* Eunoia JC (EJC)
Grandyma\" post_id=\"1901327\" time=\"1551783693\" user_id=\"153793:
What word?
Only a person having such bad thought in the first place will use such word.Grandypa\" post_id=\"1901326\" time=\"1551782562\" user_id=\"154562:
Perhaps Ah Ma was insinuating that NJC and NYJC are no better than Pre U centers when she insist their mean>median?
Pls dont under estimate Pre-U centres. -
floppy\" post_id=\"1901329\" time=\"1551785450\" user_id=\"97579:
NYJC does not reveal many details about her performance. And many people often wonder why they are so secretive about it. It is definitely not top tier, just a good heartland JC.
IMHO, 2018 didn't change much of NYJC narrative:
it a good JC? Yes.
Is it a top-top tier JC? Unfortunately, it has a long way to catch up with RJC, HCI, VJC and NJC. The cliche we often used is \"Form is temporary, class is permanent\". Until NYJC can sustain the results consistently, we won't know where it truly stands. Right now, it's simply the \"best of the rest\". -
floppy\" post_id=\"1901329\" time=\"1551785450\" user_id=\"97579:The median can be 84 or 85. It doesn't have to be \"so high\", but that's beside the point. The answer lies in the population distribution.
Complex meh? Maybe Statistics is not suitable for you.
Do VJC / RV / DHS have low 70s scorers? Possibly. In fact, they probably have a few students scoring lower than that given that their 3H2 passing rate is not 100%. Notwithstanding, we can reasonably assume that the scores for the rest of their cohort are very narrowly distributed and is more likely to skew towards the higher end because of the distribution of the IP students.
###ANS: you dont know these JCs population distribution- so wont know their Median?
\" few scoring lower/ low 70s\"- how you know?
\"cohort narrowly distributed\"- VJC has abt 50% IP kids only.
You like to assume.
You can also refer to lee_yl post for an understanding about the characteristic of the population.
[quote]ANS: Wa, now you bring in more complex theory. So you mean Nyjc or even Njc Mean can > Medium??
[quote]ANS: above eg, so why cant Nyjc have a Mean closer to its Median of 85.X or slight lesser since 50% more with > 85pts??[/quote]Because NYJC doesn't share it's data which allows people like us to make things up.
###ANS: so what you or others( EJC forummers) hv commented are based on assumption.
However, I think we can reasonably assume passing rate for the school is < 100%. We can also reasonably assume that the results of the school is more widely distributed than the IP colleges because the intake of the students is widely varied. While COP is an indicator of the quality of the cohort, it doesn't fully explain / show the quality as a lot of people seem to assume, i.e. how many students qualify due to affiliation, bonus points, how many students have chosen easier subject combinations like combined science / combined humanities / Art / D&T / FNA, etc in O Level. Despite the IP schools having a better controlled sample, very few IP colleges are able to achieve mean closer or slightly lesser to its median. My bet is NYJC isn't going to be an outlier.
###ANS: whats the issue with its intake? Yes, intake is widely varied but doesnt mean such cohort cant get high score. Right?
whats the issue with combined Sci kids. Cant they do well in A level when in Nyjc?
Look down on people that these kids will be on the lower end, is it?
[quote]ANS: its a statement that rep how the cohort has performed and with integrity announced by Principal.
Of course, with a statement like this since you are prone towards EJC, you will not believe. Its normal you choose not to believe even though its true. Learn to trust, friend.[/quote]I have no reasons to be bias towards EJC. Didn't graduate from there nor have any direct dealings with the 3 feeder schools. I don't choose to believe or trust, I just don't refute the numbers. Until NYJC is able to provide more data and be more transparent (you know... like most of the top tier JCs), I would prefer to take everything with a pinch of salt. Finally, don't take the P (any P) statement literally. They are all full of hyperbole. I highly doubt you can find one Principal among the hundreds of Pri, Sec and JC principals who will step up and tell you that his / her school sucks (even though you / I / he / she / it knows that some schools really suck).
###ANS: bias as your take for Njc, Nyjc RP range below 82.5.
No principals wont critizise his school but he knows whats integrity and his words are being heard.
You n other forummers here dont trust people, do you hv friends? I wonder.
[quote]You always give 2 diff versions- possible yet again impossible. Be certain lei.
