How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    1.8k Posts 133 Posters 364.2k Views 2 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

we saved some money after 1.5yrs out to work.. but combined savings la 😂 last time things not so ex.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
        MrsKiasu

tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937174\" time=\"1569406028\" user_id=\"94399:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937167\" time=\"1569403711\" user_id=\"17023:

I suddenly realized that being a SAHM with 2 toddlers with no career / no cpf and have to rely solely on a man, is pretty scary.

Very wise. Never pin all your hopes on a man. As a man, sad to admit, half my kind are A**holes when it comes to treating their wives :spank:

you serious??

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1937172\" time=\"1569405116\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1937172 time=1569405116 user_id=160688]
          lee_yl\" post_id=\"1937167\" time=\"1569403711\" user_id=\"17023:

厉害 , think u are the first to Claim the word \"Retirement\" - some more sahm leh :salute:
          pass exam with A liao ( paid up a FH 😉 )
          property is timing n luck
          leeyl, ur old enbloc unit was FH or LH ?

My first property was bought with the intention of having something that I could rely on when I grew old. That year I was 28yo. I realized I need to plan something for myself as I suddenly realized that being a SAHM with 2 toddlers with no career / no cpf and have to rely solely on a man, is pretty scary.

So with my savings of $43K, I went for this old FH apartment which went enbloc 4 years later. That’s how I earned my first pot of gold which I safe-kept in various FDs over the years. I didn’t dare to reinvest for many years as I was so scared my pot of gold would be gone if I were to make a wrong judgment.

You must be very financially disciplined to be able to save $43k at 28 years old. After paying for my Uni loan, downpayment for hdb, wedding costs and reno cost, don’t think I have much savings.[/quote]at 28yo, AFTER you paid off those things..not bad already la.

• EstéemaE Offline
            Estéema

No lah. Pls don’t run down men or generalize leh. Some are very responsible & dutiful both to parents and to kids. DH ensure our family members & extended family each gets health insurance cover. In the early days, my mum didn’t hv this so my Medisave was quite depleted till I was posted on a senior position years later when she left. DH feels by having ms manage homefront, kids get good home care & he didn’t need to worry abt his parents as I ensure all his siblings are updated on their parents’ needs.

• tyeoghT Offline
              tyeogh

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1937176\" time=\"1569406356\" user_id=\"43981:

tyeogh\" post_id=\"1937174\" time=\"1569406028\" user_id=\"94399:

[quote=lee_yl post_id=1937167 time=1569403711 user_id=17023]I suddenly realized that being a SAHM with 2 toddlers with no career / no cpf and have to rely solely on a man, is pretty scary.

Very wise. Never pin all your hopes on a man. As a man, sad to admit, half my kind are A**holes when it comes to treating their wives :spank:

you serious??[/quote]Dunno abt you. In every circle of my friends, almost half are divorced. How you expect a SAHM to suddenly return to work and care for kids? If not divorced, the men secretly eat out. Having been in \"that\" famous sex forum for a while, my estimation is not far off. All look like decent looking educated chaps. Truth is, the more decent looking, the more hum sup. Smh lah.

• tyeoghT Offline
                tyeogh

Estéema\" post_id=\"1937180\" time=\"1569407003\" user_id=\"66413:

No lah. Pls don’t run down men or generalize leh. Some are very responsible & dutiful both to parents and to kids. DH ensure our family members & extended family each gets health insurance cover. In the early days, my mum didn’t hv this so my Medisave was quite depleted till I was posted on a senior position years later when she left. DH feels by having ms manage homefront, kids get good home care & he didn’t need to worry abt his parents as I ensure all his siblings are updated on their parents’ needs.
                Maybe you married the better 50%. I never say they didnt take care of their children and wives. I say they take care of other women too. Esp those that go business trips. Not a nice topic. Maybe just ignore what I say.

• EstéemaE Offline
                  Estéema

I must say ladies are more daring & expressive than the past generations of womenfolk. But hah, think also female are more assertive and men still hold the alpha complex and hv not caught on the co-sharing in partnership in a relationship nor co-parenting duties. To be fair, I know some womenfolk wants their cake & eat it too or for keeps. Don’t bash yourself up lah.

This generation seems like divorce is so easy to utter, but it affects both sides (worst if kids are in the equation) if they care to admit as afterthots. It’s good that our society institute some form of cooling period & divorcing parties can retract after careful considerations.

Cloud Cloud

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1937177\" time=\"1569406550\" user_id=\"43981:

Cloud Cloud\" post_id=\"1937172\" time=\"1569405116\" user_id=\"160688:[quote=\"Cloud Cloud\" post_id=1937172 time=1569405116 user_id=160688]

at 28yo, AFTER you paid off those things..not bad already la.

I had my first child at 28 years old. Means more spendings.

• tyeoghT Offline
                      tyeogh

Estéema\" post_id=\"1937183\" time=\"1569410240\" user_id=\"66413:

I must say ladies are more daring & expressive than the past generations of womenfolk. But hah, think also female are more assertive and men still hold the alpha complex and hv not caught on the co-sharing in partnership in a relationship nor co-parenting duties. To be fair, I know some womenfolk wants their cake & eat it too or for keeps. Don’t bash yourself up lah.

This generation seems like divorce is so easy to utter, but it affects both sides (worst if kids are in the equation) of they care to admit as afterthots. It’s good that our society institute some form of cooling period & divorcing parties can retract after careful considerations.
                      Dun say I anyhow say. I just switch from chatting here to chatting there. Guess what I saw. Haha.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hQjEPMO87ePFvatmNmzR7gnqT7y7r0YZ/view?usp=drivesdk

Apologies for being OT. Pls do not repost this.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                        MrsKiasu

That’s very sad…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 119 / 181