How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937126\" time=\"1569394110\" user_id=\"17023:
厉害 , think u are the first to Claim the word \"Retirement\" - some more sahm leh :salute:
[
I suppose everyone will realise that there is no point to pursue that extra zeros at a certain point in their lives. Some earlier, some later.
For me, I won’t ask my kids to purposely “slow down” even before they step into the working society unless something amiss happens along the way like they have neglected their spouse or children in the process of pursuing their dreams.
In fact, I have also slowed down too. Firstly, because I have more or less achieved what I aim in life. My retirement fund is my fully paid up $1.2mil FH unit (solely under my name) which is currently being tenanted out. My hubby probably has his own retirement funds.
When I was in my teens, I aimed to have $10K in my bank before I reach 20yo, $100K before I hit 30yo and $1mil before I hit 40yo. The initial years were purely saving and scrimping. Being a SAHM, my fear and urgency to build up my nest egg are even greater than those with a successful career.
My first investment property was bought using cash I saved from hubby’s household 买菜钱allowance.
To cut a long story short, I do not think I could and want to pursue the next zero. Simply because I realize good health is more important. Because I just recovered from colitis, now, I am willing to pay for better quality food and the LactoGG I am taking as a daily dietary supplement which is not cheap. Now I am fine to eat well and relax.
pass exam with A liao ( paid up a FH
)
property is timing n luck
leeyl, ur old enbloc unit was FH or LH ? -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1937127\" time=\"1569394233\" user_id=\"66413:
Boys very different from girls. Totally bo chup. My girls conscientious. My this boy jia lat. He cant be bothered to brush teeth, wash his hair etc. At P6! Nails longer than my wife. If no one tell him to bathe, he lagi happy. School work anyhow do. Same training as my girls. Same parents. But different outcome. Sometimes I surrender.... :frustrated:
Sounds like lack of healthy ambitions. Working hard needs imbibing fr young.tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937104\" time=\"1569390830\" user_id=\"94399:
My boy who is sitting for PSLE tomorrow tells me the same thing! He wants to go to his affiliated Sec school. He says 188 score enough liao. Got affiliation benefits. Why must tuition. I say No, must put in effort! :stupid:
Both my kids are reasonably clever but I don’t let up. Boys are esp cheeky (tho there are exceptions) and they’re wired to look for fun and they’ll get to find short cuts. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937126\" time=\"1569394110\" user_id=\"17023:
Congrats lee_yl!! You are the first to get out of the rat race....without even being in the rat race! Haha. Can planja me kopi? :boogie:
In fact, I have also slowed down too. Firstly, because I have more or less achieved what I aim in life. My retirement fund is my fully paid up $1.2mil FH unit (solely under my name) which is currently being tenanted out. My hubby probably has his own retirement funds. -
tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937148\" time=\"1569397957\" user_id=\"94399:
Boys very different from girls. Totally bo chup. My girls conscientious. My this boy jia lat. He cant be bothered to brush teeth, wash his hair etc. At P6! Nails longer than my wife. If no one tell him to bathe, he lagi happy. School work anyhow do. Same training as my girls. Same parents. But different outcome. Sometimes I surrender.... :frustrated:[/quote]My DS tried to outsmart me. But I’m the firm and motivating type. So, he’s well trained by sec sch. I don’t watch over him anymore. He completes hmwk before reaching home, revise nearing exams & uses sch holidays to do recreational learning - he likes to cook & learn extra languages, or hang out with daddy & peers for photography ard SG. This year-end, he wants to pick up archery as he left off during Pri sch days.
Sounds like lack of healthy ambitions. Working hard needs imbibing fr young.Estéema\" post_id=\"1937127\" time=\"1569394233\" user_id=\"66413:
[quote=tyeogh post_id=1937104 time=1569390830 user_id=94399]
My boy who is sitting for PSLE tomorrow tells me the same thing! He wants to go to his affiliated Sec school. He says 188 score enough liao. Got affiliation benefits. Why must tuition. I say No, must put in effort! :stupid:
Both my kids are reasonably clever but I don’t let up. Boys are esp cheeky (tho there are exceptions) and they’re wired to look for fun and they’ll get to find short cuts. -
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1937136\" time=\"1569395422\" user_id=\"70594:
My first property was bought with the intention of having something that I could rely on when I grew old. That year I was 28yo. I realized I need to plan something for myself as I suddenly realized that being a SAHM with 2 toddlers with no career / no cpf and have to rely solely on a man, is pretty scary.
厉害 , think u are the first to Claim the word \"Retirement\" - some more sahm leh :salute:
)
leeyl, ur old enbloc unit was FH or LH ?
So with my savings of $43K, I went for this old FH apartment which went enbloc 4 years later. That’s how I earned my first pot of gold which I safe-kept in various FDs over the years. I didn’t dare to reinvest for many years as I was so scared my pot of gold would be gone if I were to make a wrong judgment. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937167\" time=\"1569403711\" user_id=\"17023:
very lucky woman and good in planning!
My first property was bought with the intention of having something that I could rely on when I grew old. That year I was 28yo. I realized I need to plan something for myself as I suddenly realized that being a SAHM with 2 toddlers with no career / no cpf and have to rely solely on a man, is pretty scary.MyPillow\" post_id=\"1937136\" time=\"1569395422\" user_id=\"70594:
)
So with my savings of $43K, I went for this old FH apartment which went enbloc 4 years later. That’s how I earned my first pot of gold which I safe-kept in various FDs over the years. I didn’t dare to reinvest for many years as I was so scared my pot of gold would be gone if I were to make a wrong judgment. -
You must be very financially disciplined to be able to save $43k at 28 years old. After paying for my Uni loan, downpayment for hdb, wedding costs and reno cost, don’t think I have much savings.
My first property was bought with the intention of having something that I could rely on when I grew old. That year I was 28yo. I realized I need to plan something for myself as I suddenly realized that being a SAHM with 2 toddlers with no career / no cpf and have to rely solely on a man, is pretty scary.MyPillow\" post_id=\"1937136\" time=\"1569395422\" user_id=\"70594:
)
Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1937172\" time=\"1569405116\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1937172 time=1569405116 user_id=160688]
Same same lor. At 28, i living paycheck to paycheck. Maybe more like living on next month's paycheck
You must be very financially disciplined to be able to save $43k at 28 years old. After paying for my Uni loan, downpayment for hdb, wedding costs and reno cost, don’t think I have much savings.[/quote]
Very wise. Never pin all your hopes on a man. As a man, sad to admit, half my kind are A**holes when it comes to treating their wives :spank:
I suddenly realized that being a SAHM with 2 toddlers with no career / no cpf and have to rely solely on a man, is pretty scary. -
we saved some money after 1.5yrs out to work.. but combined savings la
last time things not so ex.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.