flaunt or bitch. If they keep up with their cliquish, how does our Spore kids get comfortable & trust their frdships?

I think education whichever sch it may be, shld uphold good values & if my kids hv to be faced with bitchy or selfish attitudes, then I'll hope they're not tempted with behaviours or pick up habits & attitudes when mingling in school or doing projects outside.

It is my hope that MOE & respective sch P supports the govt efforts to increase our population with these 2nd generation PRs by helping them to assimilate more & steer them fr unhealthy clamoring or flaunting. Without conscious effort to help them build genuine frdship, there'll not be any exchange of mutual learning or spurring constructive & healthy competition.

😂 When I was young and wet behind the ears, I find PRCs very friendly and nice. But over the years, I know their “pattern”. 表面上笑笑就好.

Even my relatives from China also like that. My MIL went back China to stay for a month, she did not give them enough money and was treated shabbily. There was once when she fell and hit her head with bleeding and what. When she asked to be sent to hospital, they only gave her 1 bottle of 风油。I remember my SIL was so upset and cried over the phone when she heard about it.[/quote]I heard a lot of such stories... when they come to Singapore, they expect you to be a great host and take good care of them, buy them gifts to bring home to China and go restaurants etc. When you go China, you may think they will be a good host also. But they expect you to pay for the restaurants which they brought you to... and you still need to buy them gifts... what kind of reciprocal kinship is that?!?!

What The

FantasyLandDreams:
        There’s also Asean, Hong Kong and Indian scholars in Sec 3 at NYGH too right? Ok maybe not Indian scholars due to subject combinations constraints.

I remembered there was a huge influx of above scholars during my time in another IP school in Sec 3 and JC1 respectively , and they always swept away the subject prizes and top few positions in standard.
        Still the same right? :evil:
        Indian and Malay scholars will probably goes to Raffles, I presume?
        Some more, these students do not need to pay a single cents of school fees.

• GanjiongspiderG Offline
          Ganjiongspider

We can’t blame the PRC for being more kiasu than us S’porean. In fact, it is their culture and values to be resilient and be on top. When my dd was in P1, I was very happy and contended when she scored 93 for Math. One of dd’s classmate’s PRC father asked how much my dd scored. I told him her results. He shook his head that his son scored very bad, very bad for his Math. I thought…ok…guess what? My dd told me he was the highest in whole cohort - 99 out of 100! Just 1 mark away from full marks considered very very bad. I cannot…

Then over the years when I chanced upon those PRC parents who lamented their child scored very badly, I always shook my head…Their scoring very bad is not our range of 70-80s, is 99.9%, very very bad for not scoring perfect results.

I really 佩服 both the PRC parents & the dc. It is their China’s cultures for being at the TOP. Last nite I chanced upon youtube about China one of the sports school, whereby over a large number of kids send for Olympic training at the the age of 6 or younger for few years, and only 1 or 2 cherry pick by coach to send them for Olympic competition. Their training were considered abusing but yet the kids are so enthu, so willing to get "tortured", just to be on the top.

Hence, I believe it is the culture of most PRC to be so hardworking among us not only when they are in our country. So, actually I really salute to them. Only the BEST survive in our cut-throat society.

lee_yl:

Sometimes I am confused by the DSA directions. Why need to cherry pick top girls from all primary schools? I believe top girls from primary schools should have no problem hitting 264. [

I thought DSA was designed to help those who excel in one area but not for all academic subjects so probably couldn’t enter via NYGH, using tscore?

Hearsay from a friend whose DD was very happy at NYGH for years 1 & 2. As she progressed higher, the girl got unhappy with the school recruiting more and more Scholars from China as these PRCs are quite “bitchy” and form their own cliques. But I guess it’s alright lah, just an early taste of social reality!
            After end of P5 SA1 -
            how do NYGH start cherry pick so many tens of Top girls, from 100+ primary schools all over Singapore island, to DSA ?

Is it after being invited to attend some P5 event arranged by NYGH, they sieve out the better quality ones, re-invite these better P5 students to come back next year again in P6, for the actual DSA interview, before Psle ?

Meanwhile, for the not-so-good P5 ones which they had already identified from the event attended, they won't re-invite them back anymore, next year P6 ?

