Me Time!

36.2k Posts 331 Posters 3.2m Views 2 Watching
    • zac's mumZ Offline
      zac's mum

floppy\" post_id=\"1940851\" time=\"1570791537\" user_id=\"97579:

I thought the so-called rich school has cleaned up it’s act over the years and “not so” jialat now? So, probably nothing much to worry about.

FYI I’ve got a number of hi-bye friends from my uni / clubbing days that came from that school. Love to hang out with them because rich kids and their friends will pay for all the drinks. Only problem is they are also into E, speed and ice, and most of them pick up those habits in their sec school days. On the plus side, they are not into cigs because it is low SES 😂
      Some things remain unchanged...the C.R.A. progeny is still having free flow of such, with parents freely bailing them out, even funding their alternative lifestyle.

Esteema, I’m not talking about your DS school. The other one. Unless u can assure me there’s more good guys than bad hats over there.

• floppyF Offline
        floppy

Estéema\" post_id=\"1940855\" time=\"1570793215\" user_id=\"66413:

[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1940847 time=1570786576 user_id=53606]...
        I shudder to think of what if he enters the lousy affiliated school...in certain boys schools teen gangsterism can be quite jialat...even this so-called rich school also hearsay got atas drugs problem...we don’t wish him to fall into bad company, that’s the main fear.

I thought the so-called rich school has cleaned up it’s act over the years and “not so” jialat now? So, probably nothing much to worry about.

FYI I’ve got a number of hi-bye friends from my uni / clubbing days that came from that school. Love to hang out with them because rich kids and their friends will pay for all the drinks. Only problem is they are also into E, speed and ice, and most of them pick up those habits in their sec school days. On the plus side, they are not into cigs because it is low SES 😂

Wah! Very bad image. Not all in the category as u described lah. Maybe u happened to choose those who hv the juice to pay for u? I’ve met quite a fair number who are purposeful & very keen to pay it forward & nurture their young alumni fellow brethren. There’s strong alumni spirit & you don’t find this in many other schools. You’ve got to be in the family of schools to know how is it like. One spoiled apple (or the few) does not a basket full represent lah.[/quote]Of course lah... how can some individuals represent the culture of a school with more than a thousand students. I’m quite sure most of the students are fantastic (that said, those guys that I used to hang out with are also fantastic individuals - plus, they are not all chiong and no brains type - a number of them were from Med and Law fac and I assume, good doctors and lawyers, and probably fantastic, alumni today). Unfortunately, the reality is those “hearsay” stuff that zac’s mum mentioned, is true, at least in the 80s and 90s.

Note: it would also be fair to say that it’s not a unique “problem” with that school then, there was also a sub-culture that exists in our premier university - whether you seek it out or are even aware of it is another thing. YOLO.

• MyPillowM Offline
          MyPillow

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1940783\" time=\"1570763072\" user_id=\"14025:

I think once a while to pamper our taste buds is ok lah
          Else life is quite boring
          Once a while I have coke n can Logan plus pineapples.
          Or use can Logan make agar agar ... yummy lei 🙂

• sky minecrafterS Offline
            sky minecrafter

Things going on track, MP? 1month to go?...

• starlight1968sgS Offline
              starlight1968sg

MP

Oh yes, I love the can of longan with its syrup! Good for dessert 🙂

• MyPillowM Offline
                MyPillow

sky minecrafter\" post_id=\"1940926\" time=\"1570871596\" user_id=\"130531:[quote=\"sky minecrafter\" post_id=1940926 time=1570871596 user_id=130531]
                Things going on track, MP? 1month to go?...[/quote]
                Hi skym, hopefully leh. I m the nervous one . On off guiding ah girl for sa2 revision too on some topic -
                “ sweating “

• NebbermindN Offline
                  Nebbermind

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1940839\" time=\"1570783234\" user_id=\"14025:

Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1940834\" time=\"1570781775\" user_id=\"15571:

Weekend starts early this week coz boss said no work after work... n still get paid :imcool:

Haha, 'no work after work' !

Ya... Too excited... After lunch I meant

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

. On the plus side, they are not into cigs because it is low SES 😂

• NebbermindN Offline
                      Nebbermind

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1940935\" time=\"1570879087\" user_id=\"70594:

sky minecrafter\" post_id=\"1940926\" time=\"1570871596\" user_id=\"130531:[quote=\"sky minecrafter\" post_id=1940926 time=1570871596 user_id=130531]Things going on track, MP? 1month to go?...
                      Hi skym, hopefully leh. I m the nervous one . On off guiding ah girl for sa2 revision too on some topic -
                      “ sweating “[/quote]
                      Older one o level already?

• sharonkhooS Offline
                        sharonkhoo

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"1934738\" time=\"1568162070\" user_id=\"28674:

floppy\" post_id=\"1934665\" time=\"1568106281\" user_id=\"97579:

So, it's going to be Hangzhou and Suzhou. Is that your final answer? 😂
                        2 out of 3 is ok. 3 out of 3 (though doable) is crazy 😂

One thing .zeit is right about, there are too many things to cover in those 2 cities. You will have to prioritize and determine what are your must-do / must-see.

That's the current idea, but it's too early to make firm plans. Anyway, with only 2 of us going, we can be flexible and play it by ear. Yes, there are too many things to cover, but that's true for most places. We are OK with just seeing a few.

Just got back from our Hangzhou-Suzhou trip. Flew to HZ on Fri night, got back home at 4.30am this morning. Grabbed more sleep after getting back, and delaying doing the housework that's waiting!

Overall, a good trip. Lots to see, but we were lazy and didn't do that much. Weather wasn't great, but apparently it's more often than not misty and drizzly there. Still fairly busy even though it's past the holiday week - it would have been impossible during that week!

HZ doesn't seem to be used to foreign tourists travelling independently! The hotel (mid-range) said that we couldn't use their free wifi as it required a confirmation code sent to a China phone no. But I found that if I changed the language to English, it didn't require a China phone! They obviously didn't know that. However, the wifi was so slow that I gave up on it and subscribed to Starhub's travel data instead. Then when booking a day tour, the lack of phone no. was a problem again, but luckily the tour company agreed to use WeChat as our contact instead. For some reason, they wouldn't accept that they could just get us through the hotel front desk! There was very little English anywhere (but we saw some really funny menu translations), so I guess most non-Chinese-speaking foreign tourists go in groups.

Anyway, if anyone wants a bit of info, can ask me.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1973 / 3616

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog