2018 PSLE Discussions & Strategies (Born in 2006)
S1 posting results are released by SMS…so technically PSLE results can be released by SMS too hor?
S1 posting results : only 1 result, posted to which Sec school. Limited info. Hence, can be sent by sms, no issue
Detailed psle results: 4 subjects, different. More info . Not advisable to be sent by sms. To be safe, can ask p6 students to login school portal, check their own detailed 4 subjects’ results, in the same manner as if one were to login to check DSA results.
Eg
like next year 2019 start, if u say, apply to 2 or 3 DSA schools, at one glance, u can see centralized results listing -which school going to accept or reject your Application at the end, after going through the entire DSA process. -
laughingcat:
got improvement from usual std is bigger winner, pass psle is winner..can have post result celebration. I must start manage and massage my expectation..pls dont scold the kids for whatever they get..ski:
How do we define Winners and Losers in PSLE? By highest T-scorces? Or must be 250 and above? A child who is used to failing his subjects, or barely passes his subjects during his primary school years but worked very hard during his PSLE and eventually passed all his subjects. No high T-score or whatsoever for him. Wouldn't we consider him a winner? No?
Still a winner coz pass PSLE liao. -
lee_yl:
Liddat the websites sure die liao, for a day from 12am to 12pm. Must stand by lots of servers...I like @cloud’s suggestion. Check on-line.
Personal.
I think this is just the reality of life – there are always going to be people smarter, richer, stronger, faster. No need to overthink all these – it is what it is. Hiding or shielding children from it doesn’t make it untrue. Announcing or not doesn’t matter too much to us one way or the other in terms of stress/ happiness/ sadness.
Having said that, I would personally prefer not to have to sit for an hour listening to the statistics. Not because we would be upset due to seeing other students do well, but because I think we will all be super anxious to get the results in Nov – so the longer the wait, the more the nervous energy will be amplified.
Getting the results quickly would be great. The online portal suggestion is good too – it’s private and secure like getting DSA results. -
Another way is, on actual psle results release date:
Principal on stage, inform all parents and p6 students that, after they have received (collated) their PSLE perforated slips inside their own individual p6 classroom, know their results already , those who want to find out further about p6 cohort performance statistics, can come back to the school hall at time xxx to take group photo for high scorers above 250 / 260 / 270 (whatever is the time mentioned by principal, during school announcement ).
While those not interested, can leave after collecting results inside p6 classroom, can go home. Let student decide themselves , whether to stay back in school hall to listen further, or to balik rumah -
MyPillow:
Well said. I do agree there is a yearning by teachers to see the kids. Just like farmers who like to see their crops bloom in the sunlight. But hall-based PSLE results giving is just too brutal for some folks, especially if they did not do well. I understand that it might be motivational for some, but in general, is it not better to receive your results in the privacy of your own room, giving you the choice of whether you want to rejoice or hide?I think Moe or teachers prefer the personal touch of giving out results slip to their students . It may be the last time my ds female Form Teacher hug/ shakes hands with every single child in her class.
I felt rather touched n heart warming at the scene & how the kids interact with each other , boys are rather cute , the tap their pal shoulders giving encouragements. Girls are more reserved - I din see any reactions that time .
to give out results in Sch hall - prob the P wants to show some stats of the students achievements- but no naming , no going on stage are greatly appreciated and acts of being kind / considerate to others .
It’s Not about kids / parents can’t take pressure ... let’s be mindful n sensitive . Love your neighbors la
Anyway , there is award ceremony to invite back the top psle scorers back to Sch to collect book prizes -
Reminds me when I once congratulated a colleague for her promotion. She reminded me that must “hush hush” as many other colleagues were not promoted.
Well said. I do agree there is a yearning by teachers to see the kids. Just like farmers who like to see their crops bloom in the sunlight. But hall-based PSLE results giving is just too brutal for some folks, especially if they did not do well. I understand that it might be motivational for some, but in general, is it not better to receive your results in the privacy of your own room, giving you the choice of whether you want to rejoice or hide?MyPillow:
I think Moe or teachers prefer the personal touch of giving out results slip to their students . It may be the last time my ds female Form Teacher hug/ shakes hands with every single child in her class.
I felt rather touched n heart warming at the scene & how the kids interact with each other , boys are rather cute , the tap their pal shoulders giving encouragements. Girls are more reserved - I din see any reactions that time .
to give out results in Sch hall - prob the P wants to show some stats of the students achievements- but no naming , no going on stage are greatly appreciated and acts of being kind / considerate to others .
It’s Not about kids / parents can’t take pressure ... let’s be mindful n sensitive . Love your neighbors la
Anyway , there is award ceremony to invite back the top psle scorers back to Sch to collect book prizes
While those that do well rejoice, those who don’t meet their expectations will feel sad. Maybe instead of giving out results in the hall or classroom, parents can collect their results from the office or view on line.
Schools can arrange an “award” celebration for those that do well on a separate day. -
After collect results slip, when do we fill up (submit ) the list of 6 choices Secondary schools, for S1 posting ?
Submission via internet will be within 7 calendar days, starting from (inclusive of) PSLE results release date.
If submit via Pri school, it is 5 working days (likely to be the same closing date after including the weekend.) -
“Hiding and shielding children from it won’t make it untrue.” Hmmm... Maybe you should tell MOE that the current changes to do away with not announcing the class/cohort ranking in schools is all BS.
I think parents should have a change of their mindset if we really want to change S’poreans’ (unhealthy) obsession with academic excellence. Schools should also stop announcing the statistics of those scoring 250/260/270 etc. At least my DD1’s school has stopped all these and I don’t even know how many % of her primary school cohort scored above 250.
Why parents think that going through this will toughen the kids? I believe many have gone through this “ritual” and yet our statistics only show that more and more teens committed suicide.
Ironically, it could be due to the overwhelming focus on academic excellence and children comparing too much among themselves.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.