Travel: Japan - General
mckenzy:
Hi mckenzy,Shinagawa Prince and Prince Shinagawa are 2 different hotels.
The one that is nearer Shinagawa station is Prince Shinagawa...
7 yr old... hmm... my girl was 6... every little bit helps... there'll be heaps of walking
have u stayed at Shinagawa Prince before ? I think they have many towers, which one is better ?
I think the one that is nearer to Shinagawa station is Shinagawa Prince (http://www.princehotels.com/en/shinagawa/)
The other 2 are (but there is a uphill climb to the hotel):
# Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
# Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa (Good neighbour hotel) -
i will be going for first time, which part is best to go…tokyo …hokaido or where …also , is there a language problem there…i was told that there will be…
mamemo... you are right... i stayed at the Shinagawa Prince. (had to check my old bookmarks again :P)
its the nearest to the West side of the station... nearby has a 7-eleven. the station itself has a good info counter, they speak English.
This station is nice. when crowded, its not THAT crowded as Shinjuku.
There is a small mall with a basement supermarket too. -
mckenzy:
Hi mckenzy, shows that u need another trip to tokyo soon !mamemo... you are right... i stayed at the Shinagawa Prince. (had to check my old bookmarks again :P)
its the nearest to the West side of the station... nearby has a 7-eleven. the station itself has a good info counter, they speak English.
This station is nice. when crowded, its not THAT crowded as Shinjuku.
There is a small mall with a basement supermarket too.
thanks for the information, seems like shinagawa is a good place to stay as compared to shinjuku. btw, does the supermarket sell diapers and milk ? in case I run out
:oops:
[quote]Hi mckenzy, shows that u need another trip to tokyo soon ! Smile[/quote]Tell me about it... the kids are nagging me every other day... i try not to think about it too much... heart pain... S$10k per trip... cannot tahan...
umm... my kids were 6 and 11 oreadi when we went last november... diapers not really on our list of things to shop for... heh...
come to think of it... we only went to their cooked food sections... and maybe the wet market part... did not really look at the dry foods...
someone shared about bringing 1 year old before somewhere.... must check back... either this thread or similar... -
chixchix:
i will be going for first time, which part is best to go..tokyo ..hokaido or where ...also , is there a language problem there..i was told that there will be..
I went to hokkaido for 5 days and tokyo 2 days, 3+ years ago. I personally prefer Tokyo, maybe yet to explore there due to time constraint. As for Hokkaido, u need travel v long from one destination to another destination. At tat time was Winter, by the time we reached destination almost 5pm...and surprising u can see the Moon at 5 - 6pm..and can only explore indoor hotel as outside too dark.
My colleague went there during Spring...he said more scenic during this period. -
sigh, would like to, but then have already book the airtix, and will need to incur charges if change.... :([/quote]
mamemo: the ticket for year end not available leh..i called airline they says ticket price not available. Which airline u booked? I am planning to go mid dec leh. -
because of this, and because we can see the fireworks from the hotel room itself, we'll be staying at sheraton grande instead :)[/quote]
mamemo: Initially we thot of staying near Disney however as we are heading to Osaka and then bk to Tokyo so I guess likely to stay near Shinagawa cos that's one of the Shinkasen stop, else when settle in and to move w luggages, kids and elderly might be a challenge. -
The other 2 are (but there is a uphill climb to the hotel):
# Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
# Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa (Good neighbour hotel)[/quote]
Just to share: however these are corporate rates
These properties do provide shuttle to Disney and airport drop off and pick up too :0
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa :
Standard Twin (2 pax) @ JPY14,500/room/night
Superior Twin (2 pax) @ JPY18,500/room/night
Club Twin (2 pax) @ JPY20,000/room/night
The Quad rooms are fall blocked by agents (hotel not selling this category)
The Prince Sakura Tower :
Twin (2 pax) @ JPY20,000/room/night
Quad (4 pax) @ JPY32,000/room/night
Both hotels (within walking distance from Shinagawa Prince Hotel-opposite Station)
are in same vicinity (under same management). -
June:
because of this, and because we can see the fireworks from the hotel room itself, we'll be staying at sheraton grande instead

mamemo: Initially we thot of staying near Disney however as we are heading to Osaka and then bk to Tokyo so I guess likely to stay near Shinagawa cos that's one of the Shinkasen stop, else when settle in and to move w luggages, kids and elderly might be a challenge.[/quote]
Hi June, thanks for the info !
I booked SIA cos we are also claiming miles. The price was $910 (i think, 2-to-go deals) per adult that time. think they do have promos sometimes.
Yes, some people stay at Grand Prince New Takanawa cos of the Disney shuttle. But I read that it's a uphill walk from the station to the hotel, which would be a drag at the end of a long sightseeing day if we visit other parts of tokyo.
I also considered the difficult of moving every1 around, so I'm going to forward my luggages from hotel to hotel with the takyubin service (http://www.kuronekoyamato.co.jp/english/services/takkyu.html), then we'll travel light.
Just to share Shinagawa rates:
Twin sharing (higher floors) $13500 yen
Twin sharing (lower floors) $13000 yen
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.