2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)
ShareShareLah\" post_id=\"1940440\" time=\"1570591007\" user_id=\"181541:
I didn't install the MS office on her laptop..there was once she tried using PowerPoint probably trial from web..can surf nets/emails..can use already la horMrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1940432\" time=\"1570590192\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=floppy post_id=1940427 time=1570588949 user_id=97579]TBH, as long as the laptop can surf web, handle Microsoft PowerPoint, Word, email, with reasonable speed, it’s more than good enough.

Is there a expiry date period to use these free online?[/quote]I m not sure though..quite sometime ago le..there was a period dd asking about PowerPoint..alamak I also quite dumb technologically speaking..then suddenly one day she came showed me told me, hey can access Words/PP one leh..I just guessed it should be those trials one ba as I remember I never install MS Office in that laptop. -
OT …
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1940464\" time=\"1570595697\" user_id=\"43981:
Some secondary schools (not sure if it is all secondary schools) provide free MS Office access to students which they access using their school email (.edu). So do not buy MS Office for your DS/DD unless they really need it now. Also, as I have just mentioned in an earlier post, DS and his schoolmates have been using Google Docs for their group assignments/ projects/ notes for the last few years so you can consider that option.
I m not sure though..quite sometime ago le..there was a period dd asking about PowerPoint..alamak I also quite dumb technologically speaking..then suddenly one day she came showed me told me, hey can access Words/PP one leh..I just guessed it should be those trials one ba as I remember I never install MS Office in that laptop.ShareShareLah\" post_id=\"1940440\" time=\"1570591007\" user_id=\"181541:
Is there a expiry date period to use these free online? -
coast\" post_id=\"1940470\" time=\"1570596512\" user_id=\"38933:
Some secondary schools (not sure if it is all secondary schools) provide free MS Office access to students which they access using their school email (.edu). So do not buy MS Office for your DS/DD unless they really need it now. Also, as I have just mentioned in an earlier post, DS and his schoolmates have been using Google Docs for their group assignments/ projects/ notes for the last few years so you can consider that option.[/quote]thank you for the info!
I m not sure though..quite sometime ago le..there was a period dd asking about PowerPoint..alamak I also quite dumb technologically speaking..then suddenly one day she came showed me told me, hey can access Words/PP one leh..I just guessed it should be those trials one ba as I remember I never install MS Office in that laptop.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1940464\" time=\"1570595697\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=ShareShareLah post_id=1940440 time=1570591007 user_id=181541]
Is there a expiry date period to use these free online? -
floppy\" post_id=\"1940449\" time=\"1570592021\" user_id=\"97579:
Don’t expect the same speed from Libre Office though (but it’s free, so cannot hiam).[/quote]Libre is a free online platform or a free downloadable software?
You can get student editions of MS Office which are cheaper than regular ones? Not sure about this. Or some schools may have some kind of bulk plan or discounts?slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1940445\" time=\"1570591590\" user_id=\"28674:
[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=1940432 time=1570590192 user_id=43981]
I didn't install the MS office on her laptop..there was once she tried using PowerPoint probably trial from web..can surf nets/emails..can use already la hor
Alternatively, you can download Libre Office which is similar in functions to MS office, and free. There can be some compatibility issues, especially with tables, but for general text, it works OK. -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1940394\" time=\"1570579253\" user_id=\"28674:
Yes agree thanks! the black boring laptop still safer and better for not spoiling kids.
We bought laptops for our girls when they reached Sec 1. No need to buy a Mac unless the school requires it (my younger daughter was required to get a Mac, but has switched back to Windows now that she has left that school). The rest of the family has used various brands (Compaq, Dell, Lenovo), but over the last few years, all 4 of us have been using Asus and it seems to be good - reasonably priced and, so far, reliable. Some of us are on our 2nd Asus laptops.bluepencil\" post_id=\"1940382\" time=\"1570551131\" user_id=\"165241:
Thanks all for the advice. Did you get after psle or are your homes those with many mobile phones and laptops or devices lying around. ...
