2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1933333\" time=\"1567477680\" user_id=\"162894:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1933332\" time=\"1567477402\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=chenlaoshi post_id=1933328 time=1567476875 user_id=162894]

Thanks tryourbest for the images of the typical question 33 note writing.

MrsKiasu, if note writing is switched to question 40, then yes, it usually replaces the OE compre question which tests the student about moral/lesson learnt from the story

question 33 becoming an OE compre type of question:

question 40 becoming a note writing type of question:

thank you chenlaoshi!

can I say that the change is only the interchange of position for qn 33 & 40?

MrsKiasu, if note writing appears as question 40, there will usually be lesser guidelines stated in the question and may include inference.

Typically, note writing as question 33 is more straight forward - just need to retrieve information from the graphic.[/quote]oic..so we hope the note writing will appear as qn 33 , better to students hor.

ours still at Q33

hurlyburly6.019192gmail.019192com

Might be a bit late for PSLE this year, but I found this (accidentally) on how to take good notes. It's more for older kids, but just in case it's useful: https://theconversation.com/whats-the-best-most-effective-way-to-take-notes-41961

• Fried chickenF Offline
          Fried chicken

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1933330\" time=\"1567477123\" user_id=\"43981:

Fried chicken\" post_id=\"1933327\" time=\"1567476434\" user_id=\"95828:[quote=\"Fried chicken\" post_id=1933327 time=1567476434 user_id=95828]

dd still spending alot of time (to me even sacrificing her sleeping hours) on laptop online learning (she needs the laptop for checking of meaning of words & also to listen to songs). Trying to take away her laptop seems to be sooo difficult. She was sad with her results, told me she will listen to me and admitted the online materials were not enough..but 2 days later went back old ways..it crosses my mind to load her more so that she doesn't have time to use her laptop..but will I make her browsing through only but not reading properly or will I ended up loading her too much that result in stress 🤷

Mrs Kiasu, to be honest, it sounds like letting her do online learning by herself isn't really working. It'll be interesting to know how much 'learning' is actually going on. I find that kids may have the best of intentions, but they are still kids, most of them are easily distracted, and it's very easy to start youtubing while on a 'break', and before you know it, an hour, two hours have passed, and they're still on youtube. Not saying this is what your girl is doing, but it's a slippery slope.

Using physical books and notes is better, as writing, highlighting etc aids in learning, whereas if they're just reading something online, it's hard to know how much is being absorbed.

I get what you mean Fried chicken.. aiyo, she has gone through that stage last year when first got hold of her laptop.. but now while searching for songs, I bet she will get pulled to read news etc..that's what I told her too..and also when you listen to those 'robotic' delivery of lessons also very slow mah I told her..if read from books she would have finished much earlier..still same..

ok, I got to take it away from her again or ask her to do her online work outside the room.. 3 more weeks :nailbite:[/quote]
          Is she just sitting there listening or is she actively taking notes? If it's the former, that's incredibly boring, and there's a high chance the mind will drift or zone out. If she's taking notes, that's better - at least there's evidence of learning.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

Fried chicken\" post_id=\"1933342\" time=\"1567479209\" user_id=\"95828:[quote=\"Fried chicken\" post_id=1933342 time=1567479209 user_id=95828]

Is she just sitting there listening or is she actively taking notes? If it's the former, that's incredibly boring, and there's a high chance the mind will drift or zone out. If she's taking notes, that's better - at least there's evidence of learning.[/quote]
            over the years she tried to take down notes but always not successful.. cannot maintain..what I noticed on online., if Sci she will just listen, Math & Chi she will do the qns. I m more worry abt sci now, took a look at sa2 papers...hmm..certain answers to me like ok same leh but it was wrong..again it is the keywords? I need to take note when I mark her Sci papers.

myrick88

I also get my DS to read up all past years worksheets.

Think too much of practice paper is making him a bored boy. 🙂

He told me he found no joy in school this few weeks and can't wait to start S1 and to learn more new stuff. Haiz...

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                MrsKiasu

myrick88\" post_id=\"1933350\" time=\"1567480239\" user_id=\"6175:

He told me he found no joy in school this few weeks and can't wait to start S1 and to learn more new stuff. Haiz...
                to read up those past year papers done prior?

can tell yr ds is very ready!

wanxuan75

Does anyone know where can I find 2019 prelim papers?

patlsy79

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1933328\" time=\"1567476875\" user_id=\"162894:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1933316\" time=\"1567474084\" user_id=\"43981:

I m so sorry to ask these..what is 便条?

chenlaoshi, yr eg reference to qn 33 & 40 means require the students to give own opinion kinda of qn/answer?

Thanks tryourbest for the images of the typical question 33 note writing.

MrsKiasu, if note writing is switched to question 40, then yes, it usually replaces the OE compre question which tests the student about moral/lesson learnt from the story

question 33 becoming an OE compre type of question:
                    https://i.ibb.co/KLv7yCh/33.jpg\">https://i.ibb.co/kc6rnyM/33b.jpg\">

question 40 becoming a note writing type of question:
                    https://i.ibb.co/9hy5B9V/40.jpg\">https://i.ibb.co/1XycJwf/40b.jpg\">

Hi Chenlaoshi

This is not psle standard format? As what I knw my sch has this types of questions.

Thanks

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

wanxuan75\" post_id=\"1933361\" time=\"1567481751\" user_id=\"13382:

Does anyone know where can I find 2019 prelim papers?
                      can get from ..

Jeremy Exam Paper

STORE DETAILS
                      #01-10
                      98518229 / 98518226
                      #hotspot-hotspot-658-7
                      Operating Hours: Monday - Sunday: 11am to 9pm

myrick88

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1933360\" time=\"1567481720\" user_id=\"43981:

myrick88\" post_id=\"1933350\" time=\"1567480239\" user_id=\"6175:

to read up those past year papers done prior?

can tell yr ds is very ready!

Haha...nope. Is to read up on school & tuition worksheets. I don't dare to ask him revise on practice paper too much too as the answers are not 100% reliable. In case he learnt the wrong stuff.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 416 / 866

NickLN
                        NickL