Pei Chun Public
hi pei chun mummies !
my boy is going into pei chun next year, as i’m an alumni, so would be registering under phase 2b.
I’m now thinking of logistics issues next year. Do you know of any good student care near the school ?
Thanks ! -
Hi All parents,
I am new here. My girl will attend Pei Chun in 2012. was wondering if anyone can kindly share with me how long it will take if she is on school bus from toa payoh to hougang.
Was wondering if there is anyone who is staying in hougang too. please share with me your experiences.
Thank you very much -
vkoh:
Tks Vkoh for all the info indeed.
Hihi, some of the P1 students already have facebook account, not to say P4 students....hahacbreeze:
Hi Vkoh!
Wow....you mean P4 students already have facebook account..? Or do they start much earlier? BTW, does the school conduct e-learning on certain days whereby the students can stay at home to log in simultaneously for lessons? I do know of some schools conducting such sessions & am wondering if PCPS have that.
Escalators for the school? Where is the likely location? As for the PE t-shirts, I saw the booklist for P1 with the different colour indications, so I presumed parents can select?? No..??
The school does not conduct e-learning, but sometimes they do have homework to be done from the web. To be prepared when the school is closed due to SARS or H1N1.
They are going to construct the escalators near to the classrooms so as the poor children need not climb the stairs with their heavy bags. -
mamemo:
Hello!hi pei chun mummies !
my boy is going into pei chun next year, as i'm an alumni, so would be registering under phase 2b.
I'm now thinking of logistics issues next year. Do you know of any good student care near the school ?
Thanks !
First & foremost, a warm welcome to the site.
If you an alumni member, you should register under phase 2A1, not 2B. As for the list of student care centres, can refer to the link below.
http://sharepoint.peichunpublic.moe.edu.sg/sites/SchoolPortal/publicportal/schoolinfo/otherinformation.aspx
Look under \" other information\" for your list. Just in case you can't find, here's the list. YOu will find the PCPS website rich with all your relevant infos. Happy reading.. :lol:
iConnect Student Care
7, Toa Payoh Lor 8, First Toa Payoh Primary School, SINGAPORE 319252
PCF Toa Payoh East Student Care Centre
Blk 43, Toa Payoh Lor 5, #01 - 131, SINGAPORE 310043
Deerland BASC
Blk 50, Toa Payoh Lor 5, #01 - 69, SINGAPORE 310050
Little Professors Student Care Centre
Blk 206, Toa Payoh North, #01 - 1213, SINGAPORE 310206
Pro-Teach BASC and Tuition Centre
93, Toa Payoh Central, #01 - 05, Toa Payoh Central CC, SINGAPORE 319194
Jessin Student Care Centre
Blk 141, Toa Payoh Lorong 2, #01 - 162, SINGAPORE 310141
Care Corner Student Care Centre (Toa Payoh)
Blk 159, Toa Payoh Lor 1, #01 - 1530, SINGAPORE 310159
Dowell Tuition Centre (Toa Payoh)
Blk 157, Toa Payoh Lor 1, #01 - 1243, SINGAPORE 310157
Starkidz BASC
Blk 147, Potong Pasir Ave 1, #02 - 89, SINGAPORE 350147
96399426 -
cbreeze:
Oopsie, blur me, thanks cbreeze for the info ! The website takes an awful long time to load from my office
Hello!
First & foremost, a warm welcome to the site.
If you an alumni member, you should register under phase 2A1, not 2B. As for the list of student care centres, can refer to the link below.
http://sharepoint.peichunpublic.moe.edu.sg/sites/SchoolPortal/publicportal/schoolinfo/otherinformation.aspx
ok, now need to find out which one is the nearest to pei chun -
Hi All
It has been 25 years since I graduated from PC. its very heartening to find this thread. My girl will enrol in 2011. Like many english-speaking families, I am also very worried too about whether she can cope with higher chinese. i have a bigger problem - we stay in yishun…I cannot begin to imagine the logistic nightmare of sending her to school. Any of you from Yishun? can recomend sch bus lobang to me please? Due to distance, i initially decided against sending her to PC but too many people psycho me relentless saying things like…"if you don’t send your girl to PC, you will also deny her children the chance of attending PC in the future!" I was sold on PC almost immediately…ha
I remember the veteran principal, Mr Chen - I was caned by him during assembly a few times. I also remember "mo xie" during CL2 class. After each mo xie, me and classmates will que up and eat "kway teow" on our palms…1 stroke of the came for each mistake. Back then, we all gong gong lah…dunno how to complaint one, we were told its good for us and we believe lor. But I guess things must have changed since la.
Very pleased also that the sporting culture is still strong at PC. The school is a long time powerhouse for "chinese" sports like volleyball, table tennis, badminton etc. I was fortunate to be in the volleyball sch team but things were different - we did not have sports classes like now. From pri 3 i think, we have inter-class tournaments which were very SERIOUS events. The school employed pro coaches from China who would hand-pick kids to train for the school team. We didn’t win and felt the wrath of both the coach and principal then. That’s why I decided against playing competitive volleyball again in sec sch. Too bad my girl is not much a sports person, she will probably lean towards the arts and dances I guess.
Anyway, sorry for being cheong hei. Just glad to get acquainted with this thread and fellow parents of PC kids. -
Hi hotspurs,
I live further up north.
My DD2 car-pool for P1.
P2, our maid & her class mate’s maid took turns to travel with them to sch, the children travel home together.
P3 my maid travelled with her till TPY station, she travelled home herself.
P4 this yr- no more maid, she travels with DD1 who drops off in Orchard station. She comes home on her own. Sometimes she will travel with sch/class mates living in north area.
For myself, I do not like the Peichun sch bus drivers I have spoken to so far, so will not engage their service. The sch bus vendors will be there during the P1 Adm Day in Nov, can check with the bus drivers then.
I also hesitated when registering my DD2 for P1 few yrs back. Then, if I don’t, she might ask why jie jie can go Peichun, she is in another sch. Rather let them start off from same platform, then, where they ended up, is their own hard work. -
Hi hotspurs,
wow u got caned by Mr Chen for mo xie ? I cannot remember that he did that ! But really I agree with you that Mr Chen is a truely passionate principal, which is difficult to find nowadays. I still fondly recall that he gives personal tuition to weaker P6 students during my time.
I think the reason why Pei Chun can achieve such a high standard now is because of him. He is like the \"Minister Mentor\" of Pei Chun
Heard from my son that they are going to have escalators in the school from 2013 onwards.....
Hi Vkoh!
Have they started fund raising for the installation of escalators in the school yet? Is there any information posted in PCP website on this? I can't find it?? :? BTW, is the school security very stringent towards parents visitation?
Hope you & other parents can share more on the current school scenario..
Thanks in advance :lol: -
My boy will be going to PC next year. I am an alumni member. Can I know who is the system like? For P1, is there any CA and SA or is it project work?
I heard that starting from next year, all schools in Singapore will not have exams for P1 and P2, is that true?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.