I checked on the macbook, is too expensive and I indeed worry about theft or loss. I asked around and some people agree that a black laptop is less desirable than a silver macbook to steal for eg. My child is also quite careless.
I think I will just settle for lenovo as recommended by relative. But mainly because Macbook is expensive for us. Thing is my child cry foul and actually prefer mac book for just general use only so far. ...
Unless your child has strong reasons to want a Mac, and no other computer can do those things, I wouldn't give in to buying something more costly for no good reason. It also sets a bad precedent for future purchases of other items - phones, watches, shoes, clothes, etc. Teach your child to make wise and modest choices based on need, not wants. And yes, a fairly ordinary laptop will attract less attention and is less likely to be stolen. Also make sure they set passwords to their computers so friends can't access and play silly pranks (some might do so!). -
ShareShareLah\" post_id=\"1940395\" time=\"1570579256\" user_id=\"181541:
Thanks all for the advice. Did you get after psle or are your homes those with many mobile phones and laptops or devices lying around. No kidding I sometimes see friends holding 3 phones in one hand.bluepencil\" post_id=\"1940382\" time=\"1570551131\" user_id=\"165241:
[quote=ShareShareLah post_id=1940367 time=1570541845 user_id=181541]
Samsung and Lenovo laptops are quite alright too? :imcool:
I decided to get one because I think its not safe if my child borrows my laptop to school on occasions for projects. Cos these days, everything is done online, means that i have to clear cache, check that no passwords autosave etc, be careful any saved credit cards etc.
I checked on the macbook, is too expensive and I indeed worry about theft or loss. I asked around and some people agree that a black laptop is less desirable than a silver macbook to steal for eg. My child is also quite careless.
I think I will just settle for lenovo as recommended by relative. But mainly because Macbook is expensive for us. Thing is my child cry foul and actually prefer mac book for just general use only so far.
The laptop is for my child to practise coding, edit videos, play 3D games (my business model laptop not ideal), do photoshop type editing and of course next time use in school for project and presentation, so I don't feel secure my laptop being used without my presence.
I will also try to get some kind of waterproof keyboard if possible, because I have personally experienced accidental water spill and then goodbye laptop....! so with kids you never know about their water bottles.
Will go to Funan tomorrow to have a look see at lenovo.
I got it for my DD since she has been using it. I also told her not to lose her laptop and actually went to Funan to buy a laptop lock for her. Just in case her laptop gets stolen by Sch classmates. I agree with you that it is not suitable for kids to use our laptops for security reasons and out passwords are in there.
I guess it's not the colour of the laptops that thieves are actually concerned. It can be design and size. My Samsung laptop is white on colour and it gets dirty overtime. I think no thief would want it! :rotflmao:[/quote]Good advice thanks! i write down laptop lock to look out for when at Funan ! -
Thanks all for the advice on Libre Office. What is your usage experiences as a substitute for powerpoint?
@MKS. Yes, like slmkhoo's, coast's sharings...our secondary schools use Google docs too; Microsoft student edition is free as well. But, if you need something similar to the microsoft suite, there is also WPS, which offers free software for the mobile phone, laptop platforms.
https://www.wps.com/download/
The free version of WPS has fewer fonts, functions, than Microsoft, but it works sufficiently well (I can type foreign scripts in its ppt on the mobile phone platform) for simple editing.
Assignments May be graded on how well the student uses ppt to enhance the presentation layout/experience; so it's still good to get a decent/proper student edition on your desktop/laptop.

ShareShareLah\" post_id=\"1940475\" time=\"1570597367\" user_id=\"181541:
Libre is a free online platform or a free downloadable software?[/quote]Software
Don’t expect the same speed from Libre Office though (but it’s free, so cannot hiam).floppy\" post_id=\"1940449\" time=\"1570592021\" user_id=\"97579:
[quote=slmkhoo post_id=1940445 time=1570591590 user_id=28674]
You can get student editions of MS Office which are cheaper than regular ones? Not sure about this. Or some schools may have some kind of bulk plan or discounts?
Alternatively, you can download Libre Office which is similar in functions to MS office, and free. There can be some compatibility issues, especially with tables, but for general text, it works OK.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.