[Alexandra/Bukit Merah/Queenstown/Tiong Bahru] Preschools
[Moderator's Note: Topics merged.]
Hi all,
I intend to send my child to childcare when she turns 18 months.
Does anyone has any comments/feedback on the following childcare centres:
(1) Cherie Hearts @ Harbourfront
(2) Twinks School House @ Jln Bukit Merah (Former HDB Hub)
(3) Learning Vision @ Jln Bukit Merah (Former HDB Hub)
(4) Sherwood Child Care @ Ayer Rajah Crescent
(5) Seedlings Montessori Alexandra @ Dawson Place
Would also appreciate if you could also provide some recommendations around these area.
Thanks! -
My child is with True Way and he is happy there but bear in mind, there is no homework or spelling or tingxie (some parents may be concerned). So far all the work is done in school. I’m quite a laid back parent so I’m pleased that he picks up reading and writing in school. But I think the most important factor is the teachers themselves and not the school. Hth.
I have good experience at Learning Vision arthur road before. Did visit the Learning Vision @ Jln Bukit Merah when my DS turn 18 months too.
The people seems quite nice althought the space is a bit small compare to arthur road. But learning vision has a good system and curriculum so should be alright.
Some mums had pretty good comments on cherie hearts. Can read their comments here http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/childcare/cherie-hearts-harbourfront-pte-ltd -
Thanks mincy!
My son is in Queenstown Good Shepherd since his pre-nursery up to now K1. Generally, i think that the teachers there are caring and friendly. Most importantly, they have an immersion chinese programme after school if your child is weak in Chinese. My son benefits a lot from this programme and now he can speak to me in Mandarin very confidently.
yemother:
... they have an immersion chinese programme after school if your child is weak in Chinese. My son benefits a lot from this programme and now he can speak to me in Mandarin very confidently...
That is good to hear! However, I feel that the best \"immersion\" is still what goes on at home. Did you do any follow up by making it a point to speak Mandarin to your son at home, after class? That would probably help a lot more than what goes on in the kindergarten. -
Hi Chiefkiasu,
I have tried before I enrolled him to the chinese immersion programme and he simply switched off once I started to communicate in Mandarin. However, since the programme, he seems to develop the interest in chinese and right now, I have no problem of teaching him in chinese. Probably, in the first place, my teaching method was not right and that why he had shown no interest in chinese. Sigh. -
Is this Immersion prog conducted by Ednoland?? Ds’ kindy oso offer similar Immersion Chinese but we didnt sign up, we find it very ex.
I can’t whether it is conducted by Ednoland but the course fee is something about $400++ per term, 3 hrs 2 times a week with a lunch provided.
Is Queenstown Good Shepherd just a kindergarten and not a childcare centre?
By the way, my daughter was in N2 at True Way Kindergarten once for a short while but changed it as we need to put her in a full-day childcare. While she was at True Way, she enjoyed herself and still has fond memories of her time there.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.