School of Science and Technology

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    2.5k Posts 99 Posters 845.5k Views 2 Watching
      Nethan Nerella

Hi can anyone tell me how SST selects it’s students for phase 2 DSA? Do each of the questions have certain amount marks and then they compare it with the rest and calculate average ( kind of like PSLE) or they see how students answered the questions?

kiasustressmum

Yup my son also had this question on the costumes. It was quite difficult right?

zolldoll\" post_id=\"1916178\" time=\"1561676083\" user_id=\"3577:

Hi all, I know some may have asked in this thread before previously, but I’m lazy to go read through everything.

Hence, can I ask when is the results out?

And do they notify you even if your child is not selected? Is their notifying via email as well? Thanks, and all the best to our kids.
          Selected (short-listed) applicants, for the DSA selection camp, scheduled on either Saturday (27 July or on 3 August), will be notified by email, latest by end of 3rd week July, Friday (19 July)

Within that 3rd week July,
          ie. anytime from July (15 to 19) , expect to receive email notification from SST, if you have been selected for Round 2 (Dsa selection camp) test. Stay tuned. All the best !

• Z Offline
            zolldoll

:thankyou: and also :xedfingers: cross fingers too. All the best to all our kids😁

phtthp\" post_id=\"1916668\" time=\"1561952438\" user_id=\"35251:

zolldoll\" post_id=\"1916178\" time=\"1561676083\" user_id=\"3577:

Hi all, I know some may have asked in this thread before previously, but I’m lazy to go read through everything.

Hence, can I ask when is the results out?

And do they notify you even if your child is not selected? Is their notifying via email as well? Thanks, and all the best to our kids.

Selected (short-listed) applicants, for the DSA selection camp, scheduled on either Saturday (27 July or on 3 August), will be notified by email, latest by end of 3rd week July, Friday (19 July)

Within that 3rd week July,
            ie. anytime from July (15 to 19) , expect to receive email notification from SST, if you have been selected for Round 2 (Dsa selection camp) test. Stay tuned. All the best !

• tiberiansuT Offline
              tiberiansu

Are you sure they close the school on Friday to do marking? I hope you are not sharing unverified information.

phtthp\" post_id=\"1916220\" time=\"1561691991\" user_id=\"35251:
              Round 1 Dsa (Multiple choice + Structured questions) Theory test on both \"Maths and Science\" was over, yesterday Thursday (27.06.19).

Today Friday (28.06.19), General office (SST) is closed. Teachers marking > 1000+ P6 candidates' answer scripts

If can clear (pass) Round 1, next Round 2 test (team work / group work of 4 students assigned, per group), is scheduled (conducted) on Saturday, either 27 July or 3 August , called \"Half-day, Selection camp test\".

Round 2 is Practical test, group work, testing you \"Applied\" Science scientific principles and concepts, based on what you have been taught in primary school (P3 to P6) Science.

https://www.sst.edu.sg/admission/admission-process/

Friday 28.06.19, fall within June holiday. Where got school lesson ? Is holiday time, canteen all closed, food stall all closed

On this date Friday, the General office was closed. It was still within June holiday term break

Hey, by the way, dont put words into my mouth. I only said that \"General Office was closed\". I NEVER said, \"close the school\"

So, who is the one that said \"close the school\" ?
                You are the one, that said \"close the school\".

By the way, there is a difference, between these 2 statements :-

A) General Office was closed

Vs.

B) close the school

Here is 2019 School vacation, defined by Moe

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/press-releases/school-terms-and-holidays-for-2019

• tiberiansuT Offline
                  tiberiansu

Apologies for the wrong choice of words that I used. My point wasn't focused on whether it was school closure or General Office closure.

\"Today Friday (28.06.19), General office (SST) is closed. Teachers marking > 1000+ P6 candidates' answer scripts\"

When you wrote the above statement together in one line, you are implying that General Office is close and teachers are marking >1000+P6 candidates on 28 June.

I was wondering how you knew teachers were marking papers since it was not announced on SST website.

Come to think of it, you shared \"Total : 18 pages, for test\" on 26 June, 11am. on your previous post.

