Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1961483\" time=\"1580519664\" user_id=\"14025:
China already locked down their cities and we just stop travellers with a history of travel to China from entering. Think we are quite safe in preventing subsequent waves of infection.
Am thinking if our barriers at land, sea and air are strong enough, we will be safe bec we tightly controlled the imported cases.
Perhaps the next 2-3 wks will tell.
The irony is that almost all the confirmed patients were ‘caught’ when they themselves visited a clinic and not picked up by the many thermal scanners at the airport. Guess after this incident, Govt better think of other measures instead of purely relying on thermal scanners.
We spent so much on Bio Tech, invent a swap diagnostic kit, lah. -
Think with globalization & world trade, things get transferred ard? It’s unavoidable. A few Germans operating in China, wanna play safe, fly back to Germany as the nCoV gets more widespread in China eventually developed nCoV himself or becomes a carrier. Our fellow Sporeans flown back to SG on Scoot hv not only to quarantine themselves now, but we hv a lady victim of nCoV too. It’s that swift, the way our border checks & contact tracing operates. Owise we won’t know so fast this China returning Sporean got the virus. So, once we close borders, shld be less anxious.
Best to maintain high level of personal hygiene & avoid crowded areas. I’ll be home 修生养性. Better not run ard town unneessarilly -
Find out where to collect your masks
https://maskgowhere.sg/ -
I watched the White House presser on FB just now.
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywiLsZZdX5A][/youtube]
Dr Anthony Fauci (National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases) of the 2019-nCoV TaskForce explained why this isn't quite the same as influenza pandemic at 3:20s and the diff of testing if someone was infected 22:18s.
Later on, Robert Ray Redfield Jr (Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) at 23:38s also spoke about the asymptomatic trends they have observed in the few US confirmed cases thus far.
There are too many unknowns about 2019-nCoV, so our govt (and US+Japan) has done the right thing to bar entry of any nationality who has travelled to any part of mainland China in the last 14 days. -
out of 213 death,
how many are Wuhan,
how many from other parts of China ? -
6thisnthat9\" post_id=\"1961481\" time=\"1580518875\" user_id=\"145858:
part of the reason why people panic,
no one will boldly shout YES, until this is all over.starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1961478\" time=\"1580518628\" user_id=\"14025:
Are we overly paranoid?
is also due to the timing of virus attack. Chinese New Year, is an important festive season, to us Chinese. Being a New year, it signify New Year bring new hope, everything start afresh, anew
Everyone is looking forward happily to reunion family dinner gathering by air-flight home to China, harmony at home during Spring festival, \"chun jie\". Nobody expecting any death, sorrow, in this joyful season of celebration. Yet, the families of those 200+ death, experienced family dis-integration, sorrow, mourning, when their loved ones caught this unexpected virus. And because it is infectious, they cannot even hold a proper funeral wake a few days for their loved ones who had died suddenly, unexpectedly, so that their relatives can see their dead person / relative for the last time, but cremated immediately. In their final last days, before they succumb (surrender) to virus mercilessly attacking their defenceless weakened body, the infected patients were so lonely. They struggled in breathing, as though they were \"drowning\". With each breath, they struggled. In their minds, the infected patients must be asking, \"When will this breathing torture, ever end ? \" They were lonely. They were kept isolated somewhere inside hospital ground, out of touch, out of communication with their family loved ones, with rest of the world. Terrible feeling. Terrible to be in caught in such a horrible situation !
Today is not even CNY day #15 yet. Today only CNY day #8, since CNY day 1 last Saturday, dated 25 January 2020. But, 200+ families already experienced pain and sorrow, when their loved ones departed so suddenly. This virus have No eye, can attack anybody, since all it need is a \"host\" body, to grow, to multiply fast. As such, many of us will not forget how Year of the Rat (2020) bring sudden virus plague, to the whole world wide international community
In just 8 days, during this turbulent period, there were 200+ death, or more, if under-reported. 8 days only, you know. Not 8 weeks, not 8 months, but 8 days, one week ! Panic ? Who wouldn't be ?
Is very easy to comment, criticize, \"aiyoh, why so paranoid ?
Is very easy to say this type of \"feng liang hua\", especially when none of the family members, get infected. But the minute, someone within your family gets infected, struggling through every breath they take in, see whether you still dare to say this \"feng liang hua\"
Why ?
Because
When someone within the family suffer, cannot breathe properly :
A) the whole family suffer along too mentally, emotionally, not just the infected patients alone isolated inside the hospital ward, And
B)
didn't the Chinese saying goes, \"health = Wealth? \"
If stay isolated inside the ward, your hospital bill going to balloon, because u don't know how long can recover, exit hospital, or die inside isolated ward, if your own body cannot tahan the virus ?
And hospital bill balloon, based on the treatment costs, medicine costs, etc
\"PO cai dang zai \" (broken wealth disaster ) -
I think we also panic because China is not known to be a transparent country. Is the numbers they are reporting an actual number? We know from SARS event that they sweep things under the carpet.
Since school reopens after CNY, I was super stressed the last 3 days but yet on the other hand, have to put up with the brave front. There are folks totally ignore MOE precautionary 14 days LOA. I don’t know what to say about these parents. Ignorance or purely selfish? Now can only pray for the next 14 days from this weekend, nothing explosive news.
It is everybody duty who stay in Spore to be vigilant , dun act Blur when one is not well or have contacts with related cases
Summary from One FM 91.3 Interview with Dr Leong Hoe Nam, Infectious Disease Specialist.
• Golden Rule – Don’t touch your FACE. Your face is sacred.
• SINGAPORE is ready. SINGAPORE will survive mass transmission better than most countries. Singapore is really well prepared for 2019-nCoV virus outbreak. We have plans for all scenarios.
• Local transmission is almost guaranteed. And likely to happen soon. Avoid big groups and events when local transmissions start.
• Kiasu-ism may hamper our effectiveness in fighting infections.
• Do not overload hospitals with common ailments.
• Prolonged exposure to infected person increases risk of infection.
• Virus can stay alive on surfaces for 30 to 60 minutes. Wash tables with detergent and water.
• Touching infected surfaces and then touching face increases risk of infection.
• Casual high-5 followed by washing of hands reduces risk of infection.
• Use sanitisers with alcohol. Keep hands dry. Sanitisers do not work if your hands are wet. Dry your hands.
• Wash hands with soap and water before wearing masks.
• Handshakes can pass virus if the infected person has touched his nose.
• No effective supplements but Vitamin D (not really proven conclusively) may help prevent development of pneumonia
• 3 ply masks better than 2 ply ones. Wear with blue side facing out.
• Mask protects others from infected wearer and protects wearer from viruses from the outside.
• N95 masks work but it is uncomfortable and results in wearer adjusting mask often, increasing risk of infection.
• Do not touch any part of your face before washing your hands. Your face is sacred. Flinging your hair against face increases risk of contamination.
• Avoid large crowd such as large exercise classes.
• Cn2019 can spread even if infected person shows no symptoms.
• 3-4% fatality rate but rate is likely to come down.
• Visiting clinics - do not touch face and avoid touching chairs etc unnecessarily.
• Avoid seeking medical attention at Hospitals for minor colds etc to avoid overloading our healthcare systems.
• Wearing caps increases risk of trapping viruses. -
"OH! 我不知道MOE有这个规则。 为什么要针对我们。 我的孩子新加波人哦。“
Nothing about China folks. Maybe it is because these folks are already behaving as such, self entitled, causing others to feel "angry" about them? I don’t know.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.