Me Time!
I cannot see myself not working. As it is each time things slow down, I will look for new things to do. 3yrs ago I wondered what I have gotten myself into when I started this new venture. At that time I said no more, this will be the last acquisition or start up. It was a hectic 1st year and by the end of the 2nd year, things fell into place and everything was chugging along. Now I am getting restless again. How to stop working like that?
oh Funz, hope to draw some positive energy from you!
Funz
I wish to tap some positive energy from you too.
By right, your way is correct and is what I wish for.
A few years ago when I was transferred to the current place, I was ambitious and determined to do a great job. Soon reality sets in and maybe am just tired after working since left school. -
Funz\" post_id=\"1900124\" time=\"1551247018\" user_id=\"6230:
Funz,
I cannot see myself not working. As it is each time things slow down, I will look for new things to do. 3yrs ago I wondered what I have gotten myself into when I started this new venture. At that time I said no more, this will be the last acquisition or start up. It was a hectic 1st year and by the end of the 2nd year, things fell into place and everything was chugging along. Now I am getting restless again. How to stop working like that?
Don’t stop keeping busy. The value is in keeping yourself active, energetic, healthy & mentally agile. Probably one of the reasons I to come in to chat. I get some ‘sharpening’ & if I can contribute in any way (until I go senile).
I’m always trying to pick up ano hobby or do something meaningful to justify my existence lah. Was thinking of doing a small bz - sth along the line of our survival. Hv to plan properly. Hope extended family enable that dream to come true after replacement helper arrives. -
I guess for me, the grass is always greener at the other end. When my kids were babies, I was a FTWM and life was always busy working and picking up kids after work. When we relocated to Auckland, I told myself to take life slowly, but after 6 months, I couldn’t bear the boredom and took up a job. When we moved back to SG, I told myself I’ll be a SAHM this time, and I did but it only lasted 3 months before I started looking for a job. Now fast forward 11 years, I am still a FTWM but find myself so looking forward to the day I can retire. Although work is manageable, it’s the mental stress and commitment that I’d love to do without.
i think being a salaried employee and running own business produce different outcome of mindset.
we work bcoz of the salary/bonus and vacation leave etc
Running own biz has its own satisfaction & achievement that salaried employee can't achieve and taste at all.
My runway is confirmed shorter as a salaried staff , unless i can think of a business to start up too ....dun think I have biz mind ... hmmm... back as a 打工女 :roll: -
Everything have their own pros and cons.
I think the ones who are commendable are people like slmkhoo and Jennifer. They stopped work for many years for the sake of their kids and when kids are independent, they enter the workforce again. Not easy as people tend to be resistant to change and as we grow older, our appetite for challenges also diminish. -
I am fortunate that I have been able to get part-time work. I think society has to change how work is structured. Not everyone wants to or can work full-time and high-intensity, including people with young kids, sick family members, etc. At the same time, there is a need to get more locals to fill the vacancies if we don’t want too many foreign workers. Many people, not just older people, would prefer to do some work, but not 50 hrs a week. Unfortunately, most employers are just too stuck in a rut to redesign jobs to take into account these changes in society. I would like to see employers splitting jobs up so they can be done by part-timers, or allowing job-sharing. I’ve heard so many people tell me that part-time work means working just as much in less time for less pay - that’s not fair.
Employees also have to play their part by being responsible and taking work seriously (I do note that part-timers don’t always seem to take work seriously, or interpreting "flexi" to mean "no need to work if the boss isn’t there to see"). And older workers have to change their mindset that salaries must stay at a certain level or it "isn’t worth it" or "no face"; I don’t think there’s anything shameful in taking less responsibility, letting a younger person be the boss, and getting a pay cut so we can stay in part-time work for a few more years.
Since returning to the workforce at 50, almost all my supervisors have been younger than me, and I have definitely been paid a lot less than if I worked full time. But I am OK with that, and I definitely prefer to do some work than none. My parents retired at 55-60, and have had over 20 yrs of retirement - they seem to be OK with that, but I think it has been such a waste. -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1900100\" time=\"1551240656\" user_id=\"66413:
You hv 2 more years to wait? Not long lah. Look at it positively, yl hv to go thro PSLE 2 years in a row. You hv a breather & time to move to new home & enjoy before next PSLE comes along mah.laughingcat\" post_id=\"1900094\" time=\"1551240136\" user_id=\"3309:
WAH! yl, envious envious. Good life.
Actually I prefer quick quick at one go.
laughingcat\" post_id=\"1900148\" time=\"1551254057\" user_id=\"3309:
You hv 2 more years to wait? Not long lah. Look at it positively, yl hv to go thro PSLE 2 years in a row. You hv a breather & time to move to new home & enjoy before next PSLE comes along mah.Estéema\" post_id=\"1900100\" time=\"1551240656\" user_id=\"66413:
[quote=laughingcat post_id=1900094 time=1551240136 user_id=3309]WAH! yl, envious envious. Good life.
Actually I prefer quick quick at one go.
[/quote]You prefer quick quick, but yr DS2 not quick quick come to catch up with 哥哥 leh!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.