PSLE : Boys motivated to check MCQ. A mythical habit ?
Thank you Pangyx!
:thankyou:
You're back to help the kids with Science. Thank you, thank you! I'm sure many parents will be very appreciative & very grateful!
Will you be able to provide written guidelines on OE Structured questions techniques? TIA -
Pangyx, hiatus for so long. Pls come more often and help out in the science. :please:
Pangyx:
This sounds like marketing blurb. So, are u going to reveal the “secret” to us? Or are u going to tout some tuition lessons?
Imagine... your boy is doing a set of practice MCQ from a top school exam paper. After he is done, he is furiously checking his work again and again and again, wanting nothing but perfection in his score, 56/56 Section A.
The best part ? U are just sitting there watching him trying his best to aim for perfection. No need for you to give reminders. No need for you to nag. He is doing it all by himself, self motivated.
Can this be real ? :scratchhead:
By the way, I have found the way to motivate my son to check his work carefully (especially Maths). Just wanted to see how much better your secret is. -
zac’s mum,
Don’t jump like this! Pangyx is a true blue guy always helping the kids weak with Science. He’s got a good heart. Just maybe he’s been busy all these while.
Think he’s just lyricing how parents handle their kids. He’s a balance Sc teacher, always looking out for the underdogs (our poor kids under stress). -
Haha Esteema, dont compliment until like this leh. I am average only, later other people suddenly start to have very high expectation then I die liao
I know you, lah. Honest feedback fr my chat with u last year. Just do what u can & our kids will benefit fr your body of knowledge with Science & hope you help them love study Science & not stumble in this subj esp frisgtened/discouraged by their efforts with OE qns. I feel a lot can be done fr this angle. Thanks for being u - heavy workload & still come here to help parents & help kids. 赞!
zac's mum:
This sounds like marketing blurb. So, are u going to reveal the “secret” to us? Or are u going to tout some tuition lessons?Pangyx:
Imagine... your boy is doing a set of practice MCQ from a top school exam paper. After he is done, he is furiously checking his work again and again and again, wanting nothing but perfection in his score, 56/56 Section A.
The best part ? U are just sitting there watching him trying his best to aim for perfection. No need for you to give reminders. No need for you to nag. He is doing it all by himself, self motivated.
Can this be real ? :scratchhead:
By the way, I have found the way to motivate my son to check his work carefully (especially Maths). Just wanted to see how much better your secret is.
zac`s mum
I am thinking of this problem and fantasizing about an ideal solution for this. Wow, I did not expect anyone to have a way to motivate boys to check this work carefully, its tough u know...
But since u found a way to motivate your son to check carefully (especially with Math), can share with all of us so that we can improve together ? We all face this problem u know..
Can share ? -
Oic. So u were asking the qn. I thought u had the answer lol.
I went thru the same frustration. Nagging and reminding did not work. It was an attitude/stubbornness issue. I knew that if he just freaking checked, he was smart enough the spot the mistake. So need to incentivize him to check.
U just need to dangle some carrots. What does he like? I use 10 minutes of Minecraft game time to incentivize him. Set the incentive appropriately too. I didn’t promise him the game as a reward for checking. I promised him the game as a reward for full marks (in each practice test/assessment book chapter). Explained to him that it was the lack of checking which led to less than full marks.
So now he is motivated to check. And gets full marks as a result. -
Hi Pangyx, For SC MCQ, I get them to annotate (different colours/markers) - keywords, cues…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.