Dont need to bring out more Maths term.
If you ask around out there now ( not in KSP forum), peope including students know where does Nyjc stand among the top tier/IPJC now based on 2018 results.[/quote]Did I give 2 different versions?
This is Statistics: there will always be conditions, if / or statements involved. Nothing is absolute, unless you are counting the number of times the sun will rise from the west.
Is she a good JC? Yes.
Is she a top-top tier JC? :roll: IMHO, the school has a long way to go before she catches up with RJC, HCI, VJC and NJC. The cliche we often used is \"form is temporary, class is permanent\". Until NYJC sustain the results consistently, we won't know where it truly stands. Right now, it's simply the \"best of the rest\". I think it's no mean feat for just being alongside the likes of RV / DHS / TJC.
###ANS: other than those regular forummers who support or believe yr words, go out n find out yrself Nyjc tier.
\"Catches up\" ... among that JCs, you should go n ask around.
You dk?
As for asking people, including students, really?
###ANS: Yup.
You know nothing, Jon Snow.
At this rate, better to drop Statistics totally than to attempt Statistics 201.[/quote] -
stetan\" post_id=\"1901339\" time=\"1551789103\" user_id=\"3358:
Words spread around. Other than the very regular forummers here, the public has differ opinion.
NYJC does not reveal many details about her performance. And many people often wonder why they are so secretive about it. It is definitely not top tier, just a good heartland JC.floppy\" post_id=\"1901329\" time=\"1551785450\" user_id=\"97579:
it a good JC? Yes.
Is it a top-top tier JC? Unfortunately, it has a long way to catch up with RJC, HCI, VJC and NJC. The cliche we often used is \"Form is temporary, class is permanent\". Until NYJC can sustain the results consistently, we won't know where it truly stands. Right now, it's simply the \"best of the rest\".
But its ok not to be top tier.
Its a good JC can liao. -
Grandyma\" post_id=\"1901363\" time=\"1551801057\" user_id=\"153793:
Complex meh? Maybe Statistics is not suitable for you.
The median can be 84 or 85. It doesn't have to be \"so high\", but that's beside the point. The answer lies in the population distribution.floppy\" post_id=\"1901329\" time=\"1551785450\" user_id=\"97579:
ANS: you asked me which JCs: VJC, RV, DH. These JCs RP > 83 so you mean they dun have low 70s scorers?? Cant be.
Also, these JCs you Confirm their Median are so high above 86 thats why RP is 83.X??
Do VJC / RV / DHS have low 70s scorers? Possibly. In fact, they probably have a few students scoring lower than that given that their 3H2 passing rate is not 100%. Notwithstanding, we can reasonably assume that the scores for the rest of their cohort are very narrowly distributed and is more likely to skew towards the higher end because of the distribution of the IP students.
You can also refer to lee_yl post for an understanding about the characteristic of the population.
[quote]ANS: Wa, now you bring in more complex theory. So you mean Nyjc or even Njc Mean can > Medium??
[quote]ANS: above eg, so why cant Nyjc have a Mean closer to its Median of 85.X or slight lesser since 50% more with > 85pts??[/quote]Because NYJC doesn't share it's data which allows people like us to make things up.
However, I think we can reasonably assume passing rate for the school is < 100%. We can also reasonably assume that the results of the school is more widely distributed than the IP colleges because the intake of the students is widely varied. While COP is an indicator of the quality of the cohort, it doesn't fully explain / show the quality as a lot of people seem to assume, i.e. how many students qualify due to affiliation, bonus points, how many students have chosen easier subject combinations like combined science / combined humanities / Art / D&T / FNA, etc in O Level. Despite the IP schools having a better controlled sample, very few IP colleges are able to achieve mean closer or slightly lesser to its median. My bet is NYJC isn't going to be an outlier.
[quote]ANS: its a statement that rep how the cohort has performed and with integrity announced by Principal.
Of course, with a statement like this since you are prone towards EJC, you will not believe. Its normal you choose not to believe even though its true. Learn to trust, friend.[/quote]I have no reasons to be bias towards EJC. Didn't graduate from there nor have any direct dealings with the 3 feeder schools. I don't choose to believe or trust, I just don't refute the numbers. Until NYJC is able to provide more data and be more transparent (you know... like most of the top tier JCs), I would prefer to take everything with a pinch of salt. Finally, don't take the P (any P) statement literally. They are all full of hyperbole. I highly doubt you can find one Principal among the hundreds of Pri, Sec and JC principals who will step up and tell you that his / her school sucks (even though you / I / he / she / it knows that some schools really suck).
