All About Grooming & Encouraging Good Reading Habits
jedamum, from what I recall, bk 1 really spurred him on to bk 2. Think the cliffhanger continues until the series is over (read that bk 10 is out but not sure if that's the end :)). He says The rest are not so well written. But he read on cos he wanted to find out what's next. The cards- I didn't look at it actually. My feeling is, not so necessary? There's some link w the computer but I don't let him on, so perhaps the cards tie into this. I'm outside but try the website http://www.39clues.com (I'm guessing!).
that means can start and stop at book 1 without cliffhanger?
library copies don't come with cards, so wondering if it may be like a missing puzzle without the cards to provide clues.
Lemme know if yr son likes :). -
kids_r_innocent:
Hi kids_r_innocent, as jedamum says, how old are your kids so we can make recommendations?Hi...
Anyone is able to advise how we can choose \"good english books\" for our children to read when there are so many out there in the market/library. Especially so for those books with good contents and yet suffice pictures to engage the young readers.
If you're talking about picture books for very young children (I'm taking a stab in the dark), how about Richard Scarry books? I remember my son loved them all. They have very cute illustrations with a rather oddball sense of humour.
Do let us know. Cheers! -
Blobbi:
ooo....mobile surfing....
jedamum, from what I recall, bk 1 really spurred him on to bk 2. Think the cliffhanger continues until the series is over (read that bk 10 is out but not sure if that's the end :)). He says The rest are not so well written. But he read on cos he wanted to find out what's next. The cards- I didn't look at it actually. My feeling is, not so necessary? There's some link w the computer but I don't let him on, so perhaps the cards tie into this. I'm outside but try the website http://www.39clues.com (I'm guessing!).
Lemme know if yr son likes :).
he has gonna clear his 1 spiderwick book, 4 science titles and 2 fiction titles before i let him try 39 Clues
; meanwhile gonna go library to look see first (don't think i'll have time to browse library shelves anymore once i get my keys
). thanks!!
Wah, You're so organized! I know exactly what you mean! I need to do that too, have a queue of books. And I just LURVE series' cos it means can shake leg till he finish, *grin*.
he has gonna clear his 1 spiderwick book, 4 science titles and 2 fiction titles before i let him try 39 Clues
; meanwhile gonna go library to look see first (don't think i'll have time to browse library shelves anymore once i get my keys
). thanks!!
ok better git off the internet to think about how to organize meself. Oh one thing about Spiderwick - after my son finished Book 5 (can't remember - the last one!), he freaked out on fantasy books. Think it was very scary for him. He's slowly recovering, but I realized after that - nothing too exciting (I'm very lazy to preread), so am trying for safe titles instead. -
Blobbi:
And I just LURVE series' cos it means can shake leg till he finish, *grin*.Blobbi:
spiderwick is my boy's first fantasy book series; the one sitting on the shelf is bk 1 of second series. i had to entice him by reading the first few chapters to him to start his engine :roll: . i read from here somewhere about the the killing of the dwarfs (dunno in book 4 or 5) that some kids may not be able to accept, so i pre-read the 5 books (not a problem cos i find them interesting too :D); my boy just asked me why the orge did not want to keep the dwarfs around. i even borrowed the Guide so that i can answer his queries about some of the creatures. actually i was the obsessed one and not him :oops: . i should really stop reading fantasy books.ok better git off the internet to think about how to organize meself. Oh one thing about Spiderwick - after my son finished Book 5 (can't remember - the last one!), he freaked out on fantasy books. Think it was very scary for him. He's slowly recovering, but I realized after that - nothing too exciting (I'm very lazy to preread), so am trying for safe titles instead.
Hi Cutie Blobbi avatarโฆ ;D
Thks for your reply.
I am looking for toddlerโs books and books for K1/K2.
Ohโฆ Richard Scarry books? I have only seen the VCDs though, didnt know they have storybooks too. Is it available in the library and if so, which section huh?? blur queen heeโฆ
TIA. -
Blobbi:
Totally understand the feeling, but instead of shaking leg, I'm busy scouring libraries for available copies of those he hasn't read. Half the time, i end up borrowing titles he's read already (those series that are not so clearly book 1,2,3 etc). So a bit kee siao also.And I just LURVE series' cos it means can shake leg till he finish, *grin*.
kids_r_innocent:
Personally find Richard Scarry a bit hard to read cos the pictures in the books are very 'busy' - but then again, my kids also didn't quite get Dr Seuss so we never go there also.
I am looking for toddler's books and books for K1/K2.
Oh... Richard Scarry books? I have only seen the VCDs though, didnt know they have storybooks too. Is it available in the library and if so, which section huh?? *blur queen* hee...
kids_r_innocent, not sure what type of books you like but some of my personal faves (mine both boys hor).
Hairy Maclary of Donaldson's Diary series - by Lynley Dodd (from NZ). About a dog and his doggy friends and cat nemesis. For younger kids. Stories are a bit rhyming sort and it's really quite loads of fun (not too wordy).
For K2 boy, I like books by Shoo Rayner like Monster Boy series, Just So Stories (based on Rudyard Kipling's books). He's read a bit of Jeremy Strong (loves the Pirate School series - quite thin as compared to his other books). Magic Tree House series, and Dinosaur Cove are other stuff that appeals to him.
All these from our very own SG library!! -
Blobbi:
Hi Blobbi,
Teehee, Jedamum, I wrote about this a few pages ago but got no response. I think Cafelatte may also have an idea. Hope she sees this.jedamum:
RE 39 Clues
any idea if must start from Book 1? can stop halfway or must go on-and-on...? are the cards essential in forming part of the reading experience?
TIA.
Anyway, our experience is this: after the first book, the quality of the books went downhill. Rick Riordan, the author of the 1st, is the best according to my son. After that, some books were more of a struggle than others. He's stuck at bk6 and not clamouring for more. I got him the cards when he wanted - they provide clues. Think he stopped at card pack 2. There are already some cards in each book, so that might suffice.
Hope you get better mileage out of it!
Yes I agree!! The first book for 39 clues is the best, I think that is because Rick Riordan is the writer, he is also the author of Percy Jackson, the Percy Jackson series is another must-get series! Every book there is good! -
Hee, there you go, kids_r_innocent! hquek's got quite a few too.
Its true - the Richard Scarry books are very busy with a lot of illustrations and words filling up the entire page. At the time, my son was sight reading (now I know the term. Last time, thot that wasn't considered reading - actually still have my doubts but n'er mind lah. Now can read good enough!).
I don't know if they're in the library - they have the big, hardcover sort and the small square sort that I got from the second hand bookstore at Holland V (although this is in the new bk section).
Oh yeah, dunno whether it's the same Donaldson that hquek mentioned, but there's Julia Donaldson's, http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=julia+donaldson&x=0&y=0. Verrrrry nice!
Plus Pamela Allen's Mr McGee books. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=mr+mcgee+pamela+allen&x=0&y=0
These are very simple and fabulous books - laugh till peng some more.
For us, the Dr Seuss books. Yow!!
These books bring back warm memories, :love:.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.