* Eunoia JC (EJC)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    3.1k Posts 238 Posters 257.6k Views 2 Watching
      NotEducatedMan

mindays\" post_id=\"1819117\" time=\"1511756971\" user_id=\"140018:

EJC having a COP of 9 for both Science and Arts is worser than ACJC's 7 for Science and 8 for Arts, I doubt that the pioneer batch of EJC will do any better than that. Still, I must put my stand that RVHS is better than EJC and this is just my 2 cents opinion. It's difficult to compare as I reiterate again.
      https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=90046&start=10

This chap suddenly no sound no shadow after last A-level results.
      But I think he/she just came back with 2 new but similar username.. haha!

• MyPillowM Offline
        MyPillow

phtthp\" post_id=\"1941749\" time=\"1571289973\" user_id=\"35251:

think many of us here would like to know,
        if a JC1 or JC2 pupil struggling, what kind of help is available from the Teachers on-hand, from within (inside) EJC itself ? Do they render help to struggling students, or do they ask students to go outside look for external tuition outside to self-help ?

also, those core, key important H2 subjects like H2 (Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics) -
        are the Teachers fresh graduates from MOE, or come with experience ?
        Which other JCs have they taught before coming into EJC to teach ?
        How many years of teaching experience have they actually taught in the same core subject, before stepping into EJC ?
        Sometimes, retain may be better for students if their foundations are not strong - J2 will be difficult & intense as its A level year. Teachers should be a fair mix with experiences - moreover Ejc is IP sch, i m confident MOE send well mixed pool of educators there.
        not sure whether 1) is it due to 3 feeder sch, 3 diff standards pouring in ejc ?
        2) IP subject content vs O level - which grp has been prep with better exam /A level foundations - how is the disparity in standards? - all these can be factors to impact on teachings by teachers ..
        It is indeed a \"worry\" factor if the retain % is high :?

• doodbugD Offline
          doodbug

one fifth of cohort being retained is no joke. Maybe we need to check with EJC on the numbers.

Anyway still a long way to go for me - I don’t even know if my kid can make it to EJC - living year by year.

• E Offline
            erikaa123

doodbug\" post_id=\"1941762\" time=\"1571292417\" user_id=\"13281:

one fifth of cohort being retained is no joke. Maybe we need to check with EJC on the numbers.
            Anyway still a long way to go for me - I don't even know if my kid can make it to EJC - living year by year.
            Back then while in SRJC, J1 retained rate was high.
            Now Ejc J1 retained % seems high too.
            Easier to teach promoted J2 kids perhaps, to produce not too bad 2018 A results but not impressive.
            Ejc- a school which places impt on results but neglects on human factors.

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

doodbug\" post_id=\"1941737\" time=\"1571285100\" user_id=\"13281:

huh? so many retained kids? worrying leh.
              That’s why including your “sauce” AND READING CAREFULLY is important. Otherwise, it’s so easy to mislead some people 😂

The https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/eunoia-jcs-focus-on-passion-purpose where the quote is taken from is written on 14 Jan 2017. O Level result for 2017 is released on 12 Jan 2017. Posting day is 2 Feb 2017.

Put them together, what it means is EJC has plans (or has the capacity) to take up to 210 JAE students. Whether enough people apply, they do not know at that point. It certainly does not mean that EJC will eventually have total 440+210 students. Seriously people 🤷

• doodbugD Offline
                doodbug

My inference fail 🙂

I've a good friend who is a teacher at EJC. He says no JC retains so many kids one. LOL.
                Some kids who didn't do well for Promos will be asked to drop one H2 to H1. Retaining is really last resort.

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

doodbug\" post_id=\"1941775\" time=\"1571295598\" user_id=\"13281:

My inference fail 🙂
                  I've a good friend who is a teacher at EJC. He says no JC retains so many kids one. LOL.
                  Some kids who didn't do well for Promos will be asked to drop one H2 to H1. Retaining is really last resort.
                  Looking at the knee jerk reactions... I can infer that very few people think about what they read, and think before they write :rotflmao:

Yes, the internet may be anonymous but we can always take a bit of care to try and put up credible information.

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

NotEducatedMan\" post_id=\"1941750\" time=\"1571290281\" user_id=\"98110:

mindays\" post_id=\"1819117\" time=\"1511756971\" user_id=\"140018:

EJC having a COP of 9 for both Science and Arts is worser than ACJC's 7 for Science and 8 for Arts, I doubt that the pioneer batch of EJC will do any better than that. Still, I must put my stand that RVHS is better than EJC and this is just my 2 cents opinion. It's difficult to compare as I reiterate again.

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=90046&start=10

😆
                    mindays?
                    Think he/she came back with more than 5 new usernames... haha!

• O Offline
                      obm

NotEducatedMan\" post_id=\"1941750\" time=\"1571290281\" user_id=\"98110:

Wrong subject identified.
                      The phraseology and forensics reveal that subject has been using an electronic handheld device.
                      Profile: An Art, Media & Design student who did AEP in JC, who scored RP60+, employment prospects unknown.

^ Admission to Art, Design & Media programme is based on Composite Score which comprises Entrance Requirement Score and University Admission Score. IGP for AMD is CCD/C (10th percentile), far from the median.

• doodbugD Offline
                        doodbug

Some of us are reading off our mobile phone screens lah.

I cannot deny though, there are days I wished my child opted for an IP school which leads to a more ‘established’ Year 5/6 route. But it’s a decision made, and if she progresses to EJC, we will support her.
                        I do think EJC has a strong group of teachers.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 245 / 310