[quote]You always give 2 diff versions- possible yet again impossible. Be certain lei.
Dont need to bring out more Maths term.
If you ask around out there now ( not in KSP forum), peope including students know where does Nyjc stand among the top tier/IPJC now based on 2018 results.[/quote]Did I give 2 different versions?
This is Statistics: there will always be conditions, if / or statements involved. Nothing is absolute, unless you are counting the number of times the sun will rise from the west.
Is she a good JC? Yes.
Is she a top-top tier JC? :roll: IMHO, the school has a long way to go before she catches up with RJC, HCI, VJC and NJC. The cliche we often used is \"form is temporary, class is permanent\". Until NYJC sustain the results consistently, we won't know where it truly stands. Right now, it's simply the \"best of the rest\". I think it's no mean feat for just being alongside the likes of RV / DHS / TJC.
As for asking people, including students, really?
You know nothing, Jon Snow.
At this rate, better to drop Statistics totally than to attempt Statistics 201.[/quote]Floppy: the median can be 84 or 85. It doesn't have to be \"so high\", but that's beside the point. The answer lies in the population distribution.
#ANS: you dont know these JCs population distribution- so wont know exactly their Median right.
\" few scoring lower/ low 70s\"- how you know? Dont assume they are IP so dont hv low 70s scorers.
\"cohort narrowly distributed\"- VJC has abt 50% IP kids only.
You like to assume and bias against non IP JCs.
Floppy:Because NYJC doesn't share it's data which allows people like us to make things up.
###ANS: so what you or others( EJC forummers) hv commented are based on assumption again and personal opinion.
Floppy:the results of the school is more widely distributed than the IP colleges because the intake of the students is widely varied.
###ANS: whats the issue with the intake?
Yes, intake is widely varied but doesnt mean such cohort cant get high RP score. Right?
whats the issue with combined Sci kids. Cant they do well in A level when in Nyjc?
Look down on people that these kids will be on the lower end of the graph, is it?
Floppy: I have no reasons to be bias towards EJCANS:
###ANS: You are bias as your take for Njc, Nyjc RP range below 82.5. Why not above 82.5 range?
No principals wont critizise his school yes but he knows whats integrity and his words are being heard. His speech is loaded in U Tube.
You n those forummers here dont trust people, do you hv friends? I wonder.
Floppy: IMHO, the school has a long way to go before she catches up with RJC, HCI, VJC and NJC.
###ANS: long way catching up RJC/HCI yes I agree with you for these 2 JCs only.
For the other 2 JCs, go n ask the public including students. You may hear a differ story esp for NJC. -
Grandyma\" post_id=\"1901363\" time=\"1551801057\" user_id=\"153793:
If this is basis of your argument, you are welcome to present your data to refute it.
###Things you said is assumption. You based on your opinion.
But we all know you can’t. Because you don’t have any. And the reason you don’t have any is because NYJC didn’t share any. But it’s no fault of yours, we understand. It’s easier to blame others for not knowing what you do not know.
And your comment about the public knowing, that isn’t supported by any evidences, but that’s ok. I understand. It’s easier to make things up than present something to support your argument. If I didn’t see your ‘liao’, I would have thought that I’m talking to Donald Trump, given the fact free content.
Your dismissal of KSP opinions is interesting, given that majority of the parents have children who are still schooling. You can’t choose to ignore samples that don’t fit your narrative, but given your rudimentary understanding of statistics, that’s forgivable. As the usual proxy for popularity is COP, and NYJC haven’t gotten ahead of RI, HCI, VJC or NJC on a consistent basis, I seriously doubt the sanity of anyone telling me NYJC is ahead of the 4 at the moment because the public says so (no, they didn’t).
Notwithstanding, I do understand the anxiety of those who had been bigging NYJC up. Step by step, new kids on the block are coming and this particular group is going to be hangin’ tough. I expect them to be stealing the thunder from other good JCs (but not the top tier JC), especially in this part of the universe. -
floppy\" post_id=\"1901381\" time=\"1551831182\" user_id=\"97579:
I reparagraphed n edited my previous replies as too messy.
