2023 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2011)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    1.2k Posts 1 Posters 486.4k Views 1 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

zac's mum\" post_id=\"1914551\" time=\"1560559947\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1914551 time=1560559947 user_id=53606]
      MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1914546\" time=\"1560549978\" user_id=\"43981:
      I agree. Young Scientist magazines are fun to read, and they also slip in some lower block and upper block Science material in their stories. My DS has told me several occasions that “oh this Science topic/this scientific fact/general knowledge fact that we’re covering in school...I’ve read it in my YS mag before!”

Another good comic series for Math/Science/general knowledge is the X-Venture series by a Malaysian publisher (Gempark Stars). Initially I was very reluctant to buy comics for my kid. Then when I opened up to take a look, it’s actually specifically written to be educational. The kids learn Geography and History from following the characters all over the world. Trust me, it’s way more educational than Geronimo Stilton. I still detest the deliberate spelling errors of that Geronimo series :roll: They even try to slip in Math and GEP general ability logic questions in the “puzzles” that the adventurers have to solve.
      x venture..ok thanks..can take note next time..Bought quite many YS from some ksp parents here some time ago..dd2 been reading them..not much new addition now though so dd will read jiejie's compo books when really has nothing much to do 😂

• LeeTaiTaiL Offline
        LeeTaiTai

I was trying my luck to search for 2023 PSLE forum, wa say really have !

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

:imanisland: LeeTaiTai , you too arh 😂

I just realised cham liao la.. dd's marks (those 'assessment' after finishing a chapter I guess) went south by alot .. any more south will be near failing :faint: yesterday finally got her sat down to do some revision after her jiejie gave her a 'tuition' session 😓

• LeeTaiTaiL Offline
            LeeTaiTai

I know ! Sigh…no exam really help meh…will my child be happier and less stressful? For now…

• MrsKiasuM Offline
              MrsKiasu

Once in a while get a jerk will me keep me in check lor I also realise … dd started off quite ok … slowly most kids progressing but she keeps playing will be like this lor…

• floppyF Offline
                floppy

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1926858\" time=\"1565071622\" user_id=\"43981:

Once in a while get a jerk will me keep me in check lor I also realise .. dd started off quite ok .. slowly most kids progressing but she keeps playing will be like this lor..
                No exams doesn't mean there should be no check-in. We would still need to keep a conversation with the child and his / her teacher going to ensure that the child's progress is on track.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                  MrsKiasu

floppy\" post_id=\"1926883\" time=\"1565076535\" user_id=\"97579:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1926858\" time=\"1565071622\" user_id=\"43981:

Once in a while get a jerk will me keep me in check lor I also realise .. dd started off quite ok .. slowly most kids progressing but she keeps playing will be like this lor..

No exams doesn't mean there should be no check-in. We would still need to keep a conversation with the child and his / her teacher going to ensure that the child's progress is on track.

some ppl just need some push and it's not only kids 😉 yes, by right should..and no hw somemore..

• floppyF Offline
                    floppy

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1926888\" time=\"1565076972\" user_id=\"43981:

floppy\" post_id=\"1926883\" time=\"1565076535\" user_id=\"97579:

[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=1926858 time=1565071622 user_id=43981]Once in a while get a jerk will me keep me in check lor I also realise .. dd started off quite ok .. slowly most kids progressing but she keeps playing will be like this lor..

some ppl just need some push and it's not only kids 😉 yes, by right should..and no hw somemore..[/quote] 😂

No homework meh? My kid still receiving some homework but very manageable, only a copy of pages here and there.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

no hw de…since p1… only signing off spelling sheets…

• sky minecrafterS Offline
                        sky minecrafter

Compared to P1, when there was zero homework; in P2, we need to complete 习字本 at home (to be submitted a week later). EL is the baffling one - from the Stella worksheets frequently brought home for parents’ perusal, compre practices actually include inferential questions…But as long as my child annotates, that’s fine - the understanding will come gradually with more exposure to books, discussions…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 121

SHUXUES
                        SHUXUE