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

Well, in my mum & grandma’s days, ppl used to feel nostalgia abt relatives left behind in poor china then, under the communist with no salary but a central control. Ppl used to send clothings & anything useful thro the 水客 who travels by the slow boat, earning a small comm fr carrying letters & stuff. Guess, that kind of mentality was built in them coz I rmbr my relatives used to think we’re bottomless pit, asking for everything in sundry all the time.

These days, many of us hv visited & know how some students who come get a place off-campus can complain our Spore home isn’t as nice or luxury for the price of rent. They can hv loads of furnishings & fixtures (don’t count quality yet) & in more luxurious look, mainly coz for years mfg has been located in China & raw costs low. They hv more super-highways & high-rise than we can imagine & many more ultra super huge shopping malls then we hv seen in Spore. We pale. Essentially, the real spending power is in China in today’s context. Everything we have in Spore are costly bcoz it’s imported & homegrown stuff are costly coz of lack of land & manpower resources.

Maybe we shld ‘emigrate’ back to China.

Alas, our Chinese relatives are more shrewd in getting good education & recognition to reach the rest of the world resources. They used to covet studies & jobs here to make a brand new start.

However, these days I noticed their nationalistic sentiments & the way they grab & go elsewhere & eventually bring knowledge, goods & culture back home to China. They’ll build the best for China. They’ll be part of building their nation as the top superpower, that’s why must do better than everyone else. So, how to depend on them to honestly mingle well with our kids & build our population? You can’t get loyalty unless they naturalized & convert to citizenship.

• ZappyZ Offline
                Zappy

lee_yl:

After end of P5 SA1 -
                how do NYGH start cherry pick so many tens of Top girls, from 100+ primary schools all over Singapore island, to DSA ?

Is it after being invited to attend some P5 event arranged by NYGH, they sieve out the better quality ones, re-invite these better P5 students to come back next year again in P6, for the actual DSA interview, before Psle ?

Meanwhile, for the not-so-good P5 ones which they had already identified from the event attended, they won't re-invite them back anymore, next year P6 ?

Isn't it application to DSA? I dont think NYGH invites students for the interview if they don't apply.

Zappy:

Isn't it application to DSA? I dont think NYGH invites students for the interview if they don't apply.
                  How come u don't seem to be aware of what's going on, based on the qn u asked here, plus in some other thread ?

Dont u know there is a difference, between being invited by NYGH vs. applying on your own ?

• ZappyZ Offline
                    Zappy

Zappy:

How come u don't seem to be aware of what's going on, based on the qn u asked here, plus in some other thread ?

Dont u know there is a difference, between being invited by NYGH vs. applying on your own ?

Wow, touchy.
                    Based on your question, you're implying that NYGH invites people in based on some P5 event for the DSA interview which I thought (and is in all MOE materials) was something that had to be applied for.

Zappy:

Wow, touchy.
                      Based on your question, you're implying that NYGH invites people in based on some P5 event for the DSA interview which I thought (and is in all MOE materials) was something that had to be applied for.
                      again, u have mis-understood.

That's why much earlier : lee_yl had already mentioned (questioned) \"why cherry-pick Top students, from so many primary schools ?\" in Sg

mommyNg

Ganjiongspider:
                        We can't blame the PRC for being more kiasu than us S'porean. In fact, it is their culture and values to be resilient and be on top. When my dd was in P1, I was very happy and contended when she scored 93 for Math. One of dd's classmate's PRC father asked how much my dd scored. I told him her results. He shook his head that his son scored very bad, very bad for his Math. I thought...ok...guess what? My dd told me he was the highest in whole cohort - 99 out of 100! Just 1 mark away from full marks considered very very bad. I cannot...

Then over the years when I chanced upon those PRC parents who lamented their child scored very badly, I always shook my head...Their scoring very bad is not our range of 70-80s, is 99.9%, very very bad for not scoring perfect results.

Hence, I believe it is the culture of most PRC to be so hardworking among us not only when they are in our country. So, actually I really salute to them. Only the BEST survive in our cut-throat society.
                        I know one PRC mum who told me she was disappointed in her DD, that her DD didn't do very well in PSLE (her DD DSA via Sports to NYGH). Guess what, her DD scored 260 for PSLE :siao: . Hardworking is good, want to survive is good, and eager to excel is good. But too much of it will be detrimental to the mental well-being and character development of the child (e.g., depression, cheating, backstabbing). I felt some of these PRC parents can be a bit 过火。正与邪,好与坏,只是一线之差。

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 183 / 329