The first session of the test only ended after 12 based on the email that we received but you are able to know the number of pages on the test paper even before the first batch of students has a chance to communicate to their parents or friends.

phtthp\" post_id=\"1917664\" time=\"1562252216\" user_id=\"35251:
                  Friday 28.06.19, fall within June holiday. Where got school lesson ? Is holiday time, canteen all closed, food stall all closed

On this date Friday, the General office was closed. It was still within June holiday term break

Hey, by the way, dont put words into my mouth. I only said that \"General Office was closed\". I NEVER said, \"close the school\"

So, who is the one that said \"close the school\" ?
                  You are the one, that said \"close the school\".

By the way, there is a difference, between these 2 statements :-

A) General Office was closed

Vs.

B) close the school

Here is 2019 School vacation, defined by Moe

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/press-releases/school-terms-and-holidays-for-2019

tiberiansu:

Come to think of it, you shared \"Total : 18 pages, for test\" on 26 June, 11am. on your previous post.

The first session of the test only ended after 12 based on the email that we received but you are able to know the number of pages on the test paper even before the first batch of students has a chance to communicate to their parents or friends.
                    aiyoh, please lah ! your mind is just so fixated on the number \"12\"

\"12\" refer to the maximum longest time that students can come out of exam hall.
                    For #1 first batch of P6 students that took the test, some students actually came out much earlier before 12 o'clock, left the exam hall, walked back into the canteen to meet their parents, because they found the paper managable, finished and submitted to invigilator. And, because the students had taken the exam, they know exactly how many pages the test was, so they told their parents about it, how they felt about the test, overall. Get it ?

If you are still not satisfied with the answer, propose that u approach SST General office, ask them to play back any CCTV camera as evidence, find out what time did the earliest student(s) finished exam, walked out of the exam hall, walked back to the canteen to meet his parents. CCTV camera, evidence, do NOT tell lies.

PEACE
                    no point waste time talking to you

anyway, i think i can guess who u are.
                    You newly created a new kiasuparent account, to pick a bone at me, because somehow u bear a grudge inside
                    you may try to deny it, but i know who u are. Inside another thread, u not happy with me, hound me down. I come to this new thread \"SST\" to share certain info, u also do likewise. Alamak ! In other words, seems like whichever thread i comment upon, u sure want to pick a bone, stalking me, stalking every single comment i contribute to this forum. Wah lao ! Frightening, being stalked. Are u trying, to drive me out of ksp forum ?

Do you know how i know is u ? Is because of the way you write, the way u pose the question, the way u phrase the question. I know you are trying to nail me down. Hence, no use trying to hide behind a brand new kiasuparent account, newly created, pretend to be someone else instead

In fact, after you had raised this issue, from now onwards, i shall NOT share any more useful nor beneficial information on kiasuparents forum anymore. It is people like you, that put me and a few other parents off.
                    Your tone is pretty arrogant, in the way u address other parents (not just me) sometimes. You like to put down parents, in the way u reply, in some other thread as well. Your behavior in this forum irk some other parents to the extent, until some questioned into your background

Just let me tell you something. In life, it is better to be humble, than to remain arrogant, because u won't know when life is going to teach u a lesson, through arroagance

============================

Dear Chief kiasu,

since you are around, might as well highlight something.
                    Many years ago, inside ksp : a lot of parents happily, willingly share info.
                    However, do you notice nowadays that, the amount of traffic info sharing inside this forum is very little, apart from those usual commonly encountered thread ?

Reason is because people are afraid that if they share info, they will be shot down by arrogant people who snide, mock, ridicule them, put them down.

Hibruh\" post_id=\"1919027\" time=\"1562840285\" user_id=\"179185:

Anybody gotten shortlisted for SST
                      just called SST

Admin lady on phone replied,

\"We will send out notification to short-listed candidates, for Half-day Selection camp test, via 2 batches.

1) send out email on Monday (22 July) , to short-listed students taking Selection camp test, on Saturday (27 July), and also

2) send out email on Monday (29 July) , to short-listed students taking Selection camp test, on Saturday (3 August).

Thus, please check your email, on (22 and 29 July) \"

https://www.sst.edu.sg/admission/admission-process/

• O Offline
                        overthinker

My son’s school mate just received a call today asking him to attend a test next Friday afternoon. Not sure if this is in addition to the 2 selection camps.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 161 / 248