If this is basis of your argument, you are welcome to present your data to refute it.Grandyma\" post_id=\"1901363\" time=\"1551801057\" user_id=\"153793:
###Things you said is assumption. You based on your opinion.
But we all know you can’t. Because you don’t have any. And the reason you don’t have any is because NYJC didn’t share any. But it’s no fault of yours, we understand.
And your comment about the public knowing, that isn’t supported by any evidences. Your dismissal of KSP opinions is interesting, given that majority of the parents have children who are still schooling. You can’t choose to ignore samples that don’t fit your narrative. Given that the usual proxy for popularity is COP, and NYJC haven’t gotten ahead of RI, HCI, VJC or NJC on a consistent basis, I seriously doubt NYJC is ahead of the 4 at the moment.
Notwithstanding, I do understand the anxiety of those who had been bigging NYJC up. Step by step, new kids on the block are coming and this particular group is going to be hangin’ tough. I expect them to be stealing the thunder from other good JCs (but not the top tier JC), especially in this part of the universe.
You are great talker but yr opinions are based on assumption.
I didnt say Nyjc is ahead of RI n HCI. As long a JC is improving thats more important.
Learn to thrust people, ok. -
Grandyma\" post_id=\"1901382\" time=\"1551831694\" user_id=\"153793:
Interesting.
Learn to thrust people, ok.
I trust lee_yl, for I think her comments are sound. Plus, having children of a JC-going age means I should respect her opinion on JC as she (and her children) is one of “the public”.
Likewise, I trust stetan and the others. Though I dislike their tone and style, but that’s irrelevant. I don’t share their opinions about the ‘value-added’ nonsense but that doesn’t mean I dismissed the rest of their arguments.
As for you
I’ve come to accept that there will always be a group of people believing that the earth is flat and talking sense to them is futile. -
floppy\" post_id=\"1901383\" time=\"1551832135\" user_id=\"97579:
This is what i meant. You have your very regular forummers, thats is all.
Interesting.Grandyma\" post_id=\"1901382\" time=\"1551831694\" user_id=\"153793:
Learn to thrust people, ok.
I trust lee_yl, for I think her comments are sound. Plus, having children of a JC-going age means I should respect her opinion on JC as she (and her children) is one of “the public”.
Likewise, I trust stetan and the others. Though I dislike their tone and style, but that’s irrelevant. I don’t share their opinions about the ‘value-added’ nonsense but that doesn’t mean I dismissed the rest of their arguments.
As for you
I’ve come to accept that there will always be a group of people believing that the earth is flat and talking sense to them is futile.
Go outside of KSP.
Again, your KSP regulars' opinions are based on their personal views again.
Whether which JCs are better or imptoving, the public will know.
COP of a JC does tell something abt that JC.Its not just proximity reason. Students this era know what they choose in a JC- many reasons but academics is 1 of them.
But since you dont belong to their era ( you Gen X isnt) then i can understand why you have such sch of thought. -
Grandyma\" post_id=\"1901387\" time=\"1551833255\" user_id=\"153793:
Someone calling himself / herself Grandyma telling me that I have a generation gap with school-going children :rotflmao:
This is what i meant. You have your very regular forummers, thats is all.
Go outside of KSP.
Again, your KSP regulars' opinions are based on their personal views again.
Whether which JCs are better or imptoving, the public will know.
COP of a JC does tell something abt that JC.Its not just proximity reason. Students this era know what they choose in a JC- many reasons but academics is 1 of them.
But since you dont belong to their era ( you Gen X isnt) then i can understand why you have such sch of thought.
You keep dismissing KSP opinions as personal views while maintaining that “the public” will know. I hope you do realize that behind every nick is a person. That person has friends, as well as friends of friends. Each person has an opinion and each opinion is shaped by experiences, knowledge and interaction within their network. IRL, none of us know each other (well, at least I don’t know them) but we have, interestingly, shared the same opinion. Collectively, we are part of “the public”. And, “the public” is here telling you that your opinion is out of line and not shared by any metrics or statistics or proof or evidences.
You obviously have a rudimentary understanding of statistics, unfounded logic in mathematics and limited awareness of how schools are really viewed outside your universe, how long do you want to keep this up with your fact-free